We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super duper deal”
Review of Abigails Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abigails Hostel
Ranked #9 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“super duper deal”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was a bit scared upon arriving here after booking a private ensuite room for only 25 euro/ night...but I was pleasantly surprised. Abigails is your standard hostel with some private rooms on the top floor. Clean, friendly reception, airport shuttle pickup for only 7 euro. The breakfast is crap but when isn't it at a hostel? Large lounge on the ground floor with wifi (no wifi in the rooms). This hostel's best asset is its location: right on the Liffey, around the corner from Temple Bar, across from O'Connell Street, and 7 mins to Trinity College. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Book early for incredible prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyhella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    303
    115
    25
    25
See reviews for
25
62
193
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
n ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great accommodation for the money, we were attending a concert in Croke park and booked a 8 bed dorm for 6 of us,( it had a private bathroom) the location was right I'n the heart of Dublin - about 20 min walk from Croke park,2 mins from temple bar and 5 mins from penny's , it felt very safe and the staff were lovely, very friendly. This was my first time staying I'n a hostel and I would definitely go back, it would be great for hen/stag parties, there was a continental breakfast available free ;) great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisadins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed at Abigail's hostel for 3 nights with a friend in a ten bed female dorm, and we were both so happy with the accommodation! It was easy to get to and find from the airport, and the staff were unbelievably helpful. They were all knowledgeable, friendly, and went out of their way to help us - notably when it rained so much that our shoes were soaked through and they put them in the dryer for us! And they were always around if we had any queries or questions. The common area was large, clean and had a really nice atmosphere, and the self catering facilities were also of a very high standard and the free tea etc was very appreciated. Everywhere seemed very clean, yet comfortable, and the mix of people (families, school groups, and fellow backpackers) created a nice ambience. It was definitely good value, especially because of the breakfast, that was really good, plentiful and varied. The room itself was small ish, but there was plenty of space if everyone is considerate, which they were, and the en suite bathroom was spacious and clean. The rooms were pretty quiet, though I am a deep sleeper, and the beds comfortable, but I did find it a bit too hot on the first night despite all the windows being open, but after that it was definitely better. Finally, the location was absolutely perfect. Just around the corner from temple bar so it had all the atmosphere without the noise, and close to pretty much anywhere a tourist would want to go when in Dublin for a short time. The city is incredible, especially the nightlife, and Abigail's was the perfect place to use as a base whilst we explored.
Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
right hand side of u.s.a
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed at Abigails May of 2012 , two different stays, each four days long.
Both times were excellent , rooms are clean , bathroom(s) are also very clean. Hostel is tight on the bus line and right on river Liffey , two bridges down from the Ha' penny bridge , within walking distance of everything in Dublin

We had room(s) right on the main street side of the buliding , first time on 4th floor , second time on 3rd floor - on the 3rd floor we did notice more street noise but it is of no fault of the hostel ; 2 doors down is a pub and one of the employees rides a motorcycle to work ., every morning at 3am we knew when it was time to go home for the pub employee :)

Very impressed with the employees of the hostel , helpful for anything needed

Very impressed with the other guests , variety of ages ( am 53 ) and all considerate of others

Room Tip: 4ht floor seemd more quiet to street noise ? It may have been the day(s) of the week ? 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7079seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Abigail's Hostel in May 2012. We had a very nice stay there. Full kitchen, free breakfast each morning, nice rooms, GREAT location! We met a lot of people from around the world and became friends with them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hostel was really great, fantastic location right in Temple Bar. BEST part about this hostel was the free walking tour and Maccoole Day Tour to the Cliffs of Moher (which I have also reviewed) picks up AT the hostel, no need to find the meeting point by yourself. They also picked up for the Pub Crawl. Beds were pretty hard with a small flat pillow but I did sleep! WORST part was the pay per use computers, they charge €1 for 15 minutes of use, this would be somewhat okay if the computer wasn't slow. I ended up spending €5 for 20 minutes and 5 sheets of paper to be printed, it was extremely frustrating! The Wifi didn't really work in the rooms, must go down stairs and even then it was slow.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed a night here; Nice & clean hostel; Helpful staff; Felt safe; 6 bed dorm room; only 2 were there; Clean bath room + toilet; Hearty breakfast wiht cereal, juice; coffee, boiled eggs, bread etc; Easy transport to airport & from the heuston station.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the street facing rooms - Haloegen lights are a bit too bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ez_Rider_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,195 reviews
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,735 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,462 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 112 in Dublin
1,005 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 112 in Dublin
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigails Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigails Hostel

Property: Abigails Hostel
Address: 7/9 Aston Quay | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abigails Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently converted from a hotel, Abigail's Hostel is located in Temple Bar, overlooking the River Liffey and Ha'penny Bridge.All our rooms have private bathrooms, central heating and hairdryers. Our reception is open 24/7 and our friendly staff are happy to help you with tourism information or anything you might need to enjoy your visit to Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Abigails Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing