We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Dax Restaurant

Dax Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 2,701 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $88
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Awarded "Best Restaurant in Dublin" in the Irish Restaurant Awards 2014. Located just off Fitzwilliam Square in the heart of Georgian Dublin, the award winning Dax Restaurant is one of Ireland's premier places to dine. The Dax menu uses only the freshest seasonal Irish and continental produce. Our commitment to healthy fine dining is experienced in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. Dax is the perfect location for social or business dining.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went for an evening meal. Good food selection, well presented not an extensive menu. Wine menu in keeping with sufficient selection for the food menu. Friendly efficient staff with good atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank obbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at Dax Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We thank you for your recent review of Dax and we are happy we made your visit worth while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 475 of 763 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Definitely compares with most upscale restaurants in US. Service wonderful, food original, exciting and very flavorful. Good wine list. Came to about $60 per person with drinks/tip. Wonderful for a night out.

1  Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at Dax Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We thank you for your recent review of Dax and we are delighted we could hold the comparison with up scale New York restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I,ve Recently came here with my fiance have to say place was extremely busy food was really nice but not a big fan of the wine menu also a little to pricey still fantastic evening with friendly staff and the Chocolate Fondant was amazing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at Dax Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We thank you for your recent review of Dax, we would like to know what was your issue with the wine list though, perhaps you could give us some feedback by email?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went for a quick bite to eat at lunch with some work colleagues. The menu was small but we all found something very quickly. The Service was good, fast and great for a quick lunch. Only thing that bothered me was it was very dark considering the nice day outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aoife B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at Dax Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We thank you for your recent review of Dax and we are delighted you chose us for lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

On a three day visit to Dublin for the first time, we chose this restaurant on the basis of TA's reviews. We were not disappointed. Nice friendly welcome and quickly led to a nice table. Chose a very good, reasonably priced red Alentejo. Efficient, friendly, service. I chose the seared plaice fillets with Irish langoustines, roasted fennel, wild asparagus and shellfish sauce. Tasty, subtle, really excellent. My wife chose the magret of duck with salted baked celeriac, Irish organic baby chard and Burlat cherry - excellent but the portion was very small and required an emergency side order of potatoes. Finished off, respectively, with roasted apricot and bay leaf ice cream, and chocolate fondant, Burlat cherries with almond milk ice cream.

Perhaps a tad expensive at €100. Nonetheless, a nice evening and worth it. When we return to Dublin, we will certainly return to Dax.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at Dax Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We thank you for your review of Dax and for the great recommendation of the restaurant; we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dax Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dax Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing