We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wish it was here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dax Restaurant

Dax Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 2,376 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $82
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary, Healthy, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Awarded "Best Restaurant in Dublin" in the Irish Restaurant Awards 2014. Located just off Fitzwilliam Square in the heart of Georgian Dublin, the award winning Dax Restaurant is one of Ireland's premier places to dine. The Dax menu uses only the freshest seasonal Irish and continental produce. Our commitment to healthy fine dining is experienced in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. Dax is the perfect location for social or business dining.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wish it was here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

DAX is the kind of restaurant you want near your own home, excellent food (a creative chef) and service - pride of ownership - and a nice atmosphere for both casual eating, and more formal events. We recommend it highly!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    98
    25
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Continuing Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been a patron of Dax for the last two and a half years and the service ambience and food is the best I have found in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank piano123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic beautifully presented food with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience in the restaurant which is intimate and romantic. The restaurant was very busy when we visited on a Friday night which was quite loud with everyone chatting and the sound bouncing of the walls as it is in a cellar but once you settle in, you don’t notice any longer! The wine list is very expensive but as other reviewers have stated, it is best to match excellent wine with excellent food. Overall the food and service was top notch and I would return again for a special occasion

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelling_nibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in Ireland. The service was superb as was the food, the wine is very expensive but if you are going to this restaurant you should match the food with a good wine. I really enjoyed the atmosphere, it was buzzing with happy clientele. I would definitely return here for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feehyland186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I had a meal at the Dax Restaurant one evening this week, my wife recommended the Dax as she and her friends had eaten here previously.

It is a very nice intimate restaurant with a very small bar area with tables arranged in such a way as to offer reasonable privacy.

The menu and wine list offer plenty of choice to cater to the fussiest of clients.

The starters were first class, beautifully presented and prepared.
The Mains (Halibut for my wife & Rib Eye for me) were again very good indeed.
Deserts were also beautiful and made in house.

The staff are without exception friendly, polite and most efficient.

All in all a very pleasant and enjoyable meal, looking forward to our next visit to Dax Dublin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank enrighta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dax Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dax Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing