We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dax Restaurant

Dax Restaurant
23 Pembroke Street Upper | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 676 1494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,208 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $84
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Awarded "Best Restaurant in Dublin" in the Irish Restaurant Awards 2014. Located just off Fitzwilliam Square in the heart of Georgian Dublin, the award winning Dax Restaurant is one of Ireland's premier places to dine. The Dax menu uses only the freshest seasonal Irish and continental produce. Our commitment to healthy fine dining is experienced in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. Dax is the perfect location for social or business dining.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We enjoyed another wonderful meal in Dax restaurant in Dublin. The quality of the food and welcoming service made this yet again a lovely evening. We would highly recommend this restaurant to any visitors to Dublin. While not a cheap evening it is well worth the spend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieC126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Every town should have one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our hotel concierge recommended a few nearby restaurants, so we did a little recce, to read the menus and have a quick look at the places and from them we chose Dax. So glad we did, as we had a lovely evening there. Décor is warm and inviting but unfussy. Staff excellent - friendly, helpful and efficient. The winelist is extensive. Clearly compiled by someone with a passion for wine. Prices are not at all greedy. The food was terrific! We regularly eat in Michelin starred restaurants and why this place does not have a Michelin star baffles me, as it was entirely deserving of one. The menu had several dishes at each course that sounded so enticing it was hard to choose, but eventually we did. A standout gazpacho with basil foam and prosciutto bonbon, as an amuse bouche, set the tone and it carried on, in style, until the stunning poached rhubarb and rose yogurt millefeuille dessert. Outstanding! All in all, we enjoyed very fair prices, welcoming staff and delicious food and wines. What's not to like about that? I would not hesitate to recommend this place and I'd love to go back again. If only every town had a restaurant like this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank madamefifi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I both ordered from the 3 course table d'hôte menu at €35 per person and both agreed that the food was fantastic. Very well presented, perfectly seasoned and generously portioned. A special mention must be made for the dark chocolate brownie with pistachio ice cream... dessert heaven!!! They also sell wines by the glass which is always appreciated. The service was friendly, attentive and unobtrusive and we were made to feel very welcome. The interior décor is smart and spotless. We will definitely be returning to sample the 7-course tasting menu at some time in the future. Many thanks for a wonderful meal :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular but great customer service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Just back from dax. I loved my food, my husband was not as impressed but we both loved our very professional and polite potuguese waiter David. Highest level of customer care well done!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank borboletinha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Probably the Best food in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We head a wonderful time at DEX restaurant. We went to for a birthday dinner. The staff was lovely, the food tested great and the dessert came with a candle and "happy birthday" written on the plate (very nice effort).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank superwoman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dax Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dax Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing