We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely dining experience”
Review of Cellar Restaurant

Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #343 of 2,560 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent service. Knowledgable staff made good recommendations, which were spot on. Good food. Try the chips with parmesan & truffle oil.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    82
    34
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & service, not cheap!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I really enjoyed the food here, and the service was excellent but there were a couple of things that won't have me coming back here. I think this place is a little overpriced considering the price of a nearby restaurant that I found to be much nicer. I recall asking for a tap water, and they charged us for water on the bill, maybe I should have disputed this. The wine is expensive but I guess that's what you pay in an expensive restaurant these days! The atmosphere wasn't the best but maybe it was because we were a bit early. I can't fault the food and the staff were lovely but I can't justify the price when there's better on offer down the road..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ciara186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Cannot fault the restaurant at all. Staff very attentive and meal was excellent. I had the lamb and it came with a small lamb pastie absolute beautiful. For dessert we had the lemon tart with lemon marshmallows and meringue. Absolute heaven

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank juliewht40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Quite simply service and food that sets the standard for how it should be done,without having to take out a mortgage to enjoy it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank onecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orillia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fab Barand restaurant”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This restaurant/bar is in the basement of the Merrion Hotel, and is mostly all brick and stone, even the curved ceilings. The bar staff were excellent, and offered our party (of 13) a separate room but we stayed in the main bar area (with fireplace). We then moved to a separate private dining room and had a wonderful dinner, salmon, seafood tower (wow) mussels, yum!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellar Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing