We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holyhead Hostel
Ranked #91 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Obviously this is not a five star hotel, but I would definitely give five stars for the cleanliness and friendliness. My boyfriend and I stayed in comfortable bunk beds (the double was taken) with a sink and small mirror in the room. The location is perfect for easy access to the airport and all of Dublin's attractions. The owner was lovely and very helpful. The only small issue I have was that the toilet was across the hall and round the corner. Other than this the Holyhead was incredible value and the best hostel I have stayed in yet!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hostel is nestled right in downtown Dublin. It is a 2 min walk from the bus and train station. The staff are super nice and our room was clean and secure. There are a ton of little restaurants and shops all around and all the major sights are within walking distance. We would suggest this hostel to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are quite nice and clean, the guy at the reception, Luca, is very helpful and always smiling. The position is perfect, only three minute walking from temple bar but prices are not so cheap for what u get (shared room with shared wc and shower)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank blu_azzurro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It is an inexpensive place to stay. It was very basic, which was fine - if only it was cleaner. We had a private room with a shared bathroom (toilet in one room, shower in another). The shower was a little yucky. The toilet was difficult to flush. The big issue for me though was that I was really allergic to our room. There was a HUGE amount of dust on the drapes. SO much. SO allergic. We tried to open / close them as little as possible to avoid getting the dust everywhere. I needed to buy allergy pills.
That said, the staff seemed friendly, and it is a really central location. We walked everywhere.
Bring earplugs! Or go across the street to where the music is playing.
If you don't have much money, or any dust allergies, and you are there to party, it could be ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a very BASIC hotel with no facilities whatsoever.the bed was old and worn with a matress that was as flat as a pancake.the springs had sprung and were trying there best to infiltrate in a place you really wouldn't want them.the room itself was crampt and had not had a deep clean for a long time,with dusty skirting boards and window frames.i know it was a budget hotel,but you would at least expect sme basic cleanliness.the plug sockets did nt work correctly,the freee wifi did not work on the top floor where we were staying,the shower was so bad i made the decision not to use for fear of coming out dirtier than i went in.the sink in the room ( 7 ) had a crack in it.
The only good thing i could comment on was the i presume manager who was rather nice to talk to,on the one and only occasion i saw somebody on the front desk.

Room Tip: For a good room,find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were having a short in-expensive holiday in Dublin and wanted somewhere cheap to stay and the Holyhead was one of the cheapest we could find. And considering the price it had everything we wanted, the room was clean with modern decor on the walls, quite basic facilities but it was all we needed. It is in a perfect location as it is just off of O' Connell St and 30 secs away from the airlink bus stop. When we first arrived the man running the place greeted us and gave us a map and marked off loads of good places to go in Dublin and showed us where everything was on the map which was really useful. Overall it was everything we needed, nothing fancy but perfect as a budget hostel. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because the toilet moved when you sat on it which I didn't really like however I can't fault how clean the toilet and shower were as they were fine.

Room Tip: We had a room that was at the back of the building and it was very quiet, couldn't hear the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Mortified we stayed here. Next time I will be paying extra for a hotel. Don't no who was writing the good reviews for this place. Its awful Dirty, grotty and noisy of a night. Is close to centre but that's the only good thing I can say

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelsbels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
O'Sheas Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
326 reviews
Gardiner Lodge
#103 of 150 in Dublin
26 reviews
North City Centre
Adelphi Guesthouse
Adelphi Guesthouse
#82 of 149 in Dublin
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
The Pillar
The Pillar
#82 of 122 in Dublin
77 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 149 in Dublin
668 reviews
Durban Residence
#64 of 149 in Dublin
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyhead Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyhead Hostel

Address: 42 Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $70 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Holyhead Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Dublin's oldest accommodations, right in the heart of the city! The best of Dublin is just a few minutes away from our front door: O'Connell street is around the corner, Trinity College and the Grafton Street area right across the Liffey river. Walk 10 minutes and find yourself enjoying a Guinness in the famous Temple Bar district. The Holyhead offers simple but clean and affordable rooms in a warm and easy-going atmosphere, 24h hot showers, free wifi - and kind staff ready to assist you! The Holyhead is located beside the Central Bus Station (Shuttle to/from the airport every 10min) and Conolly Railway Station: you have the whole of Ireland at your feet. Accommodation: All of our rooms are private, with a sink. Toilets and Showers are shared. Please note that our Twin, Triple and Family/Friends rooms are a mix of Singles, Doubles, and Bunk beds. 2 minutes walk away from the spire, and 1 minute walk away from Busaras station. Direction: How to find us? - Taxi, cost 15 to 20€ - Aircoach to O'Connell Street, cost 7€ one way or 12€ return. - Airlink (747 or 748) to Busaras Bus Station, cost 6€ one way or 10€ return. - Dublin buses 14 & 16 a to O'Connell Street, cost only 2.30€ one way.From the Spire on O'Connell Street, walk on Talbot street until you reach Gardiner Street on your left. We are just at the corner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Holyhead Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holyhead Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing