We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holyhead Hostel
Ranked #81 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a couple of nights”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Beds were really comfortable and friendly staff. The showers were on the second level and we were staying on the ground floor, so it was a little bit of a pain. The shower is a tiny room and wasn't that great, although they were having as problem with their hot water at the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    27
    27
    39
See reviews for
12
56
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was the best hotel I have stayed in on my trip across Europe. Very simple and clean. The staff was so helpful and went out of their way to help any way they could! You can't find a better location either. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I did not expect much for the price, but what I did expect was hygiene and a good night's sleep. I did not get either, as there was a huge moldy spot on the wall of my room, and the tap water tasted disgusting - just brushing my teeth with it was terrible. Also, although staff were friendly, they were quite noisy as well when smoking in the back yard, and kept the radio playing far into the night. There is only one shower for I don't know how many rooms, and it smells weird. The only redeeming features were the price and the perfect location (Tesco Express around the corner, for those who want to get their own breakfast), but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

perfect price, good location, comfy beds, awesome service. What more is there?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank black757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The staff were really friendly and the location was good and the bed was comfy but that is the only reason why I scored it 2. We stayed on the ground floor right beside the toilet and people kept banging the door, they also ran out of toilet paper as well so I actually had to go across the road to the pub. We also had to keep the window open all night as the central heating made the room feel like a furnace and we couldn't turn it down or off, anyone could have just jumped into our room as it was right beside the fire escape. We couldn't find anyone to discuss this in the morning with so I left a note but again for the 2nd night it was the same problems. The shower was disgusting, cramped and full of mould and on the second day we had no hot water so couldn't even get a shower as it was that cold so we just checked out and went to another hotel for our final night stay in Dublin, I left a note again and this time someone did call me so when I went around on my last day to hand over the keys I was given an apology and was told the heating would get fixed asap, whether it did or not I couldn't say but the Spanish chap did give me 30Euro refund and a bottle of red wine which was my girlfriends favourite and that was really nice of him but overall it did put a little dampener on what was an excellent weekend.

Room Tip: If you do stay here then I wouldn't recommend the ground floor or a room beside a toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Room had high ceiling and comfy beds. Staff were friendly but a little confused with regards to restaurants and taxi's etc. One shared toilet and shower for the whole floor! Although these were kept clean. Worth what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenal_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
O'Shea's Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 151 in Dublin
612 reviews
Spire Hostel
#17 of 112 in Dublin
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hazelbrook Lodge
#105 of 149 in Dublin
8 reviews
North City Centre
The Pillar
The Pillar
#74 of 112 in Dublin
77 reviews
Durban Residence
#83 of 149 in Dublin
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyhead Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyhead Hostel

Property: The Holyhead Hostel
Address: 42 Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Holyhead Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Dublin's oldest accommodations, right in the heart of the city! The best of Dublin is just a few minutes away from our front door: O'Connell street is around the corner, Trinity College and the Grafton Street area right across the Liffey river. Walk 10 minutes and find yourself enjoying a Guinness in the famous Temple Bar district. The Holyhead offers simple but clean and affordable rooms in a warm and easy-going atmosphere, 24h hot showers, free wifi - and kind staff ready to assist you! The Holyhead is located beside the Central Bus Station (Shuttle to/from the airport every 10min) and Conolly Railway Station: you have the whole of Ireland at your feet. Accommodation: All of our rooms are private, with a sink. Toilets and Showers are shared. Please note that our Twin, Triple and Family/Friends rooms are a mix of Singles, Doubles, and Bunk beds. 2 minutes walk away from the spire, and 1 minute walk away from Busaras station. Direction: How to find us? - Taxi, cost 15 to 20€ - Aircoach to O'Connell Street, cost 7€ one way or 12€ return. - Airlink (747 or 748) to Busaras Bus Station, cost 6€ one way or 10€ return. - Dublin buses 14 & 16 a to O'Connell Street, cost only 2.30€ one way.From the Spire on O'Connell Street, walk on Talbot street until you reach Gardiner Street on your left. We are just at the corner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Holyhead Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holyhead Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing