We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot for Value/Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lombard Townhouse
Ranked #42 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Spot for Value/Location”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is my first review although I have used Tripadvisor quite widely in the past both in Ireland and abroad. My reasons for completing this review is that I have found the perfect spot in Dublin in terms of value, comfort and location. Starting at the end, the location is perfect being alongside literally Trinity College and near Georges Dock. It is very short walking distance from the main shopping areas around Grafton Street. The Lombard is about halfway (10 mins walk) between Temple Bar (the main night time spot) and the main concert venues (RDS, Aviva and Royal Canal Theatre).

Normally I would stay in a hotel when in Dublin especially in the last few years when the price per room has dropped so much. However a few months ago I was stuck, big concert and all my usual spots were booked. I was passing the lombard pub and saw a vacancy sign. Not expecting much i booked in but I got some shock (all good).

The rooms are very modern, i would think they have being only renovated in the last couple of years. Nice dark wood floors, flat screen tvs and modern power rain type showers. No baths but once you see the showers you will want nothing else.

There is no reception, you check in at the bar, they serbve food from about 10am to 10pm and serve drinks up to about midnight, later some nights. It is a good traditional irish pub.

The rooms have their own acess and the freedom to come and go as you please.

Its like having a topclass private apartment with a bar underneath. The staff are friendly and rooms are spotless.

All told, I can not recommend it highly enough. It suits, young people looking for a cool modern place to stay, it suits families looking for big rooms at reasonable cost and it suits the business man who is looking for a nice quiet clean room at a very low cost. It does not suit someone looking for a hotel with reception, pool, room service, gym etc...

Room Tip: I have now stayed in a few of the rooms, they have two nice three bed rooms, facing Pearse Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOC-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    98
    42
    12
    16
See reviews for
38
98
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Room was so clean and cosy..couldn't fault it and our stay was made more enjoyable by the extremely friendly staff..Martin and Pamela..definitely one of dublins little gems..we stayed here for lady gaga concert and this place is so central..hard to fault really..honestly wasn't expecting the standard to be so high and ye shud b really proud of your business..will definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresafarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked this a couple of hours before we arrived after a Disaster at a Travelodge, picked it for location and have to say was a bit aprehensive when I first saw the property but that quickly changed!! Great bar, food and lovely rooms. Would stay here again no bother!! Couldn't get a better location, few minutes walk from Grafton street and Temple Bar! Expect traffic noise but because of the central location we really didn't care about the noise. Bar down stairs was so handy and does a great breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Lomard Townhouse is situated close to a martial arts school in which I train. It has over the last 4 years become a tradition that after a heard training session we retire to the Lombard for a quiet drink a bit of banter and in my case a fine cup of tea served from the largest tea pot I've ever seen.

I could rave about the awesome atmosphere in the Lombard, how when you enter it feels like you're stepping into a friends house to relax and catch up. Granted that friend has a fantastic wooden bar and beautiful attired, cosy pub furnishing in his living room, but it's that same welcoming feel.

I could tell you about the food, in particular the cheese burgers (mine always served with a slice of pineapple - they accommodate my odd tastes) or the delicious chicken goujons and chips (proper chips) or the crispy and sumptuous potato skins and elegant and flavour filled brie parcels...but I wouldn't be doing the food justice. Go try it and report back your satisfaction.

No what I want to tell you about are the staff, in particular Anna, who like all the members of Lombard staff is warm and welcoming and attentive. But Anna get's a special shout out for always having the kettle on and the tea brewed in the giant pot for the weary trainees of our dojo, fast with a witty remark and faster in dispensing bacon fries and other reliable treats. She goes above beyond the call of duty and has the patience of a saint in dealing with us.

All in all if you're looking for a great Irish Pub with wonderful atmosphere, excellent staff, delicious food and a great pint or better still mug of tea, you'd be hard pressed to beat the Lombard.

Looking forward to my next post training tea break already!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatmanOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Lombard Townhouse is ideally situated - almost all of the tourist attractions can be reached by foot.
The price-performance ratio is all right, as our stay was only about € 65.- per night (2 people, no breakfast).

The room was not as clean as you might be used to from other hotels, but it was fine enought for us. We found a peanut lying in the middle of the room when we arrived, and it was still on the same spot when we departed 4 days later. The bed sheets were clean.

The bathroom offers everything you need, but it could need a makeover. The shower tub has some serious scratches and almost all of the joints have lost their sealing material. The toilet brush was the ugliest one that I've ever seen. It was all rusty and dirty, and I won't comment the water it was standing in.

The Townhouse offers to store your luggage on the day of the ckeck out if you ask - a service I didn't expect from a location which has no proper reception or dedicated hotel staff.

I'd recomment it to anybody looking for a cheap and central location, but no hostel. It is definately moch more comfortable. If you prefer to be well cared for and have a very clean room i'd recommend spending a bit more for a proper hotel.

If i was in dublin again I'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Doe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for one night. Great location near the great National Museum - Archeology and Trinity College. Area was a little dead on a Sunday night. Beautifully renovated room - comfy bed, large room, large sunny bathroom with great generous shower head. Very clean. Has a bar and restaurant downstairs. Poor wi-fi reception in our room on the 2nd floor. Good wi-fi reception downstairs. Free street parking on a Sunday but have to pay Monday to Friday. No lift.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Big comfortable bed, clean and spacious. Free WiFi too. Only two stops on the Dart to the Aviva & walking distance to city centre. Access via fob to side door as rooms above bar. Never had any noise issue, so def recommend the Lombard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny_o70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
0.3 mi away
Kildare Street Hotel
Kildare Street Hotel
#51 of 162 in Dublin
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity Lodge
Trinity Lodge
#33 of 162 in Dublin
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lombard Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombard Townhouse

Property: The Lombard Townhouse
Address: 44 Pearse Street/1 Lombard Street, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombard Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lombard Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombard Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing