We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment for a longer stay in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St
Ranked #1 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice apartment for a longer stay in Dublin”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've been for 1 week in Dublin and enjoyed the apartment very much. Supermarkets like Tesco or the much cheaper LIDL are 300 m far. The beds are fantastic!
When you arrive you should check - before you open the suitcase!! - the boiler and read the instructions to get hot water, otherwise you will have cold water in the evening. The folder in the livingroom explains everything.
Take some hangers with you, cause in the wardrobe are not enough (for 2 or more people). A real sponge for cleaning the dishes (if you don't use the mashine) and some kitchentowels are helpful.Take some pegs for the curtain in front of the balcony to fix it with the second curtain, if you want to smoke and open the balcony door, because you can't move the curtain. As it had rained a lot during the nights, my balcony war overflood and I couldn't use it for smoking.
For 2 or more persons it will be a little problem to hang the wet towels as there is only one towel rail in the bath.
The Airlink 747 from the airport stops at Ushers Quay, 2 min. far from the Apartment. Very good! The return bus stop is at the other side of the river Liffey at Arran Quay/Smithfield. The location of the apartment is really good, in 20-30 min. you are in the City, no matter which streets and directions you choose.
For me as a single person the stay in the apartment was very nice.The staff is very friendly and helpful. The sofa an chairs are comfortable and the TV is also quite fine if you want to see the news.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aglaia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    620
    214
    77
    48
See reviews for
643
278
36
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were a couple of mates who wanted a cheap but convenient getaway for New Years Eve. We were really pleased with these apartments - they were clean, spacious, well equipped ad amazing value for money. We didn't want a hotel as we knew we would be suffering on New Years Day and this provided us with what felt like a home from home. We definitely got this! The staff were fab - really friendly. We did have an altercation with one member of staff regarding extending our check out (which w you are told on the back of the door you can do) and it took a couple of phone calls and to get the manager involved to arrange this but it was resolved satisfactorily so no harm done! Would definitely recommend and book there again next time I go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staycity Apartments are an excellent value within Dublin - as long as you know what you are getting. The location is in a sketchy part of Dublin, we had to walk carefully because people do not curb or pick up after their dogs. However, Dublin is not too big and nothing is too far away. The apartments are around the corner from the Brazen Head Pub which has wonderful food and entertainment nightly. There are a few restaurants on Thomas Street - which is two blocks away. And Thomas St. has some small markets if you want to take advantage of the small kitchen.

The apartment is plenty big for four people - my wife, our two teenage sons, and me. It is comfortably furnished and clean. There is a small flat screen TV, free WIFI access, a well equipped kitchen, a small washer/dryer - that is very slow and does not dry the clothes very quickly. There is an iron and ironing board, and a hair dryer.

The staff is very cheerful and always willing to make arrangements for touring around Dublin and Ireland or give suggestions.

Now for the caveats - apart from the location, the windows are not well insulated so the apartment was freezing when we arrived - the bathroom never got comfortable because the window leaked too much cold air, although the rest of the apartment eventually became warm. The heaters work well. When I arrived I noticed that there were lights out in the second bedroom and the bathroom. Lightbulbs were missing in standing lamps. The front desk is occupied 24 hours a day, so someone can provide bulbs are replace them.

Another odd thing about the location was the wind - which frequently howled all night long - I left Ireland accepting the existence so Banshees!

Overall, for the price of a decent hotel room, you can get an equivalent of a suite, and if you can live with the few issues, none of which was a showstopper for us, you have a very comfortable base to go and discover Dublin.

Room Tip: The neighborhood is very quiet at night, apart from the winds. We were on the fifth (top) floor, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deirdretreacy, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I am very please to hear you were happy with the apartment and it's facilities. Our staff are very friendly and always happy to assist guests in whatever way they can. I am delighted you found them to be cheerful and helpful.

Maintenance has adjusted the bathroom window in the apartment, ensuring it closes tightly. I am sorry this was not so for your stay and that there were some light bulbs not working when you arrived. The apartments are fully serviced before each arrival, housekeeping report items that need maintenance, unfortunately they were not resolved before you checked in.

It was particularly windy when you were staying with us. Your apartment was on the 5th floor, therefore it would have been much cooler than an apartment on a lower floor. I am happy that the heaters did warm the apartment for you.

We would be delighted to welcome you back, if you are considering a return visit Dublin.

Yours sincerely
Deirdre Treacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Visiting Dublin over Christmas and New Years presented a challenge as not many restaurants were to be open. Renting a fully furnished 2 bedroom apartment from Staycity was our best solution. The front desk staff are the best. Our visit to Dublin was truly enhanced by their excellent recommendations. One note: be sure to boost the hot water heater if there are more than 2 taking a shower. We all loved our stay with Staycity.

Room Tip: Building D is quieter, but on our second stay we asked for Building A. Both were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemytravels72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, flexible twin/double bed arrangements, good location, reasonably priced for a stay in Dublin. Worked perfectly for a group of school friends on a weekend catch up. Staff very helpful and friendly especially in face of changing circumstances (last minute changes to booking) - all handled professionally.
Sofa bed not the comfiest (but then it IS a sofa bed!!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sscullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I'm a seasoned Trip Advisor traveller so please bear this in mind. I don't mean that in the know-it-all sense, but I use Trip Advisor every time I want to research places before booking them (or not).

As a result I've only ever twice booked, or been booked into, what can only be described as a dump. Both happened when I had no choice in the matter. One was work-related where the booking was taken care of and I had the never-to-be-repeated experience of staying at Travel Lodge Camden. The other was Bickley Manor Hotel in Chislehurst, Kent. We were completely stuck for a bed for the night and landed in this hell hole. See my reviews for both.

This is all by way of saying that I've learned to sift the crank reviews from the genuine. It's also a bit of a preamble for my highest recommendation of Stay City's St Augustine Street apartments in Dublin.

Stayed for one night while meeting two friends from college days. There were three of us and we wanted a bedroom each. This was perfect and at an amazingly good price. It worked out at less than £45 each.

Spotlessly clean. Panoramic views of the city. Friendly helpful reception staff.

As some of my other reviews will testify I'm not always 100% gushing with praise and there's bound to be a downside everywhere. The only downside here was the fact that it's a very complex place to get around. It took us a lift, several sets of stairs, right turns, left turns, indoors, outdoors, to get to and from the apartment.

But that was a very small price to pay for such excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKairos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and cannot fault the apartments. Very spacious - kitchen well equiped, comfy beds and quiet. It is slightly out of the city centre - but really not that far to walk. Great alternative to a hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Minibee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St
Address: The Schoolhouse 42-76 Saint Augustine Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Serviced Apartments in Dublin City Centre are finished to a very impressive standard. They provide the guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 21 one-bedroom (sleeps 3), 77 two-bedroom (sleeps 5) and 12 three-bedroom self catering apartments (sleeps 7), each fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. Each apartment comes with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, TV and lounge/dining area. Quality serviced apartments right in the heart of Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Augustine Apartments By Staydublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing