We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended from a regular Dublin Visitor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olesya's Wine Bar

Olesya's Wine Bar
Ranked #336 of 2,396 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highly recommended from a regular Dublin Visitor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been going to Olesya's every now and again for about 6 years now. Its lovely to sit with a glass of wine from the extensive list available and just watch the hussel and bussel of Exchequer Street go by. i have been there for girly drinks and sharing pates of whch the mixed platter was always exceptional, for romantic dates and sometimes even engaging abet wine fueled conversations that last into the night. The thing about Olesya is that it suits so many situations. In the winter the bar is cosy, its rich colour scheme inviting and warm and in the summer months the glass shutters open up to let you take in the busy street outside from a comfortable distance. Ive never sat downstairs and prefer a table at the window. Tamara is an engaging and welcoming hostess, knowledgeable and warm while never intrusive, a true professional. The bar is open late and service is prompt. Prices are very reasonable expecially given the variety available and the location. Olesya is certainly not a place to avoid, on the contrary id urge anyone to actively seek it out and guve it a try. I assure you you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1981mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    66
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

went here a few times and ordered the cured meat platter which was usually nice. however, the last time i was here we got obviously old salami ... tasting bad and had this weird colour.. after talking to the waiter/manager we were told this was the way the salami is suppose to be. I told him that we had this before and never got such bad salami... the excuse was its supposed to be like that and thats it.... try and avoid ... there are better places

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocksde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

As a couple we were attracted to Olesya's with the 2 course set menu. The food was delicious and the service was very good (attentive and welcoming). Our starters (beetroot carpaccio, mushroom risotto) and main courses (maple glazed duck, slow roasted pork belly) were excellent. We are looking forward to returning in the future.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam_and_Gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

visited here randomly at about 9.30pm on a tuesday evening. very cosy little place and the waitress, tomara i think was her name was very hospitable and welcoming. we stayed for a 3 course dinner and a bottle of wine. the salad starter was nice and what is expected. mains were also ok although the grilled chicken was quite dry and seemed more like southern fried chicken and could do with a few vegs in there for a bit of colour and variety! the dessert was great, toblerone cake and crepes - both delicious. overall the wine was good, service great and a great atmosphere. the food was average but would definately go back anyways.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank derv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped in for a glass of wine after having had a disappointing meal elsewhere and were pleasantly surprised by this place. Lovely decor, very peaceful and cozy. We ended up having a bottle of Lebanese wine (who knew?!) and it was fantastic. The person working suggested we try it and we were not disappointed. They have a fantastic selection of wines. We had a peek at the menu and it looked quite nice. The prices are not cheap however this is one of those special occasion restaurants that you go to when you want the meal & wine to be perfect. If we lived in Dublin, this would be our restaurant for those special times in our life.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olesya's Wine Bar also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Olesya's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing