We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olesya's Wine Bar

Olesya's Wine Bar
18 Exchequer Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
35316724087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #378 of 2,381 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

As a couple we were attracted to Olesya's with the 2 course set menu. The food was delicious and the service was very good (attentive and welcoming). Our starters (beetroot carpaccio, mushroom risotto) and main courses (maple glazed duck, slow roasted pork belly) were excellent. We are looking forward to returning in the future.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam_and_Gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    65
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

visited here randomly at about 9.30pm on a tuesday evening. very cosy little place and the waitress, tomara i think was her name was very hospitable and welcoming. we stayed for a 3 course dinner and a bottle of wine. the salad starter was nice and what is expected. mains were also ok although the grilled chicken was quite dry and seemed more like southern fried chicken and could do with a few vegs in there for a bit of colour and variety! the dessert was great, toblerone cake and crepes - both delicious. overall the wine was good, service great and a great atmosphere. the food was average but would definately go back anyways.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank derv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped in for a glass of wine after having had a disappointing meal elsewhere and were pleasantly surprised by this place. Lovely decor, very peaceful and cozy. We ended up having a bottle of Lebanese wine (who knew?!) and it was fantastic. The person working suggested we try it and we were not disappointed. They have a fantastic selection of wines. We had a peek at the menu and it looked quite nice. The prices are not cheap however this is one of those special occasion restaurants that you go to when you want the meal & wine to be perfect. If we lived in Dublin, this would be our restaurant for those special times in our life.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a lovely meal here for his birthday.
The service was very good and the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The wine selection was extensive and caters for all tastes and budgets. We enjoyed a very generous and very tasty meat and cheese platter whch was perfectly complimented by the delicious wine. I'm looking forward to my next visit already!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place for a glass of wine & late snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited Olesya's after the theatre on Thursday night. We got there at close to 10pm but received a warm welcome even at that late hour. We had two starters & shared a Ribeye steak for main (they had no problem about us sharing unlike many restaurants). Stake was cooked to perfection. Friendly service and a really extensive wine list catering for all tastes & pockets. The ambience was difficult to judge as there were few customers while we were there (it was a really cold, wet and stormy March night and there were few about!). I liked that they did not rush us even though they probably wanted to clean up. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frenchfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olesya's Wine Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Olesya's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing