We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average fare” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vermilion

Vermilion
Ranked #134 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $42
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Vermilion is an award winning Indian fine dining restaurant in Terenure Village. Open since 2001 it has proved a firm favourite with locals and visitors alike. Vermilion was recently voted Readers Choice Best Restaurant in Dublin in the Food & Wine Restaurant of the Year Awards 2015 and was shortlisted in the Best Manager and Best 'Kids Size Me' categories in the RAI Restaurant of the Year Awards 2015
dublin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Average fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

vermilion is in ternure village and there is parking nearby, interior is very modern.starters were very tasty but the mains were disappointing and desert was good

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    74
    25
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

we dined in Vermilion on sat 15/09/2012 and found the whole thing to be very average. Service was quick and i think this is one of the problems. I ordered meat somosas and i am 99% sure they had been reheated in a microwave which ruins any pastry and thats how these were, my wife had calamari which was ok but not great. From ordering to starters arriving it was less than 1 minute which doesnt make sense for fresh food. We both had lamb main dishes and again only average. It is not a patch on the delhi lounge in rathfarnham village and we wont bother to go again, for the price they charge i would expect better

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Faultless --- Best Indian I've been to in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Dined in Vermilion last night 30/08/2012. It was our first time in the restaurant as we bought one of those voucher deals. I have to say we could not fault the place - the decor was lovely, clean and modern. The staff and the service were excellent but the food was the winner by far. I would happily come back here and pay full prices but they seem to do early bird / midweek deals etc.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 8underpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytown Co Meath
Level Contributor
199 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simply Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We dined at Vermilion on Sunday the 5th of August and I have to say the experience was simply average. We ordered the platter for two which was very tasty and plentiful. I then had the Mangalorean Fish Masala which consisted of Tilapia fish cooked in a sour and spicy tamarind and coconut sauce which I enjoyed. He ordered the Murg Shahajahani which was chicken simmered on a slow fire with onions saffron and nuts and finished with cream and kewra water which he thought was very good and full of flavour. However, we both found the service very slow to the extent, we were left sitting for 40 mins before we were asked would we like to see the desert menu, also on three occasions my other half had to ask for his diet coke and when he asked the third time he was met with the reply of "give me a minuet will you, I am very busy". I have to say this restaurant has great potential but there are many indian restaurants in Dublin that can rival Vermilion such as Jaipur in Malahide or Indie Spice in Swords. Also at €75.00 for a platter for two, two main courses, two diet cokes and a cobra beer it is a little overpriced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catriona_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have been going to Vermillion in Terenue now for about 5 years. We always enjoy our evening and have always had consistently good meals. Starters, main course and desserts are always really nice and we have never had a bad meal. The restaurant is nicely decorated and furnished, with pleasant background music and welcoming staff. Pricing is very competitive with the early bird menu providing exceptionally good value. No hesitation at all in recommending this restaurant and we will be back again and again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedr0Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Vermilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing