We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, a very good atmosphere and centrally located restaurant”
Review of La Caverna

La Caverna
Ranked #107 of 2,596 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Situated in the heart of Temple Bar, La Caverna is a little taste of Italy in Dublin creating a tradition of excellence. With three levels, each comfortably seating up to 40 people, La Caverna is ideal for groups old all sizes. The newly renovated 300 years old Wine Cellar is a beautifully crafted 18th Century Barrel Vault, updated with soft lighting and superb selection of over 150 premium wines from Italy, France and Spain,Portugal, Argentina,California, Chile, Australia, South Africa. We have vegan and gluten - free options.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a very good atmosphere and centrally located restaurant”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We don't often go out for meals (as we cook a lot ourselves). However when we want to go out La Caverna is our first choice. We love fillet steaks, and if you want a perfect one than La Caverna is the right place to go. Anytime we went there, the steaks were perfect (we wouldn't want anything changed). At this time even our sons love the steaks. And our favourite desert (Tiramisu) is always available, fresh and delicious. But words can't describe it all. You have to try it yourself.
And not least important, if you go there twice they will remember you. They will look after you like after a VIP.

We tried to cool steaks at home - but each time we failed to come even close the their ones.
So, if you want a great Fillet Steak and desert to finish with a gd desert, than La Caverna is the right place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelManiac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    165
    63
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deva, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

With a excellent location situated in Dublin city center, in the heart of Temple Bar, La Caverna Restaurant has a nice and rich menu. Staff are friendly and food is good. So far I gave to this restaurant 5 stars.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flyup007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Nice, intimate place to eat.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We ate at La Caverna during our recent trip to Dublin. Walking past we saw that it was small, quiet and intimate. We were greeted warmly and shown to our table. It was cosy and the exposed brick makes it look really nice. The service was swift and food made fast considering there were other diners. The food was cooked to a great quality, the pizza was excellent and the chicken wings although small, very nice. Overall we had an extremely pleasant evening and had some nice food in the process. We would definitely eat here again when we next visit the capital.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKworldtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I had booked LaCaverna for our Christmas Party (38 people) last Friday night. From the minute we walked through the door to when we left, the service, food and atmosphere was excellent. We were accommodated upstairs and the staff, including the Manager, were so attentive to all our needs, the food was exceptional. The staff were so helpful and there was no delay in the order being taken and the food being served. We ate from the Christmas Menu, it was great value with a varied menu. We will definitely be back. All our staff were so impressed with everything and we will ensure to make another visit very soon!! Wishing all the staff a very Happy Christmas..... Linda

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindamcd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome food, lovely service, truly italian”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Ate here last night with a couple of friends and had a fantastic meal. I was almost surprised by some of the previous reviews and maybe the restaurant has listened as the menu seemed to have a very Italian theme. The starter I had was muscles with a creamy white wine sauce, these were perfection and the pasta was equally impressive. The food was well presented and the service fantastic. Top marks la caverna!

Helpful?
Thank DelAwayFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caverna also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to La Caverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing