We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!”
Review of La Caverna

La Caverna
Reserve with OpenTable
La Caverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 2,617 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Situated in the heart of Temple Bar, La Caverna is a little taste of Italy in Dublin creating a tradition of excellence. With three levels, each comfortably seating up to 40 people, La Caverna is ideal for groups old all sizes. The newly renovated 300 years old Wine Cellar is a beautifully crafted 18th Century Barrel Vault, updated with soft lighting and superb selection of over 150 premium wines from Italy, France and Spain,Portugal, Argentina,California, Chile, Australia, South Africa. We have vegan and gluten - free options.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was looking for somewhere to celebrate a birthday with a group of friends and after googling around decided to "chance" La Caverna ....how lucky was I. From the first phone call to book to the leaving after a wonderful night we were treated like royalty. The staff's consideration and attention to detail were second to none. The variety of choice and the quality of the food was to commented on and appreciated by all 12 of us.... The complimentary Zambuccas went down a treat .... A huge thank you to all in La Caverna for making a special night a huge success

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCavernaDublin, Manager at La Caverna, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very happy to see that you had a very enjoyable evening.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

La Caverna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    166
    63
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very bad attitude and unprofessional !!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Ok !!! Normally, I don't really write reviews, but went to this restaurant last Friday night, as I was visiting Dublin, attracted from a big sigh from the outside saying they were playing Jazz life, was only a lovely girl playing and signing, but there was no live Jazz, food was good had the lamb shank as a main and calamari as started, service was really unprofessional, there was this lady couldn't speak no English.Finally,came a nice waiter and got the order, but she was screaming at him in the middle of the restaurant in a foreign language and with the others staff, very unprofessional and very unpleasant, ordered a dessert which was panna Cota no flavour at all was more like a pudim with no flavour!!! I was very disappointed in overall on my last meal on a Friday night in Dublin!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCavernaDublin, Manager at La Caverna, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience in La Caverna. We are taking very serious every feed back we get from our customers.
I am very disappointed the hear that a member of my staff acted in an unprofessional manner.
I can assure you this is a very uncommon situation.
This issue was raised in our weekly meetings and the Lady that you were talking about, Victoria, is a very professional worker, i have never encountered any problems before with her, i understand that her English is not the best, but she does indeed a very good job for the Restaurant. However , she is sorry for what happened on that evening and she got 2 black points on her file.
I would also like to apologies and I hope we can get an other chance to show you that we here, in La Caverna, are providing quality and professionalism.

Best Regards,
Dan Balau
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“gorgeous food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate here on Sat evening and what a wonderful surprise!

The location of the restaurant is just off Temple Bar so didnt know what to expect.

Once inside the restaurant, the atmosphere was calm and welcoming. We were seated straight away on a table with a fish tank sunk into it.

Food was delicious, I highly reccommend the mussels! The La Carvena Chicken was delicious too.

A harpist played for about an hour too, which was really lovely.

We stayed for around 2 1/2 hours, was not rushed but it also didnt feel like we were waiting ages between courses. The owners would happily let you stay and chat for as long as you wanted.

And we were so surprised when we got our bill, was expecting to pay a high price for such gorgeous food and wonderful service, but 2 courses, wine and coffees came to less than 100 EURO! What a bargain!

I would reccommend this to anyone visiting Dublin wanting a romantic meal away from the noise of Temple Bar!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our friend Dan and his lovely restaurant in Temple Bar.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

3 or 4 times a year, we take a day return, on the train, from Bangor, Co. Down to Dublin. An opportunity to meet up with family and friends who live around Dun Laoghaire, sometimes maybe just ourselves and on other visits up to 12-14, young and not so young! Invariably the evening ends with a meal in La Caverna! Always a warm welcome from Dan, Simone and staff. Our most recent visit 28Dec '12. 12 of us on that ocassion. Dan will always go out of his way to accommodate us, little treats for the younger ones on the occasion of birthdays and special celebrations.(Just let him know in advance!) Recently renovated, on 3 floors, it offers value for money, good food, excellant wines and all moderately priced! So here is looking forward to the next trip! Thank you Dan and staff for all the wonderful meals over the years. Not to be missed.
(And of course, he always organises the taxi to get us back on the train to Belfast & Bangor!)
Padraic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strangford4468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing Dinner at La Caverna”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

La caverna is without doubt the best restaurant in Temple Bar. Our meal was a culinary delight from starters to mains to deserts. It was not only served at appropriate intervals but represented excellent value for money.
They have an extensive wine list also offering GREAT value for money.
The ambiences of the restaurant is second to none, it is intimate and comfortable. The down stairs (where we were seated ) oozes character. Finally I have to acknowledge the staff, whose attention to detail and smiling faces made our experience a pleasure. Well done La Caverna 4 happy customers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murphyj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caverna also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to La Caverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing