We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are returning in June”
Review of Aghadoe House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aghadoe House B&B
Ranked #65 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We are returning in June”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here last may. We absolutely enjoyed our stay. We flew into the Shannon airport at about 7a and drove directly to Dublin. We were bordering on delerious when we showed up early at the front door. The gentleman of the house was alone as his wife was away for the weekend. He was extremely accomating. He welcomed us into his home and gave us tea. Once we were talking we explained that we did not have any euros yet and asked where we could change our money or find an ATM. He grabbed some money out of a jar and gave it to us for bus fare. He then gave us 2of the hop on hop off tour tickets and told us to pay him back when we got back in...now the next time we go we will be much better prepared but this incident speaks to the owners' generosity and hospitality. The rooms were smaller because they are in a big city, but they were comfortable. My husband still remembers this place as having his favorite showers due to the good water pressure. The food was good and the location could not be more perfect. I believe bus fare to the city center was a little over 2 euro.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We arrived after dark, in the snow, and it took a little while to find the place. If you arrive in the daylight, it would be much easier. However, after arrival, we parked the car in their private park, and loaded out luggage into our room for the night. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They had tour bus tickets for purchase for Dublin. I suggest you purchase these, as it makes touring Dublin so much easier. We were allowed to get off and get back on whereever there was a stop. We rode the transit bus to Dublin, which was a short ride. Most of the transit bus drivers were very nice and helpful, except the one on the return drive. He seemed most put out that we did not come to Dublin knowing the way the buses there operate. This B&B is about 10 minutes away from Dublin, and an EASY 15 minute drive to the airport, which was awesome, since we had to arise at 3:30 to get there in time. We enjoyed breakfast the morning we went to Dublin, and we invited to help ourselves to cereal before leaving at 4 AM (too early to eat). This is a nice place to stay, especially if you are just arriving in Ireland, or preparing to leave.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I recently stayed at Aghadoe House B&B in Dublin. The staff and owners are so friendly, very comfortable room, breakfast was delicious and lovely shower in the morning. We got it for a good price too for our short trip and found it very close to the city centre as the bus stops right outside. We ate locally one night too in the Porterhouse pub (which I would also recommend as the food is very good and great atmosphere) the pub is also within walking distance to the B&B which is handy. I would definitely recommend this B&B in Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

The room was very small but clean and they served a nice breakfast. The host was very helpful to give us directions or advice on where to eat. The location is great if you plan to tour the Glasnevin Cemetery which is just 2 blocks away! Also the botanical gardens are a short walk. There is off-street parking as well.
Despite the small room, we had a pleasant enough stay.

  • Liked — Friendly host
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthmaulanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#43 of 149 in Dublin
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#2 of 149 in Dublin
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acara House B&B
Acara House B&B
#50 of 149 in Dublin
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Botanic Villa
Botanic Villa
#14 of 149 in Dublin
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Sycamore House
Sycamore House
#57 of 149 in Dublin
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe House B&B

Property: Aghadoe House B&B
Address: 77 Botanic Road | Glasnevin, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are welcome to our family run B&B in Dublin. Come and live with us in our Edwardian townhouse where we hope you will have a comfortable stay. We have double, twin and triple rooms, all of which have own shower room, TV. After a good night's rest we hope you will enjoy breakfast. You can select from Full Irish Breakfast, Small Irish Breakfast, Vegegarian Breakfast or Continental Breakfast.Then it's time to explore The National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin Museum and enjoy various Exhibitions, Tours and investigate the Genealogy section. After all that its time to visit Dublin City Centre, so why not take the Hop-on Hop-off City Tour. We can organise tickets for this tour if required. Dont miss "The Book of Kells", Trinity, College, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Guinness Storehouse and Kilmainham Gaol, just to mention a few. In the evenings you can then visit Temple Bar and soak in traditional Irish music over a drink or have a nice meal from one of the many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aghadoe House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing