We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of wine!”
Review of Hugo's

Hugo's
Ranked #72 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great selection of wine!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very good food and an excellent selection of wine! Great atmosphere and nice, professional service. Will defo recommend!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    214
    73
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were a group of 7, with no prior booking on what was probably the busiest weekend in Dublin, and the restaurant manager went out of her way to make room for us by juggling other bookings around. The food, wine and general ambience was excellent - our only regret was that we could not stay and enjoy it longer. Will definitely return on a quieter weekend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great Venison - but the customer is always wrong!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a mixed review. We ate on a Saturday night. The restaurant has a fantastic ambience and is buzzing. The Wicklow Venison was stunning as was the lovely bottle of Cote du Rhone. However, the Boef Bourgignon was way too salty and we politely complained. To be fair, they did not charge us for this - however that was not what we were looking for. The maitresse d' firmly stated that their chef was from Lyon and that he knew how to make his food - there was no hint of an apology - indeed the look we got suggested we did not know what good food was!

Would I go back - probably - but would stick to the Venison!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crocodile_Ddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a delicious dinner, lots of choice, great atmosphere, wonderful experience. Pretty reasonably priced for that level of quality in Dublin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederika881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok Food, Poor, unfriendly slow service”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ok Food, Poor, unfriendly slow service, the food was ok, my steak was cooked perfectly but the mash was very watery & cold. Too much red onion reduction. The restaurant is lovely and it is a nice restaurant to relax in, except I just didnt want to. Once I had eaten I just wanted to go. I felt the staff just ignored us. Despite the restaurant being empty (It was 5.45pm), the staff shoved the 4 tables that were occupied into one corner, and despite this we still couldnt get staff attention. I have heard similar opinions from my colleagues also who were not surprised by my experience. I am joining there vow to not return to Hugo's.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindaob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Hugo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing