We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Ranked #423 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a Sunday night, it was relatively quiet just a few other couples dining. The menu is quite small with not much variety but the food that did arrive was delicious and we couldn't fault it. The decor could do with being nicer and the tables and chairs look abit worn out but the food was great.

Helpful?
Thank KevinTrowell
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    140
    55
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant Saturday night. It wasn't over busy and we were seated straight away. The staff were lovely. The menu was suitable for all. Mild and spicy options and gluten free options available. Big portions. Lots of meat in the dishes. Good price. Can't understand why it wasn't packed out. Would definitely eat there again if back in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy, filling meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We found this place while walking around the Temple Bar district. It wasn't too far away from our hostel (Barnacle's).
The warm atmosphere was a nice setting and the food was fantastic. As a huge fan of Thai cuisine I am always a little skeptical but I was pleasantly surprised with my meal.
We had delicious veggie spring rolls as appetizers.
My girlfriend had the veggie pad Thai while I had the chicken pad Thai.
Both were excellent and prepared relatively quickly. They went down well with Tiger beers!
Bit expensive overall, don't expect a cheap meal here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good choice and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Has a good selection for veggies which is great for us and left us pleasantly surprised when the bill came, excellent food and great and quick service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 13Nic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Ok, I'll admit it. We picked this restaurant partly by its name alone. It happened to be directly across the street from our hotel, the Westin Dublin, but the name matches one of our favorite restaurants near home. So we tried it.

Service was great and the menu choices offered a little of everything. Sorry, I don't recall what my wife had (but she enjoyed it) but I had my standard Chicken w/Cashew Nut, asking for some hot oil on the side. It came a little spicy by default, but the chili flake I added as needed made it perfect (the server warned me ... "very hot!", pointing to the flakes).

Very tasty and a perfect choice if you have the urge for Thai food while in Dublin!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhnc140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing