We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and very tasty”
Review of The Woolshed

The Woolshed
Ranked #509 of 2,665 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: American, Australian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As the name suggests we are a sports bar with the flavour of the Southern Hemisphere, (without the weather!!). Opened on January 23rd 2003, The Woolshed quickly became the go to place for sports fans looking for a home from home, spread over 4 bars, with 3 giant screens and twenty 50” TVs. We can give 600 people a good view of the game, while still maintaining that Aussie “no worries” welcome to all. Over the years the Woolshed has become known for being the best place to watch sport, we show it all, from SupeRugby, NRL, Rugby Championship, (and of course we will show every one of the Lions Tour matches) to AFL, NFL and of course all the soccer you can wish for! It doesn’t stop after the final whistle with all our free nightly entertainment. Monday Comedy night, Pub Quiz Tuesday, Wednesday Brazilian Party, Karaoke every Thursday, Friday Rock Star Bingo & live bands and weekend DJs. Our menu is served from 12noon to 10pm every day, with a huge choice of burgers, pizza, nachos, platters and our regularly voted “best hot wings in town”! We also have an extensive range of drinks from the Southern Hemisphere to choose from, beers including VB, Crown, Tui, Speights and Castle to spirits like Bundy, 42 below, Klipdrift and Fernet Branca. We don’t leave out the local Irish craft brews either. The Woolshed is fun evenings, great food and drinks and most importantly after 14 years we are still a home from home for those who share our love of sports. So, where the bloody hell are ya?
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had lunch here with the other half. Been craving ribs and ordered the Aussie Griller which includes succulent baby back ribs, crispy onion rings, BBQ wings and a generous portion of salad. I think the menu said there was coleslaw as well, which was missing from my plate. But the ribs and wings were so good that I didn't even bother ask for the coleslaw. A huge plate of food and it was only 14 euro. Service was very prompt, friendly without being intrusive. All in all a great lunch. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kitty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 156 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Woolshed was very accomodating to 18 very loud Welsh lads for the 3rd & final Lions test vs Aus. We all had an absolutely awesome day, in no small part to the staff of the Woolshed (as well as the glorious defeat of the Aus.) Honestly couldn't praise the bar enough, reasonably priced drinks (we were on the jugs of Fosters), very welcoming and accommodating manager, & great waiter which meant nobody needed to be waiting around at the bar. I HIGHLY recommend the Woolshed if you are in Dublin for any sporting event, it is certainly the place to be (especially if the Welsh are there in full voice!). We will definitely be going back at some point for the Six Nations rugby. A few of the lads had food as well, and the reviews of the food were all great as well. All round excellent bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MattBarnes1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was here on the night of the Brazil v Mexico confederations cup game. Atmosphere was excellent and friendly between both sets of supporters...... After the game there was a Brazilian band which can only be described as woeful...and deflated the atmosphere which had been super till then. The over zealous security doorman was trying to be a star shouting orders at customers to move stand or sit as he though fit. (Clown). Apart from the band and the pedantic bouncer this place is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rogerrabbit60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, Owner at The Woolshed, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback

I would just like to point out that we have had a Brazilian Festa every Wednesday for the past 6 years and it has become Dublins' best Brazilian night, with authentic music that Brazilians love and come back for every week.

Whilst I appreciate that it isn't to your taste, the 600+ Brazilians (and 150 Mexicans) loved the authentic Brazilian band and stayed here dancing until 2.30am - the atmosphere was electric.

With the large crowds that we get at the Woolshed, everyones safety is paramount. Therefore it is necessary for the doorstaff to move people if they are blocking stairs or fire exits.

I would rather have an over zealous doorman keeping everyone safe, than a doorman not caring. He was ensuring your and the other customers' safety - the only clown is someone who thinks that it doesn't apply to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in the Woolshed on Sunday night for dinner before going to the cinema (6-7pm). They had a band in doing cover songs. They were terrible and so loud that you couldn't have a conversation with the person next to you. The music was so loud that the waitress got several parts of our order wrong as she couldn't hear us properly. We asked if they could turn it down a bit so we could enjoy our meal but nothing happened.

The food was mediocre, fairly tasteless burgers and fish and chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hsp27mrp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, Owner at The Woolshed, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

During the summer we have a 2 piece band playing from 5pm -8pm.

I am not sure that entering a bar that has a band already playing and then expecting the bands volume to be changed to suit you and not all the other customers enjoying the music is entirely reasonable.

I'm not sure if the rest of your review is entirely reasonable either.
You made no mention of your order being incorrect at the time and I'm not even sure what you could get wrong with the order of fish & chips? Our freshly hand made, aussie style burgers with egg and beetroot have never been described as "mediocre or tasteless" and I doubt they will!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Good was delicious ! We had wooly club an BBQ chicken pizza , both were very good ! Waitress was friendly and helped my picky partner get some extra sauces! Will be back :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank key-eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woolshed also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Woolshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing