We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great sleep if you want to be in the senter of party life”
Review of The Norseman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norseman
Ranked #15 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Cleean room, Bathroom was good. Too close to party life.

Room Tip: ask for room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paven66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 324 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

The room is nice, small but clean and very comfortable bed. The area is really noisy, and after a while you realize is more for turists than the real Dublin, I would choose Crafton street area next time. Distances are really short walking, so is not really worth the really noisy streets in Temple Bar, really crowded with drunk loud tourists.

Regarding the staff, I must say they were the only unfriendly people I found in Dublin. There isn't a reception, so you have to ask to waiters attending the pub. They are busy and you can tell they are not willing to help you. On the contrary, upon my arrival I was asked for payment in advance for the whole stay in a really unpolite fashion. No "Hello", "Welcome" or "Did you have a nice trip". First and only greeting was the bill.

Dublin is charming, so are most people there. People would offer you help without asking if you are trying to read a map. The only unfriendly ones were precisely the staff at the place I spent most of my money, in advance by the way.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petalum93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Very nice accomodation in this old Victorian Pub in the middle of Temple Bar region. Excellent location for shops, pubs, restaurants, sight seeing. Street bands were great, and live music in most pubs, great atmosphere. Room was modern and comfortable, we were in the best room with jacuzzi in bathroom. Very friendly and helpful staff. Loved Dublin, a great city but so expensive! Great Guinness, shame it's 5 Euros a pint! We stayed Mon to Fri, I would imagine it's absolute chaos on a weekend. The only thing what surprised me was that there were a lot of homeless people on the streets begging in the surrounding streets of Temple Bar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Great staff, located in the heart of party central. Very noisy, but sooo much fun.clean rooms,ensuite.If you are a light sleeper, this is not for you.Note that this is a laid back city. breakfast is usually served around 10:30 on the average.Bars are open until 3:30Most stores close at 7 p.m.The bar is very busy,yet a lot of fun.
cannot say enough about the great staff!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleenkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this little hotel for 3 nights last October.
Great position: really in the center of Temple Bar! I recommend it especially to young people or to those who want to enjoy Temple Bar nights.
Farrington's Pub is on the groundfloor and it offers a warm atmosphere, fresh Guinness and good music: here you can often find someone who plays guitars and sings until late.
The rooms are soundproofed, so you won't hear the music coming from the pub downstairs, but the street outside is really noisy until late. Our bedroom was really cute and clean: parquet floor, confortable bed, large shower, self-heating, towles and free shower soap and shampoo, free tea and coffee facilities...everything we needed! The price was really worthy and the staff always helpful and nice with us, even if we arrived late at night when the pub was crowded.
I'd recommend this little hotel to those who want to live Dublin nights!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RO82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed at Farringtons for three nights last week for a city break in Dublin. The main purpose of our visit was to sample the Temple Bar atmosphere, and Farringtons was the perfect place from which to do this. On arrival you go into the bar and pay for your stay there and then, Farringtons is a pub with rooms, not a hotel. There is a separate entrance for the rooms, a door controlled by key fob at the side. All rooms are on the second floor, there is no lift.
The room itself was clean, nicely decorated in a modern style and had the most amazing shower. The bedroom part is small, very small (you could only just walk around the bed). This did not bother us too much, we were only staying for a weekend and did not spend too much time in our room. The bed itself was comfortable. The room did have the tendency to get a little warm, we could not get the window open.
At night the pub downstairs gets very busy, and you can hear the music from downstairs in your room. The first two nights we were not bothered (we had been out sampling the nightlife until 2am) but on the third night the noise coming from the street and pub was LOUD. It went on until about 3.30am! That said, we expected noise because it was a Saturday, and if we had not got to be up so early to fly home on the Sunday morning we would have been out late ourselves.
In short, if you want to stay slap bang in the middle of Temple Bar, and have a good location for sightseeing on the South of the Liffey, Farringtons could be for you. If you want a good night's sleep, perhaps you would be better off elsewhere. We would return to the pub to stay, but would take some ear plugs! Book early, otherwise the prices are expensive, but then I have quickly realised that everywhere in Dublin is expensive! We booked only 3 weeks in advance, and got charged accordingly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluffyBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Fantastic smartly decorated room, large shower, very comfortable beds, brilliant location in the heart of Temple Bar, staff were friendly and helpful, room was very clean, we were very pleasantly suprised as we got a really good price on the room and were preparing ourselves for somewhere a litte bit "basic" but were absolutely thrilled. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there, plenty of places to eat nearby. Street is loud at night but to be honest if you are looking for a place to stay in Temple bar you should expect a bit of noise and shouldn't be planning a quiet night in in the hotel anyway with such brilliant nightlife just outside your door! Would definately stay again and recommend it to anyone. The only things it doesn't have are breakfast, a minibar and a phone but we didn't require any of these things and this was reflected in the great price. A big thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,298 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#42 of 152 in Dublin
1,019 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#35 of 152 in Dublin
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#22 of 151 in Dublin
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norseman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norseman

Address: 28 East Essex Street, Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Formerly Farringtons)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $100 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Norseman 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Norseman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farringtons Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing