We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
Review of JD's steakhouse

JD's steakhouse
Ranked #570 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Rathfarnham
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have visited JD's on a few occasions and each time it has been a decent experience. They tend to do a lot of the voucher deals and these are particularly good value. The food in JD's is always good, its not gourmet dining but its simple food done well. My only hitch is that the tables can be quite close to one another and atmosphere is a bit hit and miss. In general i would have no hesitation recommending and a much better and cheaper experience than some other restaurants close to the vicinity.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddyblarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    48
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I got a voucher off deal rush for jds and I have to say it was the best deal ever,we both went for the t bone steak which was just delicious,starters and mains were also top class

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love this place, great service, good food, go hungry!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Love it here, staff are very pleasant, food is tasty and generous portion sizes. Great online and Facebook deals and excellent early bird. Try the chicken wings. Good generous glasses of house wine. Always popular. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“poor reception”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

was here last saturday table booked for 9pm for ten people arrived told table not ready asked to come back did so at 20 past 9 still not ready came back again at 10pm met by man on desk who said our name not on booking list we pointed it out to him and he said that was early booking so informed him we had been there twice already he said tablet being cleared i ask if we could go up he replied you can wait at stairs if you want very offhand food good but will not be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annA5942IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great night out”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

had purchased online voucher for this restaurant and headed out for a treat; pleasantly surprised that it was busy on a Sunday evening.
Staff were extremely pleasant and efficient and BUSY! The voucher was for starters, mains and desserts which was great value but too much food!!
Starting with chicken wings and a salad we were pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the food, however as other guests arrived I think we may have made a mistake not ordering the Prawns Pil-Pil. This seemed to be a favourite with the regulars!
We both had steaks, one rib-eye and one fillet and both were fab, cooked as asked for and nice generous side of onion rings; agree with other contributors they could loose the "chips" they are really roast potatoes; at this stage we were struggling whales and yet had dessert to go - small selection would be my only gripe here as the banofee and chocolate cake we had was fab; by now we were beached whales!!
We were left to sit with coffee for a long time which was great, got to study the wine bottle collection set in the ceiling; my other gripe would be having a table in the middle of the room; it felt like Clapham Junction on occasion as staff served and greeted at the door and guests were shown to the bar/waiting area & upstairs

positives:
Great food and staff
Decent ambience as busy, clean and interesting decor

negatives:
CHIPS are not chips they are roast potatoes and would be so much nicer if half the size and half the portion!
The natural corridor to the bar and stairs through the table layout downstairs; as it was busy when we were there, the impact from people moving past our table could have been reduced by the tables being better placed

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m-luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JD's steakhouse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
County Dublin, Province of Leinster
 

Been to JD's steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing