We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Noisy and run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Ranked #38 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Fitzwilliam Townhouse for 4 nights this week.

Plus points:
Great location, close to St Stephen's Green
Comfortable bed
Friendly staff

Negatives:
I'm afraid there were a few of these! The hotel in general is really quite run down - badly chipped paintwork, threadbare carpets, hairdryer where the cable is almost worn through, damaged tiles in the bathroom etc. In serious need of some TLC!
Noise - the hotel is on a busy junction and there was a lot of road noise even on the 2nd floor. But, worse than this was the noise from the adjoining rooms. When their TV was on not only could you hear every word, but it also caused a vibration/thrumming noise in my room which was impossible to ignore and kept me awake for two nights. The pipes and extractor fans are also dreadful and several times I was woken up when one of my neighbours used the bathroom. I should say I'm not normally a light sleeper - this place was very loud!
Hot water was also ropey at best - occasionally it worked properly but it was generally barely lukewarm
Wifi - included in room cost but was down completely for at least 10 hours at one point

Overall - I can't honestly recommend this, whilst it may be relatively cheap the compromise to sleep just isn't worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Lindsay B, Thank you for your comments which we find to be quite harsh. Being located in Dublin city centre guests know that it can be busy outside. We do not have any issues with water, our water system has worked properly and we have had no previous complaints. Our free wi-fi service has two networks and the only reason we can find for an issue with wireless could be an exterior problem and we have no reports on file from previous guests having any issues. Thank you for your comments. The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Fitzwilliam Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 269 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a Dublin classic--a house from another era that has been made over into a small hotel. The reception desk staff was super helpful and friendly. The room was not fancy, but was comfortable and clean and was a good value for Dublin. The hotel is located in a safe area and is near bus stops and is within easy walking distance to sites such as Trinity College and Dublin Castle

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEW686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer, It is refreshing to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write it. We are delighted you found our location convenient and to walk to the major sites and we were helpful at reception. Good value is always important and we are happy that we can offer this in our central location and in Georgian Dublin. We do hope you will visit us again. Thank you... from all the team at Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A reasonable price for Dublin accommodation. However, you need to factor in the cost of parking. We couldn't find their recommended parking lot, which they said was 18 € for 24 hrs. In the same area we ended up paying 34 € for 1 day. Parking (unless paying 2.90/hr on street) is not close.

It was a 15 min walk to main attractions in Dublin, which we were happy with.

Rooms are very noisy during very early morning traffic. It was really warm in the room with no fan, so needed to leave window open to sleep. Even closed their was a lot of street noise.

Cleanliness ok, not pristine. Could use some updating. Room size and hard bed normal for Europe.

We wouldn't tell someone not to stay, however look at all your options in Dublin first. In comparison to may be standard for the price in this city.

Room Tip: Book a room not facing Fitzwilliams st.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear mandyandian, Thank you for writing your review. Regarding the parking - as we explained, to avail of the special offer you need to bring your receipt and ticket to the customer service desk in the car park and not use the ticket machine, the cost is just €18 for 24hrs as stated on our website. We apologise for this inconvenience to you. We like our guests to be comfortable and this requires we turn on the heating in late September and for October. The weather has varied in temperature lately and we do our best to keep the house cosy, regretfully some guests find this too warm and some find it too cold and this is why we offer fans and other guests are happy to open the windows. We are in Dublin city centre and noise can be expected, we do have room at the back of the building or on the fourth floor that are away from the street. Thank you for your comments. Fitzwilliam Townhouse staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good location. Small room and bathroom. No breakfast served here and there was a price different from what was given to me via my travel agent. They were helpful in giving directions. We slept well here though and it was a ground floor room.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ElizabethW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were on the top floor and able to haul our bags up there without any issue. However, there is no lift. So if you are hauling heavy bags or have difficulty hiking up staircases, you may want to consider another hotel. This is basic lodging. A not-so-comfortable bed, a really small bath and really thin walls. I did not note the rom number, but we were on the fourth floor overlooking Upper Fitzwilliam Street, which is a busier street. Would I stay here again. No, thank you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face Fitzwilliam Street and remember; NO LIFT, if that is important to you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lab007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear lab007, Thank you for your comments. We regret that you were not pleased with your stay on our top floor. Fitzwilliam is an historical building and unfortunately we cannot install a lift, it can be difficult when you have lots of bags, some guests to choose to leave bags in our storage room on the first floor and others are happy to experience the original Georgian way of life. However as mentioned in other reviews, some guests are very happy at the top of the house with views over the rooftops (see image in gallery from previous guest). Thank you, Vimen, The Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is very old style, the room smelt of damp in need of modernisation. No breakfast available Monday to Thursday. The staff were very helpful andfriendly but they were the only plus from my stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Michael D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and comments and we are grieved that you did not find your room satisfactory. We would like you to contact us to discuss as we only recently installed new flat screen TV's, large desks and headboards and we are very happy with how they look. We hope to hear from you soon. Regards from the Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Baggot Court Townhouse
#27 of 149 in Dublin
329 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#26 of 149 in Dublin
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity Lodge
#24 of 149 in Dublin
565 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 149 in Dublin
339 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#55 of 149 in Dublin
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Address: 41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $96 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzwilliam Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in our friendly & relaxing 3 star Guest House, you will be greeted by our professional staff who will strive to meet your every need with the utmost of attention to detail, ensuring you have a comfortable and carefree stay in Ireland's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fitzwilliam Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing