We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, affordable stay in wonderful Dublin neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Ranked #42 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great, affordable stay in wonderful Dublin neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay in the Fitzwilliam Townhouse in April 2013. We were greeted with a warm welcome and given lots of helpful information about the neighborhood and nearby restaurants and pubs. Our room was very comfortable and didn't include a lot of street noise. The shower was a bit tiny, especially for my 6-foot husband, but the bathroom was otherwise clean and nice. For the cost, it's a great deal in Dublin. I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room upstairs for minimal street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetgirl1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliam_dublin, General Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jetgirl1515, Thank you for your lovely kind review. As you mentioned we are in the city centre and in an ideal location, however, thank you for your suggestion to other visitors that a room on a higher floor is a good idea as they are away from the street. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin again soon. Kind regards, Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    91
    73
    20
    10
See reviews for
50
95
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night april 2013. The location was perfect, proximity to Fitzwilliam Square near city centre, 5 minutes to St. Stephen's Green.
Quiet, free wifi, nice room and perfect bathroom.

Staff very kindly.

No breakfast..but coffee and tea in the room and you have some nice things to eat round the corner!....

I will come back!

Room Tip: higher floor, no lift...of course, such a beautiful house....but so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vdenadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliam_dublin, General Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Vdenadine, We are delighted to read your review and that you enjoyed our rooms, location and that you found the House quiet. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose the Fitzwilliam because of its location, it was one of the few hotels that was rated as quiet, and it had free WiFi. All of those reasons were accurate and it had a very helpful staff. It does not have an elevator, the carpets are a bit threadbare, and it could use some sprucing up. That said, we would stay there again because of its positives and its good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TownsendWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love Georgian houses but this one is in a terrible state, converted to smalll hotel - pre celtic tiger when people were accepting poor standards.
It was the worst place I have stayed in in the past ten years!
There was a lingering smell of food although there was no breakfast, the room furniture was worn out and old fashioned, the carpets were old. The whole place was in very poor shape.
Room however was reasonably clean and the staff were good and helpful.

Room Tip: GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! there is a fab hotel up the road, a properly converted Georgian house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliam_dublin, General Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Luismac,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Indeed this is an historic Georgian Townhouse and we continue to maintain and upgrade it and only recently we have updated our rooms with mahogany desks and mirrors. It was a pity you did not visit the restaurant (Isabel's) on our lower ground floor, I do think you would have enjoyed it's choice of food and excellent wine list. I do apologise that you were not satisfied with our accommodation.
Your faithfully, Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here for one night in November 2012, I chose this hotel because the location was perfect due to the proximity to Fitzwilliam Square. It is a great location for the city centre, 10 min stroll to St. Stephen's Green. Having lived in Dublin for a few years previously I would consider this area quiet and safe.

The decor was dated, the bathroom particularly, but the room was clean and had everything I needed. My room was on the front of the building but I was not disturbed by any traffic noise and had a good night's sleep.
I cannot comment on breakfast because I did not eat here. The staff were courteous and my room was actually ready when I arrived at 9AM in the hope of just leaving my bag there for the day.

It is cheap compared to other options in the city so it is true to say you get what you pay for. I would stay here again if I needed a reasonably priced room in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Good price in an expensive city. Good walkable location. However, rooms are on small side; carpets dirty; bathrooms small with toilets running and not flushing well. Beds was not particularly comfortable and heating system suspect. I would not return except for price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pokyjMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Fitzwilliam twice during my European adventure. They are located near Fitzwilliam Square, which is a lovely Georgian part of the city, very near St Stephens Green. I loved the location - very safe and picturesque and quiet at night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, cozy and had everything we needed for our stay. Great place and a great price!

Room Tip: no elevator so top floors will give you a good workout :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Latchfords of Baggot Street
0.1 mi away
Baggot Court Townhouse
Baggot Court Townhouse
#24 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Donoghue's
O'Donoghue's
#30 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lombard Townhouse
The Lombard Townhouse
#39 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kildare Street Hotel
Kildare Street Hotel
#51 of 161 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Property: Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Address: 41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzwilliam Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in our friendly & relaxing 3 star Guest House, you will be greeted by our professional staff who will strive to meet your every need with the utmost of attention to detail, ensuring you have a comfortable and carefree stay in Ireland's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fitzwilliam Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing