We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle doesn't open Mondays” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardgillan Castle

Ardgillan Castle
Ranked #131 of 599 things to do in County Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ardgillan Castle and Demesne is Ireland's hidden gem. Set in spectacular parklands overlooking the Irish Sea with a magnificent view of the Mourne Mountains. As well as the castle, the demesne features a walled and rose garden both of which present an orderly profusion of colour. Ardgillan Castle and Demesne is situated in North County Dublin on an elevated coastline between Balbriggan and Skerries,32 kilometers north of Dublin City. The demesne is well signposted off the M1. The park consists of 194 acres of rolling open grassland, mixed woodland and gardens, overlooking the Irish Sea with views of Mourne Mountains to the north and Lambay to the south-east. Ardgillan is a sanctuary for many species of animals, mammals and birds for which the wooded areas provide a safe retreat from surrounding agricultural land. Today the demesne is a stunning visitor attraction with a range of facilities the public can avail of, including castle tours, theatre events, afternoon tea, children's parties plus much more!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Castle doesn't open Mondays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was passing the area so decided to visit the castle. Unfortunately the castle itself does not open on Mondays, but the gardens are worth the visit alone. There is a massive rose garden and a walk which takes in some lovely views across the countryside and sea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamworth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    10
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Amazing Location-Horrible Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place is a must see if you are visiting or living nearby. What nature has created here is awesome, castle itself is great and the tour is recommended
also the playground must have one of the finest sea view back drops in Ireland
However the castle is run by Fingal county council and they are failing miserably it running this
Firstly the restaurant is a disgrace with over priced food served by surly staff-Fingal get your act together
the scenic walks are spoilt by a large number of dogs, small large and pitbulls who seem to roam without leads, wardens do patrol but do nothing about this in spite of clear rules re animals in the park
We are paying Fingal County Council and it is disgraceful the way they run this amazing place

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RayT1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Biggest rose garden I've ever seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Really, the rose garden is at least 4-5 acres, and is magnificent. Beautiful views overlooking the sea from the front of the house. We didn't tour the inside, just spent our time leisurely enjoying the gardens and grounds. There is a tea room on the premises. There is a car park when you first enter the property, but you can actually drive all the way down to the house.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nursedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
254 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I've visited Ardgillan Castle grounds twice, once the garden and once the playground. The playground is a great spot for the kids! The garden is beautiful. Unfortunately the rosegarden didn't have a single rose and it was closed for some reason.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ardgillan Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was told about this castle the last time I went to Balbriggan but did not have time to go that day. I did go last Saturday, 24th May, it is a good walk from Balbriggan station - there are buses but they don't appear to be very frequent - I will say it was well worth the walk!

Michael, the tour guide, took me round the castle along with an American couple and their two children. He engaged with all of us during the tour and I for one certainly felt included, even though I was travelling on my own on this occasion. Michael was very knowledgable and informative and done his best to answer any questions we had. He also was very patient ensuring I got all the photographs I wanted. It costs €6.50 to do the tour but it was well worth the money.

I'd also recommend visiting the tea room, the food is absolutely delicious. I had a tuna, lettuce, cucumber, tomato and onion sandwich and also had the cheek to have one of the cupcakes after demolishing the sandwich.

The park is also very beautiful, unfortunately I did not get time to visit the rose garden but I absolutely intend to go back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardgillan Castle also viewed

Balbriggan, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Ardgillan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing