We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed October 2013”

The Washerwomans Hill Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Believed to have been built in the 1700’s it is one of the oldest buildings in the village of Glasnevin. The Restaurant was opened in July 1996 and gets its name from the old washhousel. The Restaurant has always prided itself on offering high quality products sourced locally and prepared by our chefs. The Washerwomans has established itself as a favourite for family occasions with personalised menus a private area that can seat up to 50 and special offer that include an excellent early bird for 5 t0 8 seven nights a week.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Closed October 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Such a pity this place is closed. It was the only decent restaurant around the glasnevin area. Just hope someone takes it over and produces food as good.

Helpful?
2 Thank meandu7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    7
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently visited this very homely welcoming place and not for the first time either. We both had three course meal and a bottle of wine for just over 80 euro at this point may I add our main course was steak on the stone it was to die for. We will be visiting again and again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wedding350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Came for my birthday. Food excellent except for desert, it really needs to be improved.

We go to the washerwoman every few months for dinner. The starters and mains are always excellent but the desert always fails to impress. The last night we were there we had steak on a stone and lamb shank which are to die for, but the pavlova was so hard it couldn't be eaten.We didnt pay for the pavlova which was fair enough
It's still our restaurant of choice in that area of the city

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meandu7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Great this time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had won 2 mains in a facebook competition so I took my 10 yr old son this time. While the food was ok, the delay was terrible. The Waitress did her best as she was on her own and there was only 2 in the kitchen so 3 staff in total for a busy night ? Cutting corners on staffing levels really does not work, I wont be back for a while

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankill, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was here recently for a birthday party and I can't fault the food or the service. There were 12 of us and we were very satisfied. The waitress was very pleasant. There were about 25 people in the restaurant in total so it was nice and intimate. For starter I had a chicken and bacon fritter. There were two of them on the plate. The taste was outstanding. For main I had the burger. It was very tasty. However I was looking enviously at the chicken dish that one of my friends had. My wife had the salmon and said it was delicious. For dessert I went for the ice cream soda with Coca Cola. It was nice enough. Again I looked enviously at my colleagues who went for an outstanding summer fruit pavlova. We were here for 3.5 hours and were not put under any pressure to vacate the place. I'll definitely come back and attempt some of the other more technical dishes on the menu. The atmosphere and service are enough alone to make me want to come back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurstYourBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Washerwomans Hill Restaurant also viewed

Glencullen, County Dublin
Monkstown, County Dublin
 
Ranelagh, County Dublin
Raheny, County Dublin
 
Dundrum, County Dublin
Ranelagh, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing