We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Sea Views”

Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 68 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: European, French, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Castle Murray prides itself on its dedication and passion to achieving a consistently high quality dining experience. Our Head Chef Remy Dupuy, who has worked in Castle Murray since 1995, is well renowned for using the best of locally sourced produce to create dishes that once enjoyed will have you planning your next trip back to Castle Murray. Our evening dinner menu showcases the passion and talent of Remy and his team while giving the customers a gastronomic experience that is often mimicked but seldom equalled. Great care and attention to detail is given to the design, creation and delivery of each dish on the menu, which reflects the dedication and desire for greatness which motivates Remy and his team. If you haven't already heard about our House Special dish 'Prawn and Monkfish', then it is a must have. A dish so good it should have its own Appreciation Society! The dining room is refined yet comfortable, with a warm and welcoming ambiance that surrounds you once you enter the room. The striking views of St. John's Point and its natural beauty can be enjoyed throughout the dining room. Our restaurant has the added bonus of having a beautiful open fire, which in the winter, when the fire is roaring creates a warm and homely atmosphere that is much sought after on dark winter nights. Through the direction of the General Manager Marguerite Howley and our Maitre d'Hotel Fabrice Costes, a commitment to a professional and personable service is guaranteed to you. Along with our evening dinner menu, we offer a mouth watering 5 course Sunday Lunch that is extremely popular with people far and near. And if that hasn't tempted you 'foodies' out there then we are pleased to tell you that during the summer months we have a gourmet bar lunch menu available and an absurdly delicious and decadent Afternoon Tea service that is sure to tantalise those taste buds.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sea Views”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Have dined in Castle Murray several times and never been disappointed. The quality of the food, especially seafood was always of the highest order. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. View from dining room quite stunning at sunset. Ideal setting for a romantic week-end. Definitely going to return to Castle Murray.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    22
    6
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality food with excellent service”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is one of the best seafood restaurants we have visited for some time.
Our party of four enjoyed an excellent meal there last Friday evening.
It is five star fine-dining with great attention to detail.
The menu keeps changing, so never boring, and executed with wonderful presentation.
Very comfortable surroundings and breath taking sea views.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Poor Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We were looking forward to a meal at Castlemurray House on Easter Sunday evening; I had dined there before and found the food and service excellent. However, on this occasion, the service was very poor; food was literally thrown on the table by a constant stream of different waiters/waitresses. None of them explained anything about the food and on being asked it appeared we were really inconveniencing them!
Dessert wine was ordered but did not come until after the dessert was eaten--no apology or reason was given.
The dinner menu included tea and coffee--however, we were charged extra for the tea and coffee because a green tea and a milky coffee was ordered--however, we were not told they would not be included. The issue is not the price of the tea/coffee but the arrogant and careless attitude of the serving staff.
The quality of the food was satisfactory--however, the poor service ruined the evening. When we mentioned about the service in a polite manner the young waitress just walked away.
The views were superb; however, in that area there are several other high quality restaurants which offer a superb dining experience.
I am really disappointed in our experience at Castle murray House--I have been dining there over a period of 20 years plus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eat and Stay. The Breakfast food and view.....”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have eaten and stayed here over the years. Sometimes as a couple occasionally with friends. None of us have been disappointed either by the food or the rooms. The rooms are all different, interesting, quaint, you might need to specify what sort of room you want.
If you enjoy fresh fish, it's always good and you can usually have some more for breakfast. You can watch the local fishermen bringing in the shellfish from the dining room. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesLondonderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food - great views”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were recommended to this hotel and the experience lived up to the recommendation. Our room was on the 2nd floor with an expansive view of the Bay. The staff were extremely helpful, including Kelly who suggested a local walk which we enjoyed immensely. The evening meal was of a very high standard with several tasty "amuse-bouches" . As I have to have a gluten-free diet, and even though I forgot to tell the restaurant in advance I was very well catered for. The staff in the bar and the restaurant were friendly and professional. It was a special birthday treat to stay in this hotel and it was memorable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
 

Been to Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing