We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The highlight of our vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

A lovely castle nestled in the woods. A beautiful lake just down the road. It was quiet & so comfortable. We remodeled our bathroom after seeing their bathroom. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolaGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    332
    153
    64
    37
See reviews for
366
1,356
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

What a gorgeous hotel. The decor was out of this world. We stayed for two nights and will definitely be back again. The restaurant and indoor swimming pool were definitely the highlights - luxury and relaxation at their best.
The only (small) fault I have with the hotel was that we stayed in a ground floor room and could hear other guests in the corridors on the Saturday night, so sleep quality was not the best, but everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisiscooling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Had a lovely 3 day stay at the castle with family - The rooms were fantastic every thing you could ask for. Breakfast was a delight from the service to the mouth watering food. We ate in the restaurant one of the nights it was a truly memorial experience. The inside and outside of the castle are just what you woud expect from a 5star Hotel and the Donegal hospitality is truly alive and kicking in this beautiful hotel. My only gripe is the price of the wine - I truly think it would be in the managements own interest to have some reasonable priced bottles of wine on there wine list. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay so wonderful - Hopefully we will be back

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank allysay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

You know when you stay at a hotel and there's always good and some bad - hopefully more good than bad. And you wish you could find a hotel that does it all right - here it is.

I grew up here, and was visiting, so decided to treat myself and the wife, in fact I played in these ruins as a young teenager.

They have not only done the original building proud but showcased the area.
The room, deluxe, was huge with an incredibly luxurious bathroom.
The spa facilities were top line, the service friendly and professional, not a hint of stuffiness.
The food exceptional, albeit one or two dishes could have been a smite larger. I understand the concept of nouveau cuisine, but it needs to reflect at little more substance, it's a good restaurant, but not that good.

All in all, it's a hotel where everything I look for in hotel was met, in one place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

I stayed here for one night in a deluxe room, the room was massive and the bed very comfortable, bathroom was amazing. Ate in the bar, good value and excellent service throughout. Had to queue 20 minutes to get a table at breakfast, not what expected for a 5 star hotel but the hostess was very apologetic. Breakfast was excellent, so much choice. Only suggestion I would make was maybe lighting a fire in the gorgeous fireplaces as it was a bit chilly at times. Not as big a hotel as expcected

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Had the pleasure of staying at Solis Lough Eske Castle in October, location was magical and the Castle beautiful. Our room was first class and beyond my expectations. Great food, apparently all locally sourced produce and very pleasant & engaging staff.
Lovely walks and beautiful artwork both inside and outside the Castle.
Looking forward to going back again for that great Donegal hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed for two nights on a business trip.

Our room was very comfortable and spacious, and squeaky clean, except for some dust and debris that had been overlooked on the bed frame. A door opened into a landscaped courtyard area, which was very convenient for the nearby pool. However, I was disappointed that this was the only way of getting fresh air into the room. If we wanted air while we were sleeping, we would have had to leave the door open, and we were not comfortable with this. There was a window in the adjacent bathroom, so we left it open, but this was not a great solution. The first night we were far too warm, and had trouble sleeping. The next night was cooler, and we had left the heating off all day, so we were more comfortable.

On one of the days I did not have to work, and spent a happy few hours in one of the drawing rooms in front of the fire. I asked the staff to light the fire for me, and they did, attending it frequently, as there was a problem with a smoky chimney.

The food was okay, service was fine. The whole place is a little characterless, with the same pictures repeated on different corridors, and with lots of bland reproduction furniture.

The spa was small, and a couple of things were not working, but it was clean. The pool is very nice.

We paid a discounted rate, through a voucher scheme, so it was not too expensive. Despite the negative points above, I would visit again, but I would not pay the full rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaneyPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is an historic castle dating to the 15th century and the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing