We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
$208
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
$131
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
$178
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,505)
Filter reviews
2,505 results
Traveler rating
1,845
369
175
70
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,845
369
175
70
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedars restaurantgallery barlough eskethermal suitestar hotelcourtyard roomunderfloor heatingsteam roombeautiful groundsmain buildingfive starfour poster bedpancakesbar foodomelettefirst classtreated like royalty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,386 - 2,391 of 2,505 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Myself and a number of friends stayed there for the Gala Ball on New Years Eve. The Ball was to begin at 7 pm that evening so we arrived at 5.30 pm to check in. The first imprssion of the hotel was disappointing as the gravel driveway is full of potholes, which is something that could be easily rectified. At the check in desk the lady on the reception had a very poor grasp of the english language. She told us that we had no reservation which I contracdicted straight away as the package had been pre-paid. Then after further investigation our reservations were found only to be shown to our rooms to find that they had not been cleared and that they were also outside away from the hotel. When we booked the rooms we assumed they would be part of the hotel and not seperate from it. This was not descibed on the website or were we made aware of it when we booked it.
Then there was a flurry of staff trying to clean the rooms quickly, this was something that did not sit well with a member of our party that suffers from ocd.
Eventually after arguing with the manager we managed to secure a room in the hotel, which happened to be the presidential suite. This was apprieciated however it did take an hour to sort out and now we were late for the ball.
We enjoyed the ball however when we ordered breakfast to the room the next morning there wasnt enough cutlery or crockery sent with it which ment ringing the reception a number of times. While the manager was polite, had given another suite and free bottles of wine that evening as he said himself he couldnt give us back the time we were delayed by problems with the hotel. I can cope with problems that occur but I cannot tolerate careless staff and a laissez faire attitude.

I had hoped that this event would be stress free and would be enjoyable but from beginning to end he was blighted by problems that shouldnt occur in a 5 star hotel. I convinced my friends to travel for 2 hours and spend their money to stay ina place where the staff are careless and need to up their game. I wouldnt stay here again and will be taking business elsewhere and suggest others do likewise.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dhkdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

My girlfriend and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Solis Lough Eske Castle. We booked the hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and I have to agree with many of the comments made. The hotel and grounds are superb but the food in the main restaurant and a few other minor issues took the shine off what would have been a great weekend. On arrival there was no concierge to greet us or take our luggage. On checking in, the receptionist failed to explain the facitity's or direct us to the bar, restaurant etc. Our room was very cold and when we asked for the heating to be turned on we were told it was on a timer. We were in room 107 which is just behind the reception area and we found this room to be very noisey. We could hear doors being slammed all afternoon and again the following morning, hardly the receipe for a relaxing weekend. On visiting the bar area we found that only one of the three log fires were alight, and obviously this area was full up. The last of our gripes was the food in the main restaurant. We found this to be below average for a five star hotel and we were later told by locals that the adjacent hotel, Harvey's Point, serve much better food. At the risk of sounding snoby we also felt there should be a dress code in the restaurant as many of the men were dressed in jeans and t-shirts.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrSeanMissEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stay here for two nights on Christmas 2008 and enjoyed every minute! The hotel is a wonderful mixture of old (sorry, you Irish) British manor house and modern luxury hotel. The indoor pool alone was worth the stay. You have a choice of old-style parlors and living rooms with open fireplaces, a decent bar and an excellent restaurant.
Our daughter worked at the neighboring hotel ("Harvey's Point") and her colleagues told her the Castle had serious problems over the past years especially in the restaurant, where a succession of chefs came and went and the quality of the service was said to be abysmal. However, we were served by extremely competent and well-trained staff and the food was excellent, so they seem to have gotten over these problems. Al around I would say this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in for a long time - and we are constantly on the road.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TC1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

We stayed for a 2 night mid week break which included one dinner. What an impressive setting for an hotel -on the shores of the lough with snow on the surrounding mountains.The grounds are beautiful we especially liked the fountain outside the main door -it depicts a group of leaping salmon.The interior is sumptious and looked particularly well with the understated but elegant Christmas decorations. The are so many self contained lounges with blazing fires and beautiful furniture. We were up graded to a junior suite on the ground floor.It was a lovely spacious room with tea/filter coffee making facilities and all that you would expect from a five star hotel except-there was a very poor range of TV channels available(no RTE1 and the other local stations were not watchable BBC and ITV were fine except when the stations moved from the main network we watched the London station and not the local BBC Northern Ireland or UTV. The only other station in english was CNN) A second problem was that the room temperature was centrally c ontrolled.We asked reception on both nights to put on the heat around 6-00 as we were feeling cold.On the second night the heat was left on all night and we were roasted !
The food in the restaurant was good -the d inner particularly so but although the hotel was able to provide half bottles of wine for the mini bar in the room there were no half bottles available in the restaurant. Breakfast was fine-we like a range of fresh fruits in the morming but the range provided was limited.
We did not use the spa but had 2 swims in the pool which was excellent.
A big plus was the friendly staff. Helen in the reception was a mine of information about local walks-we are sorry we did not get to talk to her properly until our final day.Reception/restaurant/spa /portering and cleaning staff were all very friendly.
Overall a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location with excellent staff-just a few issues for us.We hope that the hotel will be a success.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MorganP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

I have just returned from a wedding at the Solis Lough Eske Castle and felt compelled to write a review for this wonderful hotel. I really enjoyed my stay there. The staff were outstanding and couldn't do enough to help. The food was top class. Even though we had to wait for a table for breakfast on Sunday morning, we were well looked after with teas/coffees pastries and papers. What more could a tired girl ask for! The rooms were AMAZING. All the feel of a 5 star hotel. I look forward to going back to this hotel again for a weekend away.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank GalwayGirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews