We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It merits 6 stars not 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“It merits 6 stars not 5”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Spent three nights in a garden view suite, which was exceptional, 1000 sq ft with absolutely everything you could wish for, including some great extras such as underfloor heating in the bathroom, and a gas fire in the lounge area. Everything was immaculately clean, the staff, from the cleaners, through waiting, concierges to receptionists were the most professional, courteous, and attentive ive ever come across in a hotel. Whoever does their training deserves a pat on the back for a job extremely well done. Food here is amazing, breakfast buffet is one of the best Ive seen, fresh fruit to full Irish, with everything in between, and the evening meals are sublime. I totally understand why Lough Eske is rated one of the best hotels in Ireland, it deserves every accolade that comes its way!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Donegal and to Solís Lough Eske Castle for your recent visit.

Thank you sincerely for your wonderful comments and for taking time to share your experience. We are thrilled with your very positive feedback and delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything from your Garden Suite to the food to the level of personal service you received.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lough Eske sometime very soon.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,703
    340
    159
    66
    39
See reviews for
384
1,394
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maghera, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A beautifully small and quaint castle that hosts this glorious hotel. The hotel is surrounded by the attractive lake, 10 minute’s drive from Donegal town and in an area of outstanding natural beauty that’s suites a fly drive holiday.

Check in was very quick and whilst our porter took our bags to the room he explained everything to us. This was something different and I liked it from the usual reception staff welcome.

Welcome treats where laid upon us in the huge room. The room size was enormous (Junior suite) with a stunning bathroom. I really enjoy the separate wash facilities, shower, and the lavender toiletries. There were a few things in the bathroom which I prized for example the soap holder...not your typical glass/plastic holder…but I will leave this for you to discover.

The room was opened planned with a bed room (1st TV), wardrobe space, separate living room (2nd TV) and the bathroom. Everything was very clean. Mini bar was very basic. Night time turn down service was at request only.

We used the spa area and had treatments. The private spa suite where we had our treatment together was very comfortable and just the right temperature. The spa treatment itself was one of the best I have ever had; and I have had a great many! I was left speechless at how well it was carried out…the girls where fantastic! It’s a must! Unfortunately, some of the jets and showers where not working around the swimming pool/sauna area and the overall area lacked care and attention and needs some TLC…it’s unfortunate as it does have allot of potential.

Drinks where had in the bar and lounge area which just oozes atmosphere from the castle itself! A great way to unwind and read the paper. Breakfast was scrumdiddlyumptious! A real feast was served and the staff where again incredible! The service at dinner was a tad slow but very friendly and professional…it really adds to the experience having wonderful staff and nothing bad could be said about them. Full of smiles, craic and chat!

Overall a wonderful and relaxed stay but the just need to look after the spa facilities.

Room Tip: Book yourself in a huge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, our facilities and with the level of personal service you recieved - we pride ourselves on our unique Donegal banter and charm!

It's wonderful to read your many kind comments regarding your Juniior Suite, the food (especially the "scrumdiddlyumptious breakfast"), your spa treatment and our staff and we are genuinely grateful for the encouraging feedback which I have shared with our team. Please be assured that I have taken your comments regarding the spa area seriously and I will ensure this is improved upon for future guests to enjoy.

I sincerely hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lough Eske on that occasion!

Best regards,
Mark Knox
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The castel is very impressive and the service very good. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Great beads but bad TV, which is ok cuz that is not why I was here. The Cedars Resturant was a bit pricey for dinner. Breakfast was included and very tasty. Service was friendly even though they hey got hit with everyone waking up at once. The bartender in the he Gally gave some great advise for a day trip up north along the coast. Made for a beautiful drive. Although be ready for roads that are one car wide with trucks coming the other way.....

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Newbs15kens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solís Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and service and that you had such an enjoyable stay. I have taken note of the issues you encountered with your TV, the cost of dinner and with service at breakfast and will discuss with senior management in order to help improve our standards in future.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated and I do hope that you will return for another stay during your next visit to Donegal.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lurgan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My Family and I have been to Lough Eske quite a few times our daughter also had her wedding reception there a few years ago and on each return it never disappoints.
Our last stay was to celebtate Ciara & Richards wedding anniversary and this time they had there
baby daughter with them .A lovely fuss was made which made us all smile. We had ajoining rooms which were lovely - as always
There are so many things about Lough Eske that make me smile but it's the staff that really make our stay so enjoyable - from the receptionsts / bar staff / restaurant staff and the lovely
chef that greets us at breakfast it all makes it worth going back again & again which we hope to
continue to do - So thanks to you all until our nesx visit.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyLurgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you all back to Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa for another visit and thank you sincerely for taking time to share your experience.

I am delighted to hear that you felt so welcomed (including the new addition to the family :-) and that you enjoyed your visit so much!

Your many kind comments regarding the castle, your room, the food and especially regarding our staff are genuinely appreciated and I do hope that you will keep coming back to see us in future.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to the castle sometime very soon!

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just got back from a wonderful stay in Ireland which included Lough Eske Castle. Unfortunately the lake is not visible from the hotel, but that is the only neghative. The facilities (especially the bar and the spa) are wonderful and it is just a short hike to the lake and a short drive into Donegal Town. The room was perfect and charming.

When you are there, ask Jimmy in the bar (who will pour you the perfect Gunness with an impression of a clover on top of the foamy head) to show you the pictures of the castle before it was rehabbed. Incredible to think it has gone from such a state of disrepair to what it is now.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadejole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Ireland.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities so much. I have passed your special compliments to Jimmy and it's great to hear that you were so well looked after!

I do hope you will return to stay with us again during your next visit to Ireland.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We called here for a bar snack on our anniversary on a drizzly Saturday afternoon.The hotel sits in beautiful grounds & the facade is impressive.I had tried to book an overnight stay but hotel was full & a wedding taking place.
The bar area is very relaxing with muted tones enhanced by the many candles.Food was a little limited but of a high standard.My chowder was very tasty & was accompanied by a basket of wheaten bread.
Hubby selected the club sandwich,served with French fries & he thoroughly enjoyed his.Staff were friendly & service good.We were offered more coffee & when I chose to partake the waitress left & started to fill a new cup.
Alarm bells started to ring & I should have realised that the offer of more coffee was not complimentary.This is a particular irk with me.Coffee outside is expensive & when I opt for coffee with my meal I expect the to come together .By the time my food came my very small cup of coffee was empty & had actually been cold.Is it too much to expect that the beverage should automatically be topped up.I understand this is a five star resort but this spoiled an otherwise delightful day.If only establishments would not offer top-ups & then charge twice-this may make us rethink a return visit to stay?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilliandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to visit us recently at Solis Lough Eske Castle for your anniversary lunch and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback.

I'm disappointed to hear about the issue you experienced at the Gallery Bar regarding your coffee top-up and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced. As you were offered a top-up by our server you should not have been charged twice - please be assured that this does not reflect our usual high standards and I will be following this up with our F&B manager in order to prevent such issues from occurring again in future.

I do hope that you will return to see us again and give us a second chance to make things up to you in the not too distant future. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim, N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had recently a very relaxing one night stay in one of the de luxe bedrooms including breakfast and dinner in Cedars restaurant.The bedrooms was large with a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom off it.The staff were very pleasant and welcoming .Dinner was well presented and very tasty with excellent service. Breakfast was good but not a big selection.Bar was very quiet at night although hotel appeared to be very busy.Lovely for a quiet getaway .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seabird31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and I'm delighted to hear that you had such a relaxing stay!

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated and thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience. I have noted your comments regarding the selection at breakfast and will pass to our F&B manager for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,099 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing