We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless as always...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights with my wife. Everything was perfect, as expected. Dined in restaurant 2 nights and room service 1 night. Room service food choice limited but still good quality. Breakfast outstanding. The staff at this hotel are by far the best thing. Every single one if them are pleasant, professional and extremely helpful. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fosfo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Solis Lough Eske Castle and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback.

I'm delighted to hear that your experience was 'faultless' and that you were so impressed with the hotel and with the level of friendly and professional service you received from the team.

It's great to hear that you cannot wait to return for another stay and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,329 - 1,335 of 2,403 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had bought a deal at Christmas and have just returned home after a nights stay at the Castle. We where very impressed with the look of the hotel from the grounds and the surrounding area. It is set in woodland on the edge of a lough quite remote but very relaxing. We arrived and got checked in and went up to our room we where very impressed on opening the door as it was very spacious a very large king size bed,sofa,desk area dressing area and a large bathroom with double sink area and walk in shower but no bath. We settled in and went exploring around the hotel in which we found any member of staff where very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. We went to view the spa but found that it was separate to the main hotel which wasn't really ideal but was very nice with pool area, saunas,steam rooms and jacuzzi. We then went back to our room and got ready to use the spa facilities which was very nice indeed. On returning to our room to get showered and ready we found that the bathroom was really kitted out for disable use and not really for able body customers. The shower floor tilted out wards which made the water flow all over the bathroom floor which made the use of the wash hand basins nil and void as you would have needed Wellington boots to stand at them. Had I of been in a wheel chair this would not of been a problem but it's no use for a able bodied person. The water spread as far as the toilet which again was adjusted for a disabled person and was very high and as I am not a tall person my feet did not reach the floor when using it. We got dressed for dinner and closed the bathroom door thinking that the under floor heating would dry it up but it didn't it still was flooded the next morning when we where leaving this was very disappointing and we did tell reception on leaving and they did apologise. The meal we had in the restaurant was really good and the staff and attention we where given was excellent. We could not fault it. Breakfast was buffet style again which was brilliant and the attention again was great. Check out was at 12 mid day which was great as you had time to relax after the great breakfast. I think the hotel is 5* but I would rate it as 4* as in places the attention to detail could have been better. We would return but only on a deal and we would not want to pay full price for it.

Room Tip: Not 311 as this is not suited for able bodied travellers especially the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 209959Heather66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle for your recent stay and thank you sincerely for your detailed review.

I'm delighted to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable experience and that you would like to return for another visit in future - your many kind compliments are greatly appreciated.

However, I am sorry to hear that you encountered some issues, including those with your bathroom - please accept my apologies and be assured that I will discuss this problem with our General Manager in order to help improve our services going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for your second stay sometime in the very near future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate my wife's birthday. Everything was perfect - from the special birthday welcome at reception to the little chocolate birthday cake in our fabulous room - those little touches tell you that you are in 5* Heaven.

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManusDNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you both to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently to celebrate the occasion of your wife's birthday and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and service and that you had such an enjoyable stay - to describe your stay as 'five star heaven' is a wonderful compliment for the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Arrived at this hotel without any prior knowledge about it. We'd bought it on a 'deal'. What a thoroughly wonderful hotel! From a pleasant welcome at reception to a fabulous bedroom which I would suggest was much bigger than most standard double rooms! Beautifully furnished.
We had a great meal in the restaurant and breakfast was also very enjoyable.
It is a short taxi ride into Donegal town if you wish to leave the hotel.
I would return again and again to this beautiful hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solís Lough Eske Castle recently and for taking time to share your experience. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Donegal and to Lough Eske and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated and I have passed them on to the entire team.

Many thanks also for your kind recommendation - I'm thrilled to hear that you intend to return to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in a junior suite in February and had a really enjoyable break. The hotel drive, facade and grounds are beautiful. Check in was friendly and speedy and we were offered hot chocolate whilst awaiting assistance with our luggage which was a nice touch. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and despite there being a wedding on one night we didn't hear a thing. The room was too warm on the first night and as there are no numbers displayed on thermostat we were not sure how far to turn it down. On the second night we just turned the radiator off and it was still more than cosy. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and spotless. There was a good selection of quality foods for breakfast. Dinner in Cedars was very nice if perhaps a little expensive. The lady who showed us to our seats was unbelievably pleasant despite her being very very busy every time we visited (which seemed to be round the clock!), our sever Claudia was also very informative and pleasant. There a number of side rooms with open fires where you can hide away and relax with a book for a few hours. I was surprised that it was still possible to do this when the hotel was fully booked. Similarly the spa & pool area has been well designed and fitted and again it was not very busy despite the hotel being fully booked. We really enjoyed the Gallery Bar, the live music on Friday and Saturdays nights was great as were the cocktails. The bar staff are excellent. Particular mention should go to Nigel and (unfortunately I forgot to ask her name) to the girl with dark hair who I believe is leaving for New York. She has a lovely unassuming way and made great cocktails. In short we had a great time we just wished it had lasted longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Suite which was excellent but I think all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thompsonsbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Donegal and to Solis Lough Eske Castle for some recent 'peace and relaxation'!

Thank you sincerely for your wonderful comments and for taking time to share your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team is delighted with your very positive feedback.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit, which we hope will be for much longer!

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for Valentines weekend. Felt very special from the moment we booked in. The Staff so friendly and the room was amazing. The food was very good but my only criticism is that the dining room had no atmosphere and was not in keeping with the rest of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle for Valentine's weekend and I'm delighted to hear that you had such a memorable stay!

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated and thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience. I'm disappointed to hear you felt that the restaurant lacked atmosphere and I have passed your comments to management for consideration and in order to help improve our guests' experience in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just back from a weekend stay in a Deluxe room. On arrival staff very pleasant, helped us to our room. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Free Wifi also. We had daily breakfast included which was lovely the only downside as I said in my last review for this hotel was that there were no vegetarian sausages for breakfast (this is the only fault I can find with the hotel!) The hotel was full and when we went down to breakfast there was a queue each morning, but we were seated within a few minutes, no problems. We had an amazing meal at Cedars restaurant, even making me a vegetarian main course not on the menu! and every course was delicious, I especially enjoyed the blood orange sorbet! The Cedars restaurant is expensive, but its worth every penny, I would highly recommend it. On one night we ordered room service and they sent me a panini with meat in it by mistake as we had an old menu in our room, they apologised and sent a fresh panini to our room in a short space of time accompanied by 2 glasses of wine and chocolates to apologise, which was a lovely surprise! The staff in the hotel restaurant/bar areas are extremely friendly and well mannered, with a very high standard of service. The cocktails are also very nice! This is by far my favourite hotel in the world! and I cannot wait for my next trip here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayFreakxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to stay with us again at Solis Lough Eske Castle recently - it was our pleasure to welcome you back and I'm delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience.

Thank you sincerely for taking time to compile your review and for your many kind comments, all of which I have shared with the team.

I have asked chef to consider sourcing a vegetarian sausage for breakfast - hopefully we will have some available for you on your next visit!

I'm thrilled to hear that Lough Eske Castle is your 'favourite hotel in the world' and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,245 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
940 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
614 reviews
23.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $211 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing