We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Hotel(Glenties)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,502)
Filter reviews
2,502 results
Traveler rating
1,844
368
175
70
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,844
368
175
70
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedars restaurantgallery barlough eskethermal suitestar hotelcourtyard roomunderfloor heatingsteam roombeautiful groundsmain buildingfive starfour poster bedpancakesbar foodomelettefirst classtreated like royalty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,447 - 1,452 of 2,502 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and it was wonderful. Warm and snug despite the rotten weather. The food was very good, especially the Lunch on Christmas Day, which was served with a smile. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice, and really nicely cooked eggs by the Chief each morning, again with a smile!! The Spa was also very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good, our was lovely, one of the Delux Rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhona96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa. We were delighted to welcome you to Donegal for Christmas and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much!

Your kind comments regarding the food, our staff and the friendly service you received are genuinely appreciated by all of us and we do hope that you will return for another visit sometime soon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the castle.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We ate at the Castle restaurant last year - and left a review that reflected poor service and mediocre food. We revisited today - but as before we ate in the bar where the service was once again very good, the ambience great, the food quality matching the best and good value for money. After an initial mix-up over our booked table, the staff and manager went out of their way to make our celebratory meal wholly enjoyable - and one we would recommend to anyone.

Well presented food, with great texture and flavour, in a memorable atmosphere. If you're after a good meal in a great location, try the Solis Castle bar.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 27kwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to welcome you back to Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you sincerely for taking time to share your experience.

I'm thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable meal in the Gallery Bar and your kind comments and recommendation are genuinely appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle again sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

What elevates this hotel and spa from great to wonderful is the staff. Every single person you will meet has only your comfort and pleasure at heart. They have the charm and warmth of the lovely Irish people - even those who are not Irish!
As soon as you arrive you know you are somewhere special. The castle has a romantic and imposing facade. The welcome is warm and efficient. Our room was incredibly comfortably especially once we figured out how to turn the heating down.
We had both the formal and bar dining experience. Both were excellent and high quality. Once more, great service. Breakfast is served up until 11 am. This means you can take advantage of the pool and spa before having a lovely brunch. One tip, the spa showers are not as hot as you'd like - have your shower in your room.
There are open fires and comfy sofas to relax in and the spa offers a good choice of treatments.
You have a sense that producing this experience is effortless, but of course something this good can't possibly be.

Room Tip: If you are going in winter a room in the castle means you don't have go outside to get to breakfast
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Donegal and to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much! Your many kind comments regarding the castle, the food and especially our staff are genuinely appreciated and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the castle sometime very soon.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This wonderful hotel is located a short drive from Donegal town, a dreamy spot. The food and service was wonderful. The rooms are beautifully appointed with wonderful baths/showers. Truly luxurious. The public areas are stunning and cozy at the same time. We would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PACObrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Donegal, Ireland. It was a pleasure to welcome you both and we are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us so much!

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and I do hope you will return to stay with us again, if and when you return to Ireland.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for 1x night as a birthday treat. Front facial of hotel is beautiful, and inside reception and surrounding area is also quite a sight to behold. We stayed in a courtyard room as we're travelling with a dog, found the room to be spacious, clean and luxurious. We had lunch in the bar which was delicious and not as overpriced as I had anticipated. Breakfast was also excellent, we were down for around 0930 am and it was comfortable enough. All the staff I encountered were first class and made you feel really welcome. Only reason I haven't given 5***** is because the water was only luke warm on the morning of our departure for a shower, and the jacuzzi wasn't very hot either. However all in all would come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weemaggiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and service and that you had such an enjoyable stay. Sincerest apologies regarding the water temperature in your shower and the jacuzzi - our maintenance engineer will follow this up to ensure this does not occur again.

Your many kind comments are genuinely appreciated and I do hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews