We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have stayed in for a long time-”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
monaghan,ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have stayed in for a long time-”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Super hotel in quite Donegal- the Americans would love this place- excellent food and great spacious bedrooms- very busy for Thursday night- great spa area- staff very friendly- lovely grounds and quite-can't praise this hotel enough- super breakfasts- very busy for Thursday night- go for it as soon as you can

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you sincerely for your wonderful review and high recommendation.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the castle and we genuinely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and your much valued opinion on the quality of all that we have to offer.

To say that you 'can't praise the hotel enough' and that Lough Eske Castle is 'the best hotel you have stayed in for a long time' is a wonderful endorsement of what we aim to achieve for each and every one of our guests.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime very soon.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    340
    159
    66
    39
See reviews for
383
1,393
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a return visit and the hotel outdid the first time. From the moment you arrive (be careful as you drive through the gates - the driveway is now paved but the speed bumps ("ramps") will jolt the car unless you are prepared and the warning signs are posted very near the bumps) - the hotel staff is there to make your visit a memorable experience. Our bags were taken to our room and the "porter" (he is much more than that) provided helpful tips that made our stay wonderful. The Gallery Bar is a great place to have a drink or lunch or a light dinner (there are a number or rooms to the Gallery Bar and it tends to fill up quickly). The gardens are wonderful and a walk around the premises and into the countryside is recommended. The lounge on the left as you enter the hotel has a wonderful fireplace and comfortable seating for a quiet relaxing evening experience. The breakfast is extensive in scope from traditional "continental" offerings to made to order omelets. The dinner fare is good but the service was a bit slow, even considering that the staff wants to let you enjoy the leisure time. The hotel is a popular side for parties (wedding type) so things can get crowded and noisy - but it does add a nice air to the facility. While the hotel is in the middle of the woods, there are many things to do in the area - Glenveagh National Park, Slieve League and some a wonderful woolen store in Ardara (Triona Designs).

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtyard room - second floor - and it was very comfortable - windows are at floor le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandriaGrandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back for your second visit to Donegal and to Lough Eske Castle - I'm delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that you felt it was even better than your first visit!

Your many kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team who are thrilled with your very positive feedback - it's great to hear that you enjoyed our location, facilities and service standards so much.

I sincerely hope that you will return to Lough Eske for another stay during your next vacation to Ireland and we look forward to meeting you again.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I wish that we had booked more than one night at Lough Eske Castle. The dinner was excellent. My husband went fishing in the lake early in the morning (did not caught anything) It was a joy being there. We did not have time for the spa, I am sure that I missed something by not going to it. We will stay there 2-3 days the next time we are in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for your kind review and for taking time to share your experience at Solis Lough Eske Castle.

It was our pleasure to welcome you for your recent stay and it's great to hear that you had such a wonderful time. Your compliments are much appreciated and I have passed them to the entire team.

I'm delighted to hear that your husband enjoyed fishing on Lough Eske! It's a pity he didn't catch something, but perhaps next time! With that in mind, we look forward to welcoming you both back for another visit during your next trip to Ireland - I do hope you can stay with us longer and that you get to experience Spa Solis and more of what Donegal and the surrounding region has to offer!

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Enjoyed an overnight stay here recently. Staff are very friendly, engaging & knowledgable about the history & surrounding areas of the castle. We ate from the bar food menu which was very nice. The breakfast menu had enough variety also very good. The hotel has the usual facilities (pool, spa etc,) but we didn't avail of them all. If you like the fresh air i would recommend taking a bike ride around the lake (bikes provided free of charge for guests). Our room was very spacious & well equipped & if there was something we needed a member of staff was always on hand to help. overall a very pleasant stay although not long enough we'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Switch off when you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your very complimentary and informative review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle.

Your kind comments and recommendation are sincerely appreciated by the entire team and your positive feedback is genuinely appreciated.

I'm delighted to hear that you intend to return for a longer visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle sometime very soon.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Louth
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was not our first visit to Lough Eske but it was our first experience of staying overnight. We were very impressed firstly with how friendly the staff are. We were shown to our room by a porter who showed us the layout of our room. They were experiencing problems with their TV but in fairness we didn't go to Lough Eske to watch TV! The porter explained we could open the windows for fresh air. We ate in the bar later and the food was very good, my partner thought the prawns were the best he has had.

The hotel has a lovely atmosphere with lots of areas to relax and chill out. We didn't use the pool but it looks lovely and we will be back next year. Parking is not a problem with an overflow carpark out the back and no charge for parking. Still and sparkling water supplied in the minibar with soft drinks. Coffee pot to make your own coffee. Our breakfast was very good. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiFi64CoLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently for your first overnight stay and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and service and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Apologies for the issue with the TV as we had been experiencing a problem with the system which has since been fully rectified.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated and I'm delighted to hear that you are looking forward to returning for another visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The most gracious and helpful staff, lovely peaceful sitting rooms, delicious food (especially breakfast), and a very elegant bar. The spa is perhaps a little tired but still very relaxing. What's missing ...? Not much, stables.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestandRelaxation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and I'm delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay!

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated and thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience.

You mention the lack of stables but we can organise horse-riding on and off site for you by request - please just enquire at the front desk.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lough Eske Castle is probably one of the nicest places we have stayed. The staff is welcoming, the food is delicious, service is wonderful and the surroundings are really beautiful. Michael, Nigel. Leona, and Magda all helped to make our stay a fun and enjoyable one. The bedrooms and baths are spacious and lovely. We were here two nights and would have liked to have stayed longer. Would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfersIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle for your recent two night stay.

I'm delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and I'm genuinely grateful for your very complimentary review! I have passed your kind comments on to the entire team who, as always, are delighted with your very positive feedback - especially Michael, Nigel, Leona and Magda to whom you give a special mention.

It's lovely to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel and with the level of personal service you received.

I do hope that you will return for a longer stay in the not too distant future and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Donegal and to Lough Eske Castle on that occasion.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,092 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
852 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
408 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing