We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa treatment & afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a lovely spa day here recently with a friend. When receiving a spa treatment the rest of the thermal suite facilite are available to you so we made the most of our day relaxing and chatting, finishing up with our afternoon tea.
The lady who carried out my treatment was so pleasant and very professional.
The only down points are the walk from the castle to the spa (although umbrellas are provided in case it is raining) and also the Lidl products in the changing room! Not quite what you'd expect for a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flo042070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Spa Solís for your recent Spa day and for taking time to share your experience.

It's great to hear that you had such a relaxing time and that you enjoyed your treatment, followed by your afternoon tea.

I have passed your much appreciated compliments to the team and I sincerely hope that you will return for another visit sometime very soon.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,374)
There are newer reviews for Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,432 - 1,438 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife booked an overnight stay for the two of us whilst we were travelling in Donegal. The location and grounds of the hotel are spectatular. The rooms really are of a very high standard and the bathrooms are amazing. As part of the room rate we had use of the Spa facilities (pool, Suana, Steam Room) They were very good and incredibly relaxing.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and whilst it was a little pricey (Watch out for the wine list) the food was of a very high standard. I am already planning my next visit on my return to Donegal as it is a superb luxurious hotel, with great facilities and customer service which is second to none.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbojim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Donegal and thank you sincerely for your wonderful review.

I'm delighted that you were so impressed with the castle, the grounds, your room, Spa Solis, the food and, of course, the high level of personal service you received - I have passed your kind comments on to the entire team.

I am thrilled to hear that you are already planning a return visit to Lough Eske and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon!

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although costly in the bar it was nice to relax and watch the ppl around you. The room was 234 and you'd need a sat nav lol but never let this put me off going back and back am going x Darren our porter was excellent as all the staff are. It's clean fresh and just wonderful I felt like Queen for the day. If there where 6 stars you'd have everyone. Loved it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and for taking time to share your experience.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the castle and I'm delighted that you had such a great stay - your many kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team - especially by Darren who you give a special mention to!

It's wonderful to hear that you were so well looked after, that you 'felt like a Queen for the day' and that you 'loved every minute of it'.

Your high (six star!) recommendation is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lough Eske sometime very soon.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

After traveling 28 hours to reach the hotel, I was rewarded with having to make 3 trips to the car to carry my own luggage. When I complained about the lack of service I was told that they only had one porter on duty, and he must have been busy. For a 96 bedroom hotel not to have Someone on duty to greet their guest and offer to assist with their luggage is, simply unacceptable. You know what they say first impressions.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Solis lough Eske Castle recently.

I'm sorry to hear that our porter was not available to meet you on arrival and to assist you with your luggage. This is totally unacceptable and does not reflect our usual high standards of customer service - please accept my sincere apologies and be assured that I will follow up with senior management to ensure that this does not happen again in future.

Your feedback is much appreciated as it assists us with our quality improvement programme and helps us to perfect our customer service.

I trust that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and I hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This has to be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in.the reception is friendly, warm and sincere. All staff go out of their way to ensure you have a lovely time.. we had a room with a huge 4 poster bed. A bathroom with his and her sinks, bath and a beautiful walk in shower. A walk in wardrobe that had an iron and ironing board. Tea and coffee facilities. Very comfy sofa, just so beautiful. There are several drawing rooms with big comfy sofas and huge lit fires, lovely for sitting having a coffee and reading the papers. Breakfast beautiful. Cannot fault this hotel. Will be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eibhlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to post your wonderful review.

It's great to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel and with the level of service you received - your many kind comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team.

I'm delighted to hear that you intend to return for another visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Was here for a conference and what a great setting for a conference, tranquil with great space and grounds. Rooms are beautiful, spacious with a lovely huge bed and I had a great sleep. Wasn't feeling 100%, loosing my voice and the food and beverages team, from breakfast service, during coffee break and at lunch service were exceptional, so many of the team went out of their way to get me hot water with lemon and honey to help the voice. The team may think this was no bother but was a huge gesture and helped my voice, brilliant service and from genuine people, what a team of stars you have. Hope to be back as a leisure guest the next time and will enjoy your lovely pool and spa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgeen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was great to meet you during your recent visit to Lough Eske Castle as a conference delegate.

I am delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the castle as a conference venue and that you were so well looked after by the team. I do hope your voice has returned to normal!

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back as a leisure guest when you will have more time to relax and enjoy our wonderful spa, pool and leisure facilities.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Such a beautiful sight while driving in to the grounds,the food was excellent and staff were very polite and would not pass you without a smiling how are you,if you want an escape from hustle and bustle and get spoiled you could not go wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farloT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and for your wonderful review and recommendation!

I'm delighted to hear that you had such a great experience and that you were so impressed with the castle, the food and the friendliness of our staff.

I sincerely hope that you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,202 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
23.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $212 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing