We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My sister got married in this wonderful goregus enchanting beautiful hotel , I can't say enough good things about this hotel from moment we arrived everything was went so well. A warm greeting on arrival made all of us feel really special and the girls on reception couldn't be more friendly . We had family up from dublin who Wer just blown away . The service was 5 star defo . Food was to die for top class . Family had dinner next day in solis supervised by Peter . Well done Peter by the way . Over all a fantastic hotel to host a wedding . 11/10 . Thanks to mark as well who supervised my sisters wedding meal and service .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us to welcome you, your family and friends to Solis Lough Eske Castle for the very special occasion of your sister's wedding!

Thank you so much for your very positive review and for your high recommendation - each of your kind comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team.

It's wonderful for each and every one of us to get such great feedback regarding the service we provide and in relation to the castle as a fairytale wedding venue.

I have passed your thanks on to Peter and Mark and we all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Lough Eske sometime very soon.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,560 - 1,566 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for one night as an anniversary treat and what a treat it proved to be. Driving down the narrow, heavily wooded road we turned into the gateway that would take us to the castle past a petite gate-lodge that would look at home in a storybook. We had to stop and take in its magnificent setting overlooking the lake. Further on in the undergrowth of the old ruins a sculptural fire breathing dragon again drew us to a halt. This was to be the first of many lovely sculptures dotted around the castle. Several more were revealed as we took leisurely strolls in the beautiful grounds. Our room was located in the courtyard. These were the old stables which have been very tastefully renovated. The contemporary interior, the huge expansive bedroom and twin sinks in the marble en- suite all shout no expense spared. I noted that even the hairdryer was an expensive ionic one. The bed linen was so rich and the bed extremely comfortable. We enjoyed a swim in the spa which was a short saunter from our front door via the beautifully manicured box garden with its roses. We had drinks in the bar later and commented on the friendliness of the staff. No stuffiness here, polite service and plenty of time for a chat. There was a wedding taking place that night but there was little evidence of it during the evening. Next morning at breakfast the waitresses welcomed the guests and attended to our every needs. A wonderful full Irish breakfast set us up for the journey home. We had been blessed with fantastic weather and would certainly return again. This hotel is ideally situated to use as a base for many of Donegal's tourist spots. We took in Derek Hill's home, shopped in Letterkenny and Donegal town. Next time it will be within easy reach to visit Glenveagh Park. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Try the courtyard rooms for contemporary/ traditional atmosphere and spacious living. Ideal access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOOsie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and for your wonderful review and high recommendation.

It's great to hear that you were so impressed with the castle, the grounds, our facilities and with the high level of friendly and professional service that you experienced. Your detailed description of the castle and all that we offer is wonderful and I'm delighted that you had great weather which makes all the difference when enjoying Donegal's great outdoors and visitor attractions.

I sincerely hope that you will come back to stay with us again in the not too distant future and we all look forward to welcoming you back again on that occasion.

Kind regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Once we got there through the countryside it was astounding! We loved the oversized room with great shower and comfy bed. The entire castle was redone a few years ago and now has several rooms that are just for reading and the pleasure of guests. We ate in the little bar downstairs twice and had good meals. We also joked around with other guests who wanted to watch soccer instead of golf and we able to come to a compromise. It was a fantastic experience and we hated to leave. By the way, the trip to Donegal Castle was also worthwhile and interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saluki66686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for your lovely review of your recent stay with us at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you had a great experience both at the castle and during your time in Donegal. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Donegal Castle - the ancient seat of the O'Donnell chieftains who were previously based at Lough Eske.

Your kind compliments regarding your room, the food and the castle in general are very much appreciated and I hope that if and when you return to Ireland that you will come back to stay with us again at Lough Eske Castle.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent the night at Lough Eske castle this week to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary and what an experience!! From the moment we arrived, we received a warm welcome and excellent service from ALL staff. I had noted some previous reviewers felt the service was poor but that was definitely not our experience.

We stayed in the vice presidential suite in the main building with a four poster bed and views of the garden but best of all was the slipper bath!! Dinner was excellent. I had salmon and sweet potato mash which I can highly recommend and my husband had beef fillet,also excellent.The waiter was delayed in bringing our coffee(which we didn't even notice)and apologised by providing us with a free drink afterwards!

Although the selection at breakfast was less than some other 5 * hotels we have stayed in, we had no complaints. The only downside was the pool and spa being outside main building but it is a very short walk and the weather was excellent. The pool was quiet both times we visited.
Overall a great experience and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an honour and a pleasure for us to welcome you both to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary.

We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful experience and thank you sincerely for your very positive review and high recommendation. Your kind comments regarding the high level of service you received and in relation to the food, your room and our facilities are genuinely appreciated.

I'm delighted that you intend to return for another visit and we all look forward to welcoming both of you back sometime very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 1 night at end of June. Staff very friendly and helpful esp HUngarian concierge Erne
Our room was out of the main building but very comfortable and well equipped. dinner was very disappointing . there were lots of children eating and although there were lots of tables free we were put beside a family with young children. we asked to move and got a nice booth along the wall which was more private and relaxing.commis chef was on that night and he will need to improve to progress to head chef! the situation was handled very well by young German duty manager but just a pity as it spoilt our evening.Setting was fab and we may return for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for court yard room near to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singinglassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and for taking time to post your review.

I'm delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time and that you found your room to be very comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful - I have passed your special mention to Erno who is delighted!

However, I am disappointed to hear that you had a few issues during your meal and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that this does not reflect our usual high standard and I will be following these issues up with management.

It's great that you enjoyed the overall setting and I do hope that you will return for another visit sometime very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We missed the heat wave, thank goodness, so the rooms were comfortable without AC. It was actually nice to have an open window except that there were weddings both nights we were there and it was noisy until at least midnight outside the windows. Don't go on the weekend unless you stay up late. Otherwise, it was one of my favorite hotels EVER!! The rooms are lovely and the setting gorgeous, but the staff really made our stay special. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. If you use GPS to get there you may miss the front entrance and you don't want to miss it. We came in the back and did't get the full effect and the dragon! Donegal was wonderful and not over crowded with tourists.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Reldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis lough Eske Castle for your recent stay and thank you for your very positive review!

It's wonderful to hear that Lough Eske Castle is one of your favourite hotels ever, and that you were so impressed by the castle itself as well as with the high level of professional and friendly serve you experienced.

I'm delighted to hear that your stay was both comfortable and enjoyable and I hope that you will return to see us again on your next trip to Ireland!

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Another day, another castle. But this one was the exception that proves the rule. Like all the others we stayed at, and almost by definition of a castle, this one was also "in the middle of nowhere." 3 miles from the nearest building, and us without a car, having been dropped off by our driver when we checked in. Whole feel of the hotel was one of pomposity. Decided to have a pre-dinner swim at the pool, so asked directions. Oh, not IN the hotel? You have to walk at least 150 yards (and - of course - if was windy and raining) to the spa/pool building - which is not well signed by the way, so we had to do a lot of searching before we found it. The only sign is right outside the building - but first you have to BE at the building to see the sign. No one at the desk in the spa. No one in the pool or near it. Had to "halloo" several times before a bored-looking unsmiling woman approached us. Did not seem particularly glad to see us. Decided that we didn't feel like doing the reverse walk with damp bodies and wet hair, so gave it up. When we complained about the placement of the pool to the woman in the hotel, she nodded and said they were "well aware" of the issue.
Because of the weather, we decided to forgo a taxi and search for a restaurant in the town (3 miles away) so, though not happy, opted to eat in the hotel restaurant. Pretentious menu, price fixed at 55 Euros. Had a good soup as a starter, but that was it. The "prime rib" I ordered was neither prime nor a rib cut. It was so undercooked that I couldn't cut it and had to send it back. But when it reappeared, it was so lacking in flavor that I left it on the plate. The waiter offered to make me something else, but I had ordered the only thing at all appealing to me, and my husband had already eaten his meal, so I did not. We waited 25 minutes for our desserts. By this time we just wanted out of there. To be fair, the waiter took 17 Euros off the bill, which showed that he cared about our concerns.
On the whole, would have preferred to stay at a small hotel in the town of Donegal, where we would not have felt "captive" and could have at least walked to a pub.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fussbudget07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa during your recent trip to Ireland.

I would like to offer you my apologies for the various issues and concerns you have raised and for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced during your stay.

Please be assured that these short-comings do not reflect our usual very high standards and I have passed each of the issues you have raised to senior management for consideration. We genuinely appreciate your feedback as guest's concerns assist us in improving everything that we have to offer going forward.

I hope that if and when you return to Ireland that you will give us a second chance to give you that wow experience for which we a re so well known.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $180 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing