We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A stunning building sitting at the end of a long wooded drive 10min from Donegal town. Our Courtyard Guestroom was everything I hoped - in the old stone stables of the castle, spacious, comfortable, quiet and with all the modern conveniences (heated floors, rain shower etc) with views to the many brass sculptures in the garden. Only let-down were a couple of maintenance issues that we discussed with reception but these were dealt with promptly and appropriately - a credit to the high service standards of the Castle. Service by all the staff was outstanding while the pool and spa are a very pleasant way to relax before enjoying the tasty options available. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Loved our Courtyard Guestroom in the original stone stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Lough Eske Castle for your recent stay.

I'm delighted that you were so impressed with the property and everything you experienced during your visit - from the castle grounds to our Courtyard Rooms, spa, food and 'outstanding service' you received.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team, as is your generous recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit sometime very soon!

Kind regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,577 - 1,583 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just returned from 2 days at Castle Eske and I have to write to express my delight at the whole experience. It is an oasis of tranquillity.

Where to start? Two things made this place a perfect retreat - the setting and the staff! The whole setting is idyllic. All the staff we encountered was very friendly, attentive and professional. From check-in to check- out we wanted for nothing. The attention to detail by the staff made our stay so relaxing and we did not find it pretentious in any way just very well trained staff. From managers, reception, concierge, bar, restaurant and cleaning staff they were very nice but not in an over the top way.

I concur with every positive comment that has been said in previous posts about spacious room, comfortable bed, large bathroom and the rooms with courtyard access, lovely sitting rooms with log fires.

We had lunch in Gallery bar on both days and it was tasty and well presented. We had dinner in the restaurant on second evening and again, food was very good. The level of service from the staff in the bar (Jimmy and another lovely girl that served us both day - I am sorry I can’t remember your name) and restaurant (Nikki?) was excellent, professional yet friendly and relaxed. We then finished our evening lounging in front of an open fire and enjoyed the company of other guests. A perfect evening.
We had great treatments in the spa which hit the spot for us both. Therapist (Joyce?) thank you.

Despite there being weddings and other functions there each day there is lots of space for everyone.

Taxi into Donegal town 10 euro if you feel the need to get out of the hotel.

We have stayed in several similar castle/modern hotel places in Ireland and Castle Eske has been the best in terms of service/food/facilities/atmosphere.

Will be going back very soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa recently and for taking time to share your experience.

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and that you were so impressed with every aspect of your stay - your compliments regarding our staff and facilities are genuinely appreciated. I have passed your kind comments to our staff who, as always, are thrilled - especially Jimmy, Nikki and Joyce who you give a special mention to!

To have you describe the castle as 'an oasis of tranquility' and as 'the best in Ireland in terms of service/food/facilities/atmosphere' is fantastic and is very rewarding for the entire team who aim to make each and every guest's experience the best that it can be.

I'm delighted to hear that you intend to return for another visit soon and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Thank you again and best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked this castle break as a birthday present for my girlfriend. Based just outside Donegal town approx 5 mins. Location is ideal. The long wooded drive into the castle set a fantastic feeling of seclusion, closeness to nature and uniqueness. On check-in we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who was friendly polite and extremely warm. We had booked a junior suite and we were very lucky to get the suite between the two presidential rooms. It was out of this world and we were so happy. We barely left the room because it was huge and relaxing. We had food in the restaurant On the first evening and the food/service/ambience/staff/wine all was top notch as was the food and drinks in the Bar and other areas of the hotel. The spa was thoroughly relaxing and the grounds were a self contained haven to enjoy to the max. The castle is so well run from the ground keeping to the cleaning. It's a credit to the staff here and I would pay any money to return to this 5 Star exclusive castle.
Thank you from Gerryul@hotmail.com.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you both to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa recently to celebrate your girlfriend's birthday and thank you for your wonderful review.

It's great to hear that you had such a 'most enjoyable experience from start to finish' and that you were so happy with your room and everything you encountered during your stay - including the food, service, ambience, and staff.

Your many compliments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming both of you back to the castle in the very near future.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Attended a friends wedding and stayed overnight. Good spacious room with clean bathroom. Breakfast was very good but I could only see one waitress who had to double up as the receptionist showing guests to their table but she was a very busy lady...Spent a long time in the breakfast room chatting other guests and availed of coffee at regular intervals with no sign of having to hurry up. Good experience.

Room Tip: Got a room with not a very good view so cannot comment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballyard-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa for the very special occasion of your friend's wedding.

Thank you sincerely for your kind comments which I have shared with the team - we are all delighted that you had such a great experience!

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I spent an overnight here with a very good offer from Travelzoo.
We had a fabulous room and a great meal and were made very welcome. Unfortunately we did not arrive early enough to take advantage of the swimming pool or Spa.
The hotel has a very modern interior and the rooms are spacious and have free Wi-Fi which was much appreciated. I really liked the little touches like free bottled water.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking time to share your experience.

It's great to hear that you were so impressed with your room, your meal, the 'little touches' and that you felt so welcomed - everything that we strive to do in order to make your time with us at the castle so special!

It was unfortunate that you did not have time to enjoy the spa or pool but perphaps you will return for another visit in the not too distant future - we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

In the meantime, thank you again and best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed several nights as part of a group and had a deluxe room which was quiet, large and luxurious with a huge and very comfortable bed. The large bathroom was amazing, all marble tiles and granite top, two wash basins, bath, a separate large shower and separate w.c., both behind glass doors. Lovely shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion too. Whilst the back of the hotel is purpose built and blends in very well, the main part of the castle with the public rooms is 'olde worlde' with fire places, one of which was lit every morning even though it was May, albeit a cold May. The grounds of the hotel are delightful with many beautiful bronze statues, some in unexpected places, well worth a stroll around. The spa is great too. It really is all very much as shown on the hotel's website.

We had two evening meals in the bar. The menu is a bit restricted with only one vegetarian main but what we had was good and reasonably priced, unfortunately though we didn't think that 8.50+ euros for a glass of wine was reasonable. As for breakfast, well, that was really plentiful, everything you could think of, from omelettes and pancakes freshly made in front of you to delicious bread and butter pudding plus all the usual juices, toast, cold meats, smoked salmon etc. A veritable feast we looked forward to every morning. We didn't dine in Cedars so can't comment on that.

We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, from the cheerful 'good morning' from housekeeping staff as we passed rooms they were working in to the helpful staff at reception who gave us a small map of the area around Lough Eske, very useful for taking a walk, and told us about the only pub with live music that's open every night in Donegal town (the Reel Inn, just a few miles down the road from the hotel) to the waiters and waitresses who were all very cheerful. Having left something behind we received an email from the hotel within a few hours of leaving and the item was sent on at cost in a most efficient manner.

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and were only sorry to have to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caravellejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your group for your recent stay at Solis Lough Eske Castle and thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are all delighted to hear that you were so impressed with every aspect of the hotel and that you had such a great overall experience. Your kind compliments are very encouraging for the entire team and are genuinely appreciated.

I sincerely hope that you will return to Lough Eske for another visit in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

In the meantime, thank you again and best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a fly/drive package. The grounds, hotel, and room were beautiful. The bathroom was great with a nice deep soaking tub and separate shower and two sinks - great for spreading out.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious, as was the dinner in the bar, and room service.

The staff were all friendly but not overly warm.

My only complaint about the place is there is this overwhelming feeling of pretentiousness here. We didn't find our stay very relaxing other than when we were in our room, hence the room service on our second night. It feels really peculiar writing this because I had really hoped that I would love Lough Eske Castle.

Everything at the hotel is excellent but it feels like text book hospitality without much personality or warmth.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank climberjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an honour for the team at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa to welcome you to Donegal and to Lough Eske for your two night stay as part of your fly/drive package.

We are all delighted that you felt everything at the hotel was excellent and your kind comments regarding the grounds, the hotel, the food, your room and room service are very much appreciated - very encouraging compliments for the entire team.

However, it is disappointing to hear that you felt a sense of pretentiousness during your stay as the fine balance of personal and professional service that we strive to provide each and every guest with has always been one of our key strengths. We continually receive very positive feedback from guests regarding the genuine and friendly Donegal welcome that they experience at Lough Eske Castle.

Our team consistently prioritises guest needs and always do their best to ensure that each and every guest receives a warm welcome, professional and friendly service and a fond farewell on departure and it's unfortunate that this did not come across to you during your time with us.

If and when you return to Ireland I would be delighted to welcome you back to Lough Eske and for you to give us a second chance to show you the genuine Donegal hospitality for which we are so well known.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $180 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing