We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel with roaring log fires. Our room was very spacious with a lovely bathroom with underfloor heating. Staff were excellent. Setting is stunning even in December. I had an amazing pregnancy massage with Olivia in the spa, very relaxing and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,374)
There are newer reviews for Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,678 - 1,684 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband & I spent 3 days in this excellent Castle. Staff, Room, Food & Service was of the highest standard. It is well worth a visit, you pay for what you get. I look forward to visiting again soon. Sean & Catherine Smith

Room Tip: I was in the Castle room close to car park at the back of the Castle
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DolanCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Everything you read on the previous reviews is true and more.... Lough Eske is what you would expect from a five star hotel. I stayed here with my husband and we found everything to be wonderful. Our room was spacious and tasteful. The bathroom with its underfloor heating is a real luxury. Breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel. The freshly cooked eggs were great. I d also recommend a meal in the hotel. Both the bar food and more formal dining food were superb in our experience. We had a lovely walk around the lake before a relaxing break in the excellent spa. The staff are lovely, friendly and the hotel with its open fires has a friendly, welcoming feel. However my highest praise and real reason for writing this, my first ever review, comes from the abrupt ending that we had to our stay. On the afternoon of our second day we received a frantic phone call to say that our disabled son had become very unwell. We hurriedly stuffed our belongings into a suitcase and raced to reception to pay our bill. The lady could not have been nicer and only charged us for one night! This is a hotel to which we will definitely return - not just for the luxury but also for the decency!

Stayed: December 2012
3  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Lough Eske after attending a wedding in the Hotel on the 1/12/12.
The staff were very courteous and when we were shown to our Deluxe room we could not believe its grandeur and sheer scale.. A massive double four poster style bed and a luxurious ensuite to knock your socks off with heated flooring.
The breakfast was delicious with a chef standing by to cook your eggs to order and the homemade muffins we took home to munch in the car were yummy.
We will return... That's a cert!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimeyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our Family spent 2 nights at the Castle. We have travelled all over the world, and I have to say that this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. First of all, we were travelling with our grown children and we forgot to reserve a double room. When we got to the hotel we found out that they were assigned a king room. Even though the hotel was sold out, the front desk somehow found them a double. Breakfast was excellent, and the we ate dinner one night at the Gallery Bar and the food and service (James I think) was superb. The location is amazing, take time to walk around and enjoy them. The grounds are very tastefully accentuated with beautiful bronze statues. The castle has great rooms that are perfect for having an Irish whisky while reading in front of a fireplace. Also, if you have time, take a day trip to the cliffs at Slieve League. It is similar to the Cliffs of Moher without the crowds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Spent a night here on a travelzoo voucher - well worth it. The staff were excellent and also friendly, even under pressure at checkout time when there were a cluster of guests wanting to check out at the same time they were fast but smiley and we left with a good impression. Food is great! Had evening meal here and a very generous breakfast. Bar is pleasant place to spend the evening. Room was very spacious and some nice touches like underfloor heating in the bathroom.
Only downside - unnecessarily vicious high speed bumps coming up the main avenue. If your car hasn't much ground clearance then be sure to use the back entrance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the coutyard rooms which were excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTWIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent hotel....real escape from from everything. Food, facilities and staff all first class. We will be back. We stayed in the outside room which seems equally as good as those in the main hotel (and cheaper). Nothing was a problem for the staff and the evening meal and breakfast could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,202 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
23.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $212 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing