We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable experience on our 25 Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh
1 review
“A very enjoyable experience on our 25 Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We enjoyed a two night break on our 25 Wedding Anniversary. We had a wonderful experience and the staff couldnt do enough for us. We would highly recommend the castle to our family and friends. Liam & Pauline

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liama6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    325
    152
    64
    37
See reviews for
359
1,342
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Lough Eske Castle is a little bit of heaven in Co. Donegal. Definitely worth the splurge for a special occasion

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque1ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here recently for two nights in a junior suite, the room was beautiful as you can see by the photos....clean, comfy and the decor was great.

The staff here are all great, from reception to the dinner staff, spa staff etc.....everyone is very friendly, I particularly loved the way they gave us personalised menus as we were celebrating an anniversary, I love a personal touch, it shows thought and effort from the whole hotel team.

Make sure you try the after eight ice cream.....delicious!!!

The food is also great in the restaurant, bar and breakfast....the cold buffet for breakfast was wide in choice and delicious, my only down point was again the hot food was buffet, I always comment on this as I feel in all 5* hotels the hot food should be cooked in the kitchen individually and never buffet, this may not bother others though!!

The spa was great, with a large pool, steam room, sauna and unusual but great showers with options such as tropical rain or ice fountain....if staying here definitely make use of the spa.

Love the fact in the junior suite, there are tow televisions, one in bedroom one in sitting area....therefore my husband could watch sport in one section and I could watch my TV on the bed...

Will definitely be returning here, in Donegal this is by far the best hotel and in a good location as beautiful scenic views yet an easy drive into Donegal town centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlottes-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at Lough Eske Castle for three nights. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were taken care of by the excellent staff. Everyone was so friendly and really couldn't do enough for us. Our room was more than spacious and beautifully decorated and the bathroom was simply divine. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was the most impressive I've ever seen. We could choose between a very fancy continental breakfast (including fresh fish) or a more traditional Irish breakfast. Although the fried food was being kept hot, a chef was at the top of the room making fresh omlettes, pancakes and eggs to order. Again, the staff at breakfast were excellent, one nicer than the next. We had bar food on a number of occasions which was delicious. The bar staff were very friendly and made a great Mojito (but be prepared to wait for it, they took around 15 minutes to make). The setting is stunning and is great for walks. The only downside to the trip was the amount of huge potholes on the drive up to the hotel, you really have to take care or you're at risk of losing a wheel! I initially thought the trip was going to be quite expensive, and it certainly wasn't cheap. But having experienced all that Lough Eske has to offer, it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnRouteRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Arrival was impressive although a little disconcerting as the driveway was potholed in areas although repairs were being initiated before we left. The drive passes around a lovely lake and when hotel eventually came into view it was beautiful. The treatment by all staff was exceptional! Our room was a deluxe and had one of the biggest beds I have ever slept in and comfortable too. Very well laid out with great facilities and comforts. The bathroom had under floor heating and I found a touch too warm at times. Explanations of charges etc were readily available around the room. Watch out for leaving hotel as the signposts can be inaccurate and I would advise a quality map be taken to assist travel. We didn't use the spa or pool so can't comment.

Room Tip: May appear as offer occassionally
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We enjoyed a two night stay at the Lough Eske Castle and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were met in the car park by a member of staff with an umbrella due to the rain, and that set the tone for what was a luxurious stay! We were in a gorgeous room - complete with fabulous cot for the baby - and a wonderful bathroom.

The breakfast was to die for! Not only was there the usual hot and cold buffet, but there was a chef there to make fresh eggs, potato bread or even pancakes! The evening meal in the restaurant was also first class. We also ate in the bar - a simple burger was stunning! We also had the baby with us, both in the restaurant and in the bar, and found the staff very helpful and attentive.

The hotel grounds are gorgeous - lots of sculptures to see and the hotel also provides bikes if you want to go sightseeing. There is also a spa however we didn't manage to get that far! The local scenary is beautiful, but be warned there is very little to do in Donegal town on a Sunday!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySunshineNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Firstly, this is a great location - love the entrance and grounds - the walks from the hotel are wonderful. Secondly, the welcome and attention to guests is superb - we had stayed there easter 2009 and the main bar tender and one of the receptionists remembered us - where we were from, and nearly to the date when we had last been in the hotel. Food was good if a little expensive in the bar. However my one large gripe about the place is the leisure centre / spa. I just don't think it works on any level. It is a separate building to the main hotel which would be fine .... except for the fact that it is cold, drab and the floors on both our visits were dirty with the mud/soil brought in by the guests coming from the hotel. The pool area is also fairly dull in design and the changing rooms are akin to a public facility rather than the plush 5 star resort that this place manages to be in so many other facets. I can't make any comment on whether the spa treatment area is equally disappointing as neither myself nor my wife used it but as it is housed right beside the pool area, I would have said that it must be limited at best. Certainly it falls far behind several other leisure/spa facilities at other Irish hotels which wouldn't be trying to attain the exclusivity that Solis is aiming for.

However, on a final POSITIVE note, the rooms are lovely, the beds so comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed - room service and maintenance seems to be very well managed and we loved the stable room we were given on both occasions - a huge room by any standards.

We would go back to Solis - we'd just hope that they would address the issues with the leisure centre (although I would guess that it would require quite a bit of investment and that is hardly likely in these chastened circumstances!!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,885 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.0 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is an historic castle dating to the 15th century and the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing