We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of Rossmore Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rossmore Manor
Ranked #2 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful stay. This was the first stop of a nine day tour, and our two nights here were just lovely. Fabulous views, very comfortable and spacious (huge) room. Delicious breakfasts. Short ride outside of town and off the beaten path so very peaceful stay! Highly recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    21
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
228
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and had an incredible time. Jackie and Geoff were great hosts and the Rossmore was beautiful, yet homey. We enjoyed the amazing views and loved that it was so close to town. Breakfasts were fantastic as well. The rooms are very spacious and make for a great "home base" when exploring Co. Donegal. I'm so glad we stayed as long as we did, though we could have stayed longer! The best B&B we stayed in while touring Ireland, by far!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zilcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great B&B - fantastic views, lovely bedrooms and a great breakfast. We have stayed in many B&B's and hotels in the North West of Ireland and this is absolutely the best place. Jackie and Geoff are really friendly and clearly take great pride in their business. It wipes the floor with much more expensive hotels and guest houses in the area. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitebeetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a wonderful one night stay just before traveling into Northern Ireland. My husband and I traveled with my mom and dad and my parents have been raving about this property since the moment they stepped foot into it and rightly so. It is in a slightly more remote location-DO NOT LET THIS DETER YOU-It is all part of the charm. The property itself is quite large and the rooms are very spacious and well appointed. They have many thoughtful items to ensure your comfort. Hot water bottles, fresh water and glasses, extra blankets, umbrellas, etc.

The unobstructed view of the bay is gorgeous. The tide changes every six hours and it's very interesting to see. The love seat in front of the bay window is a very pleasant place to sit and relax.

If you have a chance, eat at the Blueberry Tea Room in Donegal Town. It's a great small café.

The breakfast was very good and the breakfast room and entryway were decorated very elaborately for Halloween. We were lucky enough to be helped by Jackie and Geoff's son who is a fantastic mini host! We also had the opportunity to chat with Geoff for a while in the morning which was very nice. He's a fun person to converse with and has an abundance of personality and great sense of humor!

Thank you again for the lovely stay and don't be surprised if you are visited by Jackie and John from Saint Paul, MN sometime in the future at the rate they are talking you up!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views but downstairs are pretty good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maymay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at Rossmore several times over past few years and we never consider staying anywhere else when we visit Donegal. The rooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable. The views are wonderful. Jackie and Geoff are great hosts they could not make you feel more welcome.
This year we stayed in the new self catering house close to the B&B. This is a great house , well furnished and spacious. Only criticism would be lack of cooking items for large group but I'm sure this will soon be rectified. Will keep coming back to Rossmore without a doubt!

Irene & Mike Dunne
Beckenham Kent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to Donegal for 3 days and happen to find my self staying in what was probably one of the finest B&B's I have stayed in. A real find and a must for anyone travelling to or through the beautiful northwest!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aoife N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I are on a road trip and are in the middle of a two week vacation. We found this place to be our favorite overnight stay. Jackie is a wonderful host, as well as a great cook. Our breakfast was outstanding!, This property is beautiful! It is a quiet, wonderful place out in the country, only a few minutes out of town, we found it to be very relaxing. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and nicely decorated, the bathroom very nicely tiled with a great shower. I would definitely seek out this B&B! We couldn't have been more satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJduluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
5.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,054 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
3.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmore Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmore Manor

Property: Rossmore Manor
Address: Rossmore | Donegal PO, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossmore Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star house located on the waters edge of Donegal Bay, guests can enjoy superb luxury and unparalleled views of Donegal Bay at Rossmore Manor, County Donegal. The ideal base for tours of the stunning North West, the house is just 5km from lively Donegal town. Explore 15th century Donegal Castle, discover traditional crafts at the vibrant Donegal Craft Village and roam the serene waters by taking the Donegal Water Bus. Along with idyllic beaches and scenic drives, visitors can also explore one of Europe's highest sea cliffs at Slieve League, and spend a day at the expansive Glenveagh National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Rossmore Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing