We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B , beautiful view , unbelievable rooms”
Review of Rossmore Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rossmore Manor
Ranked #2 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent B&B , beautiful view , unbelievable rooms”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We only stayed one night but wished it could have been longer. If only we had known....but the rest of our journey was already pre planned . The rooms (2) were fabulous, especially "the tower" which Bob and I had been allocated. It was so spacious and the views over Donegal Bay were fantastic. The other room was even larger and had a proper fireplace in it which is used when the weather is not so good . The decor was very much in keeping with what you would expect to find in a manor in the Middle Ages.
Though the Manor is off the beaten track it is well worth the detour .
We would definitely recommend Rossmore Manor to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    21
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
224
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I absolutely LOVED it! It was super quiet which gave us a great nights sleep. We had a spectacular room! Jackie was super friendly and helpful. For a small fee you can get your laundry done and folded~which was a great service half way through our trip. There was a great sitting room and breakfast was fantastic. The B & B is only a short drive from Donegal Town. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone staying in the Donegal Town area.

Room Tip: Ask for the Great Hall Suite. It was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Rossmore Manor for four nights in April, using it as a base to explore County Donegal. Jackie and Geoff were perfect hosts, warm and friendly. Our room was fantastic! It was very large, had a gorgeous view over Donegal Bay, and a cozy fireplace which we took advantage of each night. This place is off the beaten path, but only about a five minute drive into Donegal Town.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in Rossmore manor and were delighted by the quality of The lodging and by the excellent hospitality of Jacky and Geoff. We recommend this B&B, which deserves a detour on its own. Isabelle and Bruno

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. After a long ride with the motorbike from Dublin to Donegal, we were glad to arrive in the early evening. We had been travelling since 4 am that morning. Jackie welcomed us upon arrival and showed us to our room. The room was so spacious and really inviting. The house, surrundings and especially the view are fantastic. Everything was clean. The varioutity of choice at breakfast was great.
On our 2. day we managed to lose the room key. Jackie and her husband were really relaxed about it.
All in all it was a warm and friendly stay. And I have great respeckt everything ist managed this well with 5 children. Thank you for a great start in Ireland on the Motorbike!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTReise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As others have said, the rooms and views are top notch. But the owners of this B&B made the stay the greatest of all the places I stayed in Ireland. While most owners will get you an extra towel or a bar of soap, these folks will give you duct tape and a ride to town. I stayed in the "hobbit" and spent hours looking out the large bay window at the incredible views. They really should charge more for this outstanding B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoneck, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

been here the second time. Booked "The Hobbit" as last time but it was gone. So we got "The Hall". The name says all. Huge room with stylish interior, big open fireplace and a big bath.
Stunning seaviews and caring hosts, who lit the fire for us when we returned from a trip to Donegal town.
Who ever stays near Donegal Town has to come here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
4.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,003 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmore Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmore Manor

Property: Rossmore Manor
Address: Rossmore | Donegal PO, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossmore Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star house located on the waters edge of Donegal Bay, guests can enjoy superb luxury and unparalleled views of Donegal Bay at Rossmore Manor, County Donegal. The ideal base for tours of the stunning North West, the house is just 5km from lively Donegal town. Explore 15th century Donegal Castle, discover traditional crafts at the vibrant Donegal Craft Village and roam the serene waters by taking the Donegal Water Bus. Along with idyllic beaches and scenic drives, visitors can also explore one of Europe's highest sea cliffs at Slieve League, and spend a day at the expansive Glenveagh National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Rossmore Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing