We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in a castle”
Review of Rossmore Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rossmore Manor
Ranked #3 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A very warm welcome and a room to die for, with excellent views. It was like staying in a 5 star hotel. The room was combined with a large seating area and open fire. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the2ofusNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for Rossmore manor. It is a great compliment to us to read such review as yours and knowing that we are doing our job correctly by making your stay an enjoyable experience, we certainly enjoyed having you. jackie , geoff and family
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Rossmore Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 386 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I recommend Rossmore Manor very, very highly! We just stayed there on our vacation in June-July 2012 and absolutely loved it. It was the most beautiful property that we stayed in during our 2 week visit. We loved our beautiful room. It was spacious and had tremendous views of the lake and trees. It was peaceful and we slept like babies while we were there. There were multiple choices with the breakfast, too, and the food was great. The owners, Jackie and Geoff, were fantastic and so friendly. We actually had great talks with them while we were there and were very sorry we had to leave when it came time. They had wonderful suggestions as to what to do in Donegal and the surrounding areas. We took their advice and had some great drives and experiences while in that region. We had originally thought we would stay for one night, then added another, then even one more. It was that nice to stay there. If you are traveling anywhere near Donegal town, you must look up Rossmore Manor. You'll love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the corner suite on the top right when standing looking at the house, but I'm sure...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eireann0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear guests Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for Rossmore Manor. We are truly comforted by the fact that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We certainly enjoyed having our daily morning chats with you both. It was our pleasure to have you here as our guests and maybe our paths will cross again. Fondest Regards

Jackie, Geoff and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We can't say enough about Rossmore Manor, except that we wished we had stayed longer. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The views were amazing and the owner was very helpful with places to see. We enjoyed the views but also the close proximity to Donegal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for Rossmore manor. We take great pleasure in hearing that you had an enjoyable stay here with us, we certainly enjoyed having you. jackie , geoff and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We just stayed with Jackie and Jeff and family, lovely family. We had a beautiful room with a sitting room, very large, and also wonderful view of the lake. Jackie made lovely breakfasts each day. She could not do enough for us, very accommodating to her guests. I recommend that if you are going to the town of donegal, stay at their B&B. Thanks Jackie for taking good care of us.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank arilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay at Rossmore Manor. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rossmore again sometime. Kind regards, Jackie geoff and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Nice quiet location close to town. Spacious rooms and bathrooms with a great view. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: Go for the tower or Hobbit room if you can
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peridotite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Exquisite,spacious and clean B & B with outstanding view. Private sitting room in the main bedroom was really appreciated. This B & B has so far excelled all expectations. Jackie and Jeff our hosts were welcoming and informative. Breakfast was delicious Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Room Tip: On - line reviews helpful!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The reception you receive when you arrive is marvelous. I was quickly introduced to Jackie and Harry, and shown to a beautiful room with an unimpeded view of the Bay. The location was convenient to Donegal, while both Jackie and Geoff were able to direct me to the very best sights. I meant to overnight, but loved it so much, I stayed three nights. It felt so comfortable there, and I have to thank Jackie and Geoff for making me feel part of the family. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
4.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
923 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
771 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmore Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmore Manor

Address: Rossmore | Donegal PO, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $99 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossmore Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star house located on the waters edge of Donegal Bay, guests can enjoy superb luxury and unparalleled views of Donegal Bay at Rossmore Manor, County Donegal. The ideal base for tours of the stunning North West, the house is just 5km from lively Donegal town. Explore 15th century Donegal Castle, discover traditional crafts at the vibrant Donegal Craft Village and roam the serene waters by taking the Donegal Water Bus. Along with idyllic beaches and scenic drives, visitors can also explore one of Europe's highest sea cliffs at Slieve League, and spend a day at the expansive Glenveagh National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing