We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We all loved the location and the space in this...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cosy Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cosy Living room
Living room The Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The Cosy Living room
Living room
The Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
The Bunk-Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
The main Bathroom which is Downstairs.
So much more Than a Bar, Best Guinness In Town
The Waterbus, a Must do For For All Visitors.
1 Of The Many Excellent Restaurants in Town
Donegal Castle, Dating back to The 1400s
The Majestic Slieve League Cliffs, Some Of The Highest Cliffs in Europe, 1 Hour From The  Cottage.
The Bank Walk Donegal Town, a lovely way to Spend an Hour or 2.
Map and Directions To Donegal Town
Map of Donegal Town and Location of The Town House.
The Town Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Donegal Town, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kilnaleck
Portland or
1 review
“We all loved the location and the space in this rental.”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved this location as a base for traveling around the county. Brendan was helpful and available if we needed him. We enjoyed the open fire when the evening got cool. It was convenient for us to walk up town in the evening.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank You so much For you Kind Review of The Tow Cottage, I am so Pleased you Enjoyed in Donegal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliet56...
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, nice owner, needs maintenance/care”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I don't like to be critical, but it is difficult to reconcile the superlative reviews we read about Town Cottage with the property that we stayed in. We agree that it is well-located for walking to the center of Donegal Town and that the space description is accurate. Brendan seems to be a very nice man, but we found Town Cottage to be in a state of neglected maintenance -starting with the very tall weeds along the entry sidewalk. We did not find the spotless level of cleanliness described by some other reviewers. The en suite shower was very moldy and fixtures in the family bath were old and stained...unappealing enough to rule out a tub bath. The hot water (switch requires standing on the lounge sofa), was limited and problematic as it cannot be left on, but requires 20-30 minutes heat up time and was still a very limited quantity. The family bath had a separate electric shower heater, but it allowed only one very brief shower before heating function stopped. We also experienced limited and inconsistent central heating on the 3 mornings we were there. The last morning there was no heat at all which was uncomfortable.The kitchen is a nice, well-equipped room, but the dishwasher did not work and the refrigerator had multiple cracked plastic drawers. The back garden looked like it could be lovely on a sunny day, but shrubbery on both sides was overgrowing the space. The TV appeared to be attached to a cable or satellite network, but it only seemed to receive 2 channels. While parking was easily accessed on the street just outside the cottage, it was in a Pay and Display metered area. Some have commented that this is not enforced, but be aware that there is a possible 45 euro fine during pay hours of 9am-6pm. Rate is 50c per hour during these hours; free overnight. Overall, Town Cottage has the potential to be a great accommodation, but it is currently quite worn and in need of repairs, maintenance, and updating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thank you for your Review Leslie, I have to agree on 1 or 2 points that you have brought up, firstly the tall weeds is not on my property which I explained to you when you arrived that parcel of land does not belong to me as I only own the sidewalk, granted the bath is old I took the decision to leave it in the Cottage as a lot of guest comment that is goes with the style of the Cottage, I trim back the garden a couple times a month sorry that you didn't mention it to me at the Time I would have cut them for you , The Tv does have Satellite and plenty of channels again shame you didn't mention it, It's always rather annoying when people don't bring any issues they might have at the time of their stay but are quick to post their Grievances on the internet,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smf6
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenient cottage”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

No bottle of wine or fire as other reviewers say but, nevertheless, this did not spoil our stay! The house is so convenient for the lovely town. I also went to the Catholic Church, which is straight across the road from the house, on Palm Sunday.
The slight trouble with the internet was soon sorted by Brendan.
All in all an enjoyable 5 days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you for your kind Review so glad you enjoyed your time, I didn't get a chance to put on a fire and same for the Wine as ye arrived early, it can be a hard trying to get The Cottage cleaned and Ready when guests leave late and guests arrive early, but thankfully it doesn't happen too often, but glad ye enjoyed your time at the cottage. And hope to see ye again soon, Brendan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie S
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Cottage very convenient to all shops and restaurants. It was very clean. Not a speck of dust. Lots of wee extras provided like tbags and coffee. A bottle of wine and biscuits were waiting on arrival and a nice fire Handy having 2 showers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Thank you for very kind Review and thank you for Leaving the Cottage so Clean and tidy and glad you enjoyed your time, Brendan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisys007
Monaghan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Excellent location , lovely comfortable house, suit 6 people no problem, .... easy walk to Donegal Town

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Thank you for your Kind review, I hope to see ye back to the Cottage some time, Thanking you Brendan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shame”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Location was fantastic but the accommodation was tired , needing repairs , double bed was uncomfortable , hinges on windows need replacing as when windows are closed it was drafty could see daylight through them . It's a shame as the location is perfect

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thank you for your review, I appreciate your feedback on The Town Cottage, I've noted the hinges on the Windows are not what they should be and I Will get them fixed soon, as regards to the Double bed I've never had a complaint about it as it's a new top of the range Mattress , but I will certainly monitor it and Will change it if need be, I hope these issues didn't detract from your stay at Either the Town Cottage or Donegal town and would be more than Happy to Welcome you back again sometime soon. Thanking you.Brendan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey...
1 review
“Awesome Trip!”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house had everything you could ask for. I stayed there with five other friends for a wedding. Truly a great experience!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Thank you for your your kind review, thanking you Brendan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing