We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place with warm hosts”
Review of Ardlenagh View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardlenagh View
Ranked #13 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Ardlenagh View is a very quiet and very pleasant place with a wonderful view. The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. They give advice about restaurants and places to visit.
The room was very beautiful and comfortable and the living room decoration was pretty with the fireplace. The breakfast is varied and excellent. I recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clara0066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Lovely B&B in Donegal Town. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Breakfasts are nice. The views are stunning from where it sits on top of the hill. Tony and Eileen are very kind hosts and helpful in all aspects of experiencing the beauty that is Donegal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My family and I (6 adults) road-tripped across Ireland in the fall of 2010. We stayed in a different B&B each night of our 10-day vacation. Ardlenagh View was our 3rd night stay and it was great! It's located less than a 5 minute car ride from the town of Donegal where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants. It has free parking, gorgeous views of the countryside and water from atop the hill, and was immaculate and charming. Our room was on the first floor and had 2 twin-size beds and one full-size bed with an ensuite and huge windows looking out on to the gorgeous landscape. The beds were comfortable and clean. The ensuite bathroom was one of the largest we've encountered while traveling in Ireland. The host and hostess were very kind and welcoming. Breakfast the next morning was served in the dining room (traditional Irish breakfast) by the host and hostess. They kindly let us use the telephone to reserve our next B&B and even offered advice on where to go for the remainder of our trip. We would have gladly stayed here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllycatMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Ardlenagh House was just what I needed after a week of fun, but busy travel.I was there 3 nights, and it was so relaxing. My room was comfortable and very clean. Eileen and Tony always had a fire going and tea ready when we came back.The breakfasts were super, and we overlooked an arm of the bay as the tide was coming in. Eileen had many suggestions for things to do and places to eat.
Thank you Eileen and Tony for a lovely "time out".

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtcms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Ardlenagh View was wonderful. Eileen and Tony were perfect hosts. Eileen made us tea when we arrived, chatted with us for a while, and gave us a choice of two rooms - both of which were immaculate and very charming. She was also very gracious in giving advice and trying to help my partner trace his ancestors in County Donegal. The view from the hilltop property is stunning, and it's extremely quiet and peaceful. The full Irish breakfast was great, and the living room was comfortable and cozy with a fire going the whole time. I missed it when we left, and it was my clear favorite of five different places we stayed during our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraOrangetip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at 15 B&Bs while in Ireland. We rated Ardlenagh View in the top 2 or 3 best places. We stayed there 4 nights. The location is on a hill a few km south of Donegal town within easy driving distance. The upstairs room we had was huge and comfortable. It even had a small table and chairs where we could enjoy tea and a snack. The television was much larger than usual and was set on a swiveling table. Our ensuite bathroom was comfortably sized and had a great shower. Eileen kept the whole place immaculate. The views out of our windows were gorgeous. One faced the southeast from which we could see an arm of Donegal Bay. One night we watched the full moon come up over the mountain in this direction during an eclipse. When we arrived Tony, our host, brought us tea, coffee, and sweets to eat in the sitting room downstairs. This room is very comfortable and inviting and sometimes Tony had a fire going in the fireplace. How pleasant it was to sit there on a cool, damp Irish evening! On the shelves were a complete set of Britannica's series of Great Books to peruse. Other books were on shelves scattered about the house. Eileen and Tony fixed great breakfasts every morning. They both take a personal interest in their guests' comfort and well-being. That was very apparent and we appreciated it very much.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights with Tony and Eileen on June 8th and 9th with our teenage boys. Both rooms were very clean. Eileen was very friendly and we really enjoyed talking to her about our trip and her family. She gave us great dinner suggestions and when she heard it was my birthday, she left a bottle of wine outside our room - a very nice and unexpected surprise. We would stay here again. We really enjoyed this part of the country and wish we had more time.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
1.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
940 reviews
2.5 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
768 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardlenagh View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlenagh View

Address: Ardlenagh View 15) Ardlenagh , (R267south off N, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $93 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional, elevated house nestled in picturesque County Donegal, Ardlenagh View is the ideal base for tours of the stunning North West / Wild Atlantic Way. Boasting incredible views of the Bluestack Mountains and Donegal Bay, guests will revel in the serene landscape. Just 2km from Donegal town visitors can discover Donegal Castle, Donegal Craft Village and enjoy superb golf and stunning local beaches. Further afield visitors can explore Glenveagh National Park, Slieve League Cliffs, nearby Fermanagh's idyllic lake lands and the acclaimed Giant's Causeway. Hosts Eileen & Tony Mulhern looks forward to welcoming guests. Check-in is between 4pm and 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardlenagh View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing