We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly charming and wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardeevin Guest House
Ranked #6 of 43 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Truly charming and wonderful”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Another outstanding Irish B&B - superb and highly experienced hosts. A quiet, countrified B&B, with glorious views (it didn't rain!). Comfortable, large room - and breakfast to remember. Free wi-fi easily accessible in room - we were successfully able to Skype home from here. Highlight was an evening meal in the 'pub' at nearby Lough Eske Castle Hotel, recommended by our hosts. (If you have the cash - there is a rated restaurant there as well - that being said the 'pub' meal was probably the best value AND best evening meal we experienced in Ireland.) The Slieve League cliffs are easily accessible from here (about an hour by car) and a MUST see - they're the highest sea cliffs in Europe and far less touristy and visited than the Cliffs of Moher. All round an excellent B&B - we only stayed one night but wished for more!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeadogCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    24
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
109
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Four days with Mary and Sean were the highlight of our stay in Co. Donegal. The room was so comfortable and the service so good, we kept extending our stay. Truly one of the fine B&Bs of Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Having spent 12 nights at 12 different B & Bs in Ireland, Ardeevin ranks up there as one of the best. The home is lovely sitting high on a hill overlooking Lough Eske in the Donegal area. It is a short drive to the town of Donegal where there is a great shopping district.

Our room was large, beautifully decorated, with a view of the lake. Linens were clean and crisp and the room was en suite. We were most comfortable and slept great! Our host and hostess were friendly and personable. In the evening, our host sat in the common living area and chatted with us and another traveling couple. He even offered wine. In the morning, our hostess fixed us a wonderful breakfast of French toast, fruit, toast and jam, cereals, and the best homemade Madeleine's I have ever tasted.

Overall, it was an extremely pleasant stay. They were helpful and informative as to things to see in the area and best places to eat. GPS got us close, but it is best to take directions from the computer. I had to ask for directions from the owner of a sweater shop in town who ended up being the owner of the B & B! Said he knew the place well. They have a great sense of humor. The access is a bit remote and on windy roads and best to find in daylight. I would highly recommend Ardeevin if you are going to Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Ardeevin for two nights of our 10-day Ireland vacation and as we were checking out my niece said "Can we stay at a great place like this again?" The rooms were large, spotless and lovely with lots of nice little touches. And Mary and Sean couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable without being intrusive. The B&B is close to Donegal town so you can easily go in and enjoy the pubs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vettetraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

ardeevin is a beautiful guesthouse on the shores of lough eske, which is about 10min by driving to the town of donegal. i am glad i stayed here rather than in the town, but obviously you will need a car to get into town.

the room was huge with the smallest bathroom i have had thus far on my ireland trip. i had great views of the lake from my window. everything was very serene and peaceful until the evening. for some reason there was a weird hissing noise in my room. i was not able to figure out if it was the heater or maybe someone else's shower. now, by the time i got to ardeevin, it was nearing the end of my road trip and i was fairly exhausted....so i could have slept through anything and i did indeed sleep through the noise. for people who are light sleepers, i suppose it could be a problem.

breakfast was wonderful. there is a communal table and i really like that concept. there were people from the US, UK, france, and new zealand at my table, making for interesting conversation.

all in all, a good stay but i would say 4.5 stars due to the weird hissing noise. if you are one of those people who can sleep through weird noises, then go for it! ardeevin is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Some years back, we stayed at the Ardeevin Guest House on a romantic getaway and it was a perfect joy. Recalling the warmth of Mary and Sean and the beauty of the place, we selected it as the spot to bring my father as he came over to Ireland from the U.S. for a visit. It was as wonderful as we remembered. And make sure you try the cheese omelette for breakfast--it's really a soufflé, baked in an oven, one of the wonders of the modern world!We won't let so many years pass before we go back again. Thanks, Sean and Mary for everything! Ted

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted29Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We were lucky enough to stay at Ardeevin for our overnight in Donegal. It was the best b&b of our trip. The rooms were huge, spotless and welcoming. They were the most comfortable beds of the trip with fluffy comforters and really soft sheets. The breakfast was great and the owners fantastic. Donegal was our favorite spot in Ireland - we wish we would have scheduled more time there (we were in a different town each night). The shops and pubs were fun and friendly and only a short ride from the B&B. Ardeevin combined the convenience of being near the town with the breathtaking views and tranquil beauty of Lough Eske. If you do go make sure you visit Mr & Mrs. McGinty's shop in the city centre "Wool-n-Things" - beautiful items - good prices - great service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
743 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
855 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeevin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeevin Guest House

Property: Ardeevin Guest House
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ardeevin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardeevin Guest House Hotel Donegal Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing