We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Donegal Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Donegal Manor
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“As Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I started planning our trip to Donegal in January and I knew I had come across a gem when I read the other reviews posted on Trip Advisor. We were not dissapointed, Michael & Sian could not have been nicer and they went out of their way to make sure our trip was exceptional.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    65
    28
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
168
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A warm welcome, and good service- as other reviewers have said cakes and scones are available basically anytime. The breakfast was good, though a little restricted compared to some B&Bs we had just been staying in, so we were probably spoiled for choice previously. The room was large, well appointed and the hotel is about 2 kilometres out of town. All in all I think ok for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MareeandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

If there was an option to give 6 stars, I would give that for Donegal Manor. It is by far, the nicest place we have stayed in a very long time. The owners were extremely accommodating and welcoming. There was homemade brownies, breads & tea/coffee in the lobby on arrival. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The sheets were even ironed, and there was a small refrigerator, and full tea/coffee making tray in the room. The ensuite was also spotless, and there was little shampoos, lotions and body wash left out. I was really impressed by all the extras for the very reasonable price we paid.

Breakfast was exquisite. Everything is homemade and absolutely delicious. There was a table of homemade breads, jams and chocolates. Then a section of cereals, fruits, seeds, yougart and juices. In addition to this, you order a cooked breakfast from a menu. The omelet, irish breakfast, scrambled egg & pancakes were unbelievable. By far this was the nicest breakfast iIve ever had out. Everything is homemade and perfectly prepared and presented.

I'd highly recommend Donegal Manor to anyone visiting Donegal. The town is only a short drive down the road. The service, cleanliness, attention to detail and exceptional cooking makes this a real find. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tRvlChic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My triple room was very spacious and comfortable, the three of us had a double bed each, which was fantastic. The room had all the facilities: kettle for tea and coffee, tv set, hair dryer and also a table with two chairs. The bathroom was very clean and spacious too. The Manor is very well located because it is 2 minutes drive from Donegal city centre and it is very quiet. The breakfast was gorgeous and that itself is worth going back there. Home made jams and marmelade, a very big selection of home made and delicious cakes, fresh fruit and the traditional Irish breakfast is fantastic. Bacon, eggs, sausages....they are selected of very good quality and you can taste that. Everything is served very well and we were delighted by it. There is also free parking available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debora m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We came with the two kids and the mother, we were greeted with cakes, scones and a nice cup of tea after the long drive, where we sat in the lovely westerfields before trekking to town. The people made us simply feel at home. The view from our window was just breathtaking and the rooms very pleasant. Donegal is about 5 min away by car so this is a lovely base for exploring the area. Breakfast was gourmet, the children got pancakes, I had freshly smoked kippers and the wife and my mother had the full Irish. A lovely little getaway!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I arrived quite late and had an overnight stay here. It is a warm, charming guest house. From the moment you walk in, you feel very welcome. The room I stayed in was very spacious, it was a double room, it also had a sofa, and a fridge. I was very impressed. As i arrived late I filled out the breakfast card. I had a choice of hot breakfast. The following morning I was greeted warmly by Jim and Mel. Breakfast was wholesome and tasty. I ordered the buttermilk pancakes with fresh fruit. What I liked the most was Mel's homemade brown soda bread and pastries. there was an array of fresh berries and fruit. I saw the full Irish breakfast served to other guests and it was looked incredible. I would recommend this guesthouse if you're a foodie like me! I will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBirdy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived after a very rainy, unfriendly day and the lobby or rather living room with the fireplace and coffee/tea and cakes were more than welcoming. Our room was very comfortable, the bathroom seemed to be brand new and breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judit62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
2.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donegal Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Manor

Property: Donegal Manor
Address: Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Donegal Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donegal Manor offers our guests - style in our beautifully decorated manor, comfort in our spacious deluxe, twin and family bedrooms, ideal location, only one mile from shops, restaurants and Lough Eske, convenient to all attractions in Co. Donegal. Delicious breakfasts - local produce and no queues. Enjoy a warm and sincere welcome from Michael, Sian and staff, and whether you like to relax in front of the log/turf fire or unwind in the privacy of your bedroom - we make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Donegal Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing