We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boys on tour”
Review of Ard na Breatha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ard na Breatha
Ranked #4 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boys on tour”
Reviewed June 27, 2008

It was my good fortune, along with two friends, to visit Ard Na Breatha in June 2008. We were well looked after by our hostess Theresa and her husband Albert. A warm Irish welcome awaited us after a long days journey from the U.K. Everything about Ard Na Breatha was excellent, the hotel is ideally sited within walking distance from the centre of Donegal town. We enjoyed a memorable five day stay, and will certainly return.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sinbadLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    40
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
175
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2008

My sister and I stayed at Ard na Breatha in April. It is beautiful and comfortable. The evening fireplace is delightful as are the owners. Theresa is a marvel and so hospitable. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The food is excellent. It is ideally located near Donegal town and the view from the guesthouse is awesome. I would recommend staying for several days to truly enjoy the country and the wonderful Irish hospitality. I hope to be back. Thank you Theresa for a wonderful experience and the nice hot tea when we arrived early and were waiting for our room to be ready. A true Irish experience. Kathy Parent and Maureen Sulecki

  • Liked — Everything was perfect. The room, the food and the host and hostess. What more could you ask for in an accommodatioin.
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was great.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalishus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Literally, this hotel was a breath of fresh air, set on a working farm within walking distance of Donegal town. It was found on the Internet by accident, and the photos were so captivating, I just had to book it without checking Tripadvisor first or even afterwards...a walk on the wild side.

Theresa, the owner, greeted us warmly and showed us the room in the purpose built guest house across the courtyard from the restaurant. It was tastefully furnished with every convenience provided: desk, comfortable chair, luggage rack, hair dryer, TV, tea/coffee making setup, toiletries and one added bonus, washcloths. This is something I never bring along on a vacation and dearly miss. In over 20 years of traveling in Europe, this is only the second time I've seen them. Even better was the color, black so a woman can wash off her makeup without ruining the white towels. The thoughtfulness and class of this business shows in the details.

Besides seeing the courtyard and fishpond outside the window, sheep could be seen grazing on the hillside. But no need for counting sheep as the bed was comfortable and the peacefully quiet setting lulled me to sleep.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant and the food was delicious. The usual offerings of breads, cereals, fruit salads, juices and coffee or tea were available, but the hot portion of the meal was listed on a menu for individual selection. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon made my traveling companion's eyes light up and were perfectly cooked. My full Irish breakfast included 2 eggs, a rarity , and the best bacon and sausage I received during our two week trip. I was delighted to find butter and preserves in small bowls instead of plastic convenience packs. Again, the thoughtful details make all the difference.

  • Liked — The tranquility, service, food, comfort
  • Disliked — No turf fire, only because the weather was too warm to light one!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vidadoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Ard Na Breatha is a beautiful Guest house and working farm in Donegal Town, County Donegal Ireland. I found their website on line and was immediately attracted to the location and the overall facilities offered. Communication with the owner, Teresa Morrow was excellent and I knew my daughter and I would love our stay!
The guest house more than met our expectations. Our room was clean, spacious and beautifully equiped. Guest rooms are located in a separate building joined to the main house with a covered walkway....very private. Our breakfasts (included in the price) were superb! Gourmet fare prepared by Albert Morrow, himself a trained chef. My daughter has a particular love of sheep and the Morrows set aside time to give us a tour of their farm and introduce us to a pair of pet lambs. It was truly a highlight! We felt very well taken care of from the moment we arrived to the time we left. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! If you are planning a trip to this area of Ireland, I would highly recommend a stay at Ard Na Breatha!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jafcofarrauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboyne
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2008

This is the best place Ive ever stayed in and Ive stayed in some very nice places. Surroundings are perfect. Terresa is a perfect host she could not do any wrong. The menu looks a bit strange but every meal is wonderful and you will want to try every meal on the menu. My eleven year old son is a pickey eater but he said it they were the best meals he had ever eaten. Gordon Ramsey could not even wash up here. The final bill was fantastic value for money. If you go to Donegal you must stay here.

  • Liked — everything, Terressa, her husbands fantastic cooking
  • Disliked — not one thing.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank byrne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

I booked a single room over the Christmas period to meet up with friends in the area. A wonderful stay - great room, fab service and amazing breakfast! A definite recommendation.

  • Liked — great service and fab room
  • Disliked — not great location for walking from town in evening and taxis are difficult.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supaberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We booked our week in Ard na Breatha on trust as it looked nice on the web. We were made very welcome by Theresa and the holiday was made for us by her wonderful recommendations for what was going on locally - the Ballintra races was a wonderful experience as was Dunnions pub for the craic and the Irish music.
Oh and the steaks are to die for. We will be returning next year.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank patcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,053 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard na Breatha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard na Breatha

Property: Ard na Breatha
Address: Drumrooske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard na Breatha 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard na Breatha House B&B is 4 diamond A.A. standard, and is a three minute drive or a ten minute walk along a quiet path from the beautiful historic town of Donegal. Theresa works front of house and is an excellent host as she really enjoys meeting and chating with the guests,while Albert is a Chef and farmer and is responsible for preparing and cooking the delicious range of Breakfasts on offer.The main emphasis is on customer care and attention to detail. You are assured of a warm Irish welcome, Full Bar service is available,turf fires, and the finest of local and organic ingrediants goes into the excellent breakfast Menu. Ard na Breatha offers a professional relaxed friendly service to make your stay a really special and memorable one.The entire house is non smoking and gives out the array of peace and calm.A warm Irish welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ard na Breatha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing