We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Celebration”

Ard na Breatha Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 70 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ard na Breatha Described by guests as Donegal's Hidden Gem is a small intimate Restaurant serving mostly organic and local produce from the adjoining farm and local suppliers.Albert the owner is Head Chef and his Wife Theresa is front of House along with a small team of six staff.A warm Irish Welcome awaits you at Ard na Breatha Licenced Restaurant.Reservations are usually essential.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We recently enjoyed a fantastic family occasion in Ard na Breatha.
We have stayed & dined here before & enjoyed the experience. The food & service were, as usual, outstanding, with a special fuss being made of our 12 year old son - the guest of honour on the night.
As a party of nine people we ordered across the varied menu & everyone was very impressed. The amuse bouche of mushroom veloute was a lovely touch. The service & attention from Theresa & her staff, the quality of the food & the convivial atmosphere made it a night to remember which was exactly what we wanted. Ard na Breatha definitely lives up to its name.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazyBaby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you so much for posting your lovely review.Delighted that you enjoyed your special celebration evening with us. We love to get 5 out of 5 for both dining and accommodation reviews, as we really want every guest to have a great experience.It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Ard na Breatha, You would be most welcome anytime. Kind regards Theresa and staff x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food, classy place”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Lamb shank is out of this world. Excellent service, beautiful restaurant. Fish that night was Hake, also outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony_from_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for posting your lovely review.I'm delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us. We always do our very best to make sure that the guest will have a memorable experience and feel special while in our restaurant. Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back again to Ard na Breatha. Kind regards Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Best Meal in Ireland”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the guesthouse and opted to have dinner in the restaurant for convenience, but were blown away, in the end, by the amazing food, beautiful service, and overall fantastic experience. Hands-down our best meal in Ireland.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank elleF_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest I thank you sincerely forgoing to the trouble of posting your lovely review.Hubby Albert and his team in the kitchen are always delighted when guests recognize their sincere efforts preparing the entire Dinner menu daily to ensure freshness and quality. It was lovely to meet you both and if you are ever back in Donegal you would be most welcome at our Guesthouse. Thank you. Kind Regards Theresa, Albert & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I cannot fault this restaurant! Everything is just perfect.The staff, the service, the food and the wine.We are so very impressed. Cannot wait to revisit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you so much for posting your lovely review. It's always great to get 5 out of 5 and know our guests enjoyed their evening with us.We hope to welcome you back in the near future you would be most welcome. Kind Regards Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Evening, Fab Food & Friendly Staff”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went here for a meal for Valentines.
From the moment we walked through the door, the staff were so friendly and Teresa ensured we were comfortable all night. The setting was lovely with a open fire. The food was Fabulous and the menu was full of variety. We will definitely have to return to sample more. Thank you for a great evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donegal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Restaurant, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you very much for posting your lovely review. Delighted that you enjoyed Dinner on Valentine's weekend. You would be most welcome again in the near future. Kind Regards Theresa & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard na Breatha Restaurant also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Ard na Breatha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing