We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great wee trip”

Donegal Bay Waterbus
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Donegal bay Waterbus is an 80ft long pleasure boat with full bar,heating and air conditioning, ladies and gents toilets, which provides tours around beautiful Donegal Bay. It takes in amazing views of the bay, the town, the Bluestack Mountains and the amazing seal island with over 200 seals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great wee trip”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and my husband went on the water bus on a tour of Donegal bay. It was a great trip and
We really enjoyed it. Fantastic history along the way with the guide keeping you well
Entertained. On the way back we had sing songs and great fun with his jokes. Iff your in
Donegal you must do this trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Avast Elaine D !

Thank you for your lovely review of our little trip around Donegal Bay. Glad you and your husband enjoyed yourselves. We hope that, on your next from bonny Scotland, you travel with us again. Maybe you will sing us a song yourself.

Kind regards
The Waterbus Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    68
    29
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little cheesy but fun”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This boat ride was fun but super cheesy. Some of the "sights" include the Abbott pharma facility that employs lots of the locals... kinda silly to point that out.

The boat is rather nice, its a flat bottom boat so it does well on the water and you dont really feel like you are on a boat. The bar is well stocked so you can enjoy a drink or 4 on the boat, as is encouraged by the local staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChemicalNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Greetings ChemicalNerd

Thanks for your review. I guess cheesiness is in the eye of the beholder. I guess that when trying to please all age groups and nationalities there is always a chance that someone will find the trip a little cheesey.

Abbott Ireland has been the major employer in Donegal Town for decades as is Magee of Donegal for over a century and both have shaped the economic and social character of the area. We feel it only right to point out the 'new' history as well as the old. Abbott was first included in our tour naration in response to countless people asking what the large building in the distance was.

We hope you'll sail again with us someday and we will ensure that the bar is well stocked that day too :)

Kind regards
The Waterbus Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great craic”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent an hour and a quarter taking the Donegal Waterbus trip round Donegal Bay. The captain enetertained everyone for the complete tour - we had culture/history being told all about the area past and present and in between lots of really funny jokes - the man (Gerry I think was his name) was hilarious! On the way back he played the organ and sang songs for all to be entertained - from old MacDonald had a farm which the kids loved. to Irish folk songs and some other songs as well. Lots of people joined in the sing song and you can also sing on your own if you wish and there is room for dancing. Full bar service also available. Well worth the 15e. If you happen to be in Donegal town and have just over an hour to spare do it - I promise you will not be disappointed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WMcC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Ahoy there WMcC_9

Greetings from the shores of Donegal Bay and thank you for your review which we feel sums up our trip very well. I have shown your review to the captain and entertainer. Reviews like yours tell people that our trip is so much more than a guided tour.

Old McDonald does resonate now and again when we have enough children on board but I have to say that the adults on board tend to sing it much louder than the children present. With a moo moo here etc :)

Hope to see you on board and singing again sometime soon

Kind regards
The Waterbus Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton,Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best trip ever on a boat.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

3 lads who ran the trip were great,lots of jokes and an Irish sing-song on the way back.Donegal Bay is BEAUTIFUL.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank steadynow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Ahoy there Steadynow2

That you for your 5 star review.. great reviews like yours make it all worthwhile for the crew. The 3 crew members in question have been informed of your comments... they were heard to ask did you not think they were as BEAUTIFUL as Donegal Bay.

We'll have some new jokes and songs for you when you sail with us again.

Regards
The Waterbus Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great boat trip”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My 2 friends and I went out on the 3pm boat trip on Saturday afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Great scenery and made even better by the sunny afternoon. Enjoyed the music by Mickey Joe Harte and the other singers - We also got to see the seal colony which was well worth seeng. Overall good value for a great afternoon. Would recommend it to anyone going to DOnegal town for the weekend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank holiday20190795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good afternoon to you... Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed Mickey Harte and the rest of the entertainment on that cruise. The seals tell me they enjoyed Mickey that day also ;) We hope to attract more national and international entertainers for special cruises next season so keep an eye on our websire for further details.

Hope to see you back on board sometime soon.

Kind Regards
The Waterbus Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donegal Bay Waterbus also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Donegal Bay Waterbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing