We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best trip ever on a boat.”

Donegal Bay Waterbus
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Donegal bay Waterbus is an 80ft long pleasure boat with full bar,heating and air conditioning, ladies and gents toilets, which provides tours around beautiful Donegal Bay. It takes in amazing views of the bay, the town, the Bluestack Mountains and the amazing seal island with over 200 seals.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 15, 2012

3 lads who ran the trip were great,lots of jokes and an Irish sing-song on the way back.Donegal Bay is BEAUTIFUL.

1  Thank steadynow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Ahoy there Steadynow2

That you for your 5 star review.. great reviews like yours make it all worthwhile for the crew. The 3 crew members in question have been informed of your comments... they were heard to ask did you not think they were as BEAUTIFUL as Donegal Bay.

We'll have some new jokes and songs for you when you sail with us again.

Regards
The Waterbus Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"seal colony"
in 34 reviews
"boat trip"
in 31 reviews
"sing song"
in 26 reviews
"water bus"
in 18 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"saw seals"
in 9 reviews
"return journey"
in 9 reviews
"great fun"
in 19 reviews
"full bar"
in 8 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 8 reviews
"lower deck"
in 7 reviews
"german tourists"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 17 reviews
"all ages"
in 13 reviews
"telling jokes"
in 4 reviews
"flat bottomed boat"
in 4 reviews
"irish songs"
in 6 reviews
Filter

230 - 234 of 308 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

My 2 friends and I went out on the 3pm boat trip on Saturday afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Great scenery and made even better by the sunny afternoon. Enjoyed the music by Mickey Joe Harte and the other singers - We also got to see the seal colony which was well worth seeng. Overall good value for a great afternoon. Would recommend it to anyone going to DOnegal town for the weekend.

Thank holiday20190795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Good afternoon to you... Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed Mickey Harte and the rest of the entertainment on that cruise. The seals tell me they enjoyed Mickey that day also ;) We hope to attract more national and international entertainers for special cruises next season so keep an eye on our websire for further details.

Hope to see you back on board sometime soon.

Kind Regards
The Waterbus Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lovely boat trip around donegal bay,nice scenery.Tour guide great pointing out many historial points of interest. Took trip with 2 children who really enjoyed it esp. seeing the seals. Bar on board was total rip off however!!

Thank Brenda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Good morning Brenda,

I am glad that you and your children enjoyed your cruise around the Green Isles in inner Donegal Bay and seeing the seals is always great for kids (and many adults too).

With regard to our 'rip-off bar' I would like to point out the bar prices on the boat for beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks and tea or coffee are actually lower than any on shore prices locally. I am at a loss as to which prices you found to be a 'rip-off'. This is the first and only time I have ever heard this said and indeed the opposite is often said.

We would love to be able to charge even less but I am sure that you would not begrudge us a slim profit margin as we are a Community Project where these small profits go to charities and local community infrastructure projects.

Kind regards
The Waterbus Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Travelled with PAB tours and we went on the Waterbus coastal tour. They advertised group reduction on their promotion leaflet. We approached the office to book for trip and we were told bluntly NO- REDUCTION and the 14 PAB tourers ( all pensioners) got Nothing. Not a a cent off the group rate. Advertise one thing and practice another?

Thank Humlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Good morning Thomas

It is now and always has been the case that a 'group' must be of at least 21 adults to avail of our rates. The rate decreases as the group number increases. This rate has been applied many, many times over the summer and groups of up to 100 are not uncommon.

As many, if not the majority, of our passengers are seniors an executive decision was taken to keep all fares for adults the same. This has enabled us to keep all fares unchanged for several years.

All of the above is very clearly stated in the FAQ section of our website.

I hope this has cleared up the points you raised in your review.

Kind regards
The Waterbus Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Lovely boat trip around the bay , nice scenery and a good commentary pointing out the historical points of interest. On the return journey the guide tells jokes and sings songs. We enjoyed the Irish Ballads as they provided a great atmosphere with the beautiful scenery could have done without Amarillo, and the kids songs however. Boat very clean and comfortable. Cost 15 euro per adult concession for students and children.

1  Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonegalBayWaterbus, Public Relations Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Good morning Holidayseeker.

Thank you so much for your kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed your little cruise with us.

With regard to the music choice it can sometimes be difficult to balance the adult/child music taste and sometimes it may go too far in one direction. I have spoken to those concerned about this and greater care will be taken with the balance in future.

Thanks again & kind reagrds
The Waterbus Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donegal Bay Waterbus also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Donegal Bay Waterbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing