We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linda is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donegal Town Independent Hostel
Aussie in Italia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Linda is the best!”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This place has to be one of the best hostels in Ireland. Located about 1km out of town, its an way walk to the pubs in the towns diamond. Linda the owner is incredible. So helpful and so friendly. She advised us on the best places to go and made sure that solo travellers were introduced and included in proceedings. Not something that would happen at the bigger hostels. Clean and comfortable rooms and a few showers which were clean and had plenty of hot water. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italyfan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2009

When my best friend came over to visit me we decided to go to my favourite place in the North of Ireland: Donegal Town. We arrived at Donegal Town Independent Hostel and a warm welcome awaited us.
Blue sky in the dorms, a fully equipped kitchen, hot showers, a big sitting room with open real fire, and a giant collection of postcards being sent by former visitors make this hostel a unique place for travellers.
Perfect location - not too far away from the town centre and directly situated on the Killybegs Road (ideal for hitchhikers and people going to Slieve League) and great value for the money!
Whenever you come to the North West of Ireland - enjoy your stay in Donegal Town!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

I was a bit hesitant after booking here as the young girl I spoke to on the phone didn't fill me with confidence. However, upon arrival Linda was great, showing us our room and where everything was and recommending a place to eat in Donegal.
Our private room was spacious and had an ensuite shower room with a toilet and basin - but when showering, the whole place got wet!
There is a large communal kitchen for cooking and a lounge with TV for relaxation.
It is a short drive or substantial walk from the centre of Donegal.
For a hostel this place is good. If you are wanting a more B&B style of accomodation, this doesn't quite fit the bill.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taniah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Donegal Town Independent Hostel for a night last summer. The hostel is a very short drive from the main center of Donegal Town. It is a large house with a big parking area (handy for the rental car). We were very impressed with everything about this hostel. Our double ensuite room had a very modern, clean, and spacious bathroom and our large room had a very comfortable bed. This was the most comfortable and modern hostel room of our entire trip. The common areas (kitchen, sitting room, and outside terrace) were all spacious and tidy as well.

We weren't there long but, Linda, the owner (?) was very friendly, welcoming and helpful via email and in person. She helped us with our driving route around the county as well as some scenic stops for our drive to Westport.

The hostel has a front terrace with beautiful views of the countryside.

  • Liked — comfort, cleanliness, and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Friendly, spacious and brilliant value for money. We stayed in an ensuite double room that would put many hotels to shame. The cost? 38 euro for two people per night. Scooby the dog is a star as is the 3 month old kitten. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank skintownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2004

Nice hostess and her friendly dog. Good kitchen supplies. Adequate sitting room with cozy fire. Clean bathroom facilities (shared). Warm enough rooms. Private bunkbed room - older bunkbeds with piece of board laid between the springs and mattress in attempt to keep level. Even with board, bed is on a slant. Without the board, springs have a definite low spot you fall into.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 1, 2004

fantastic hostel just out of town (about 15mins walk). lovely spacious place with a wonderful lady called Linda running the place. Linda and her family will make you feel so at home, and she always has some great stories to tell. Oh and I can't forget Scooby!!!!! I think every hostel should have a dog like Scooby. There's room for tents, with a seperate campers kitchen and showers for the summer season. a totally beautiful place with a stunning, peaceful view. you will never want to leave.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
745 reviews
2.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donegal Town Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Town Independent Hostel

Property: Donegal Town Independent Hostel
Address: Doonan, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Donegal Town Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing