We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sleep go somewhere else”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you want to sleep go somewhere else”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Attended a wedding here in June, the wedding went well, staff very attentive and food was reasonable standard but.......by the evening the hotel reception was swamped with lots of young people with drink. I was actually scared walking through the lobby (Im only in my 40's) but..... that was top quality compared to the night time, I went to bed around 1.30, I expected some noise but dear God the decibels were off the scale. There was a band playing and a disco which went on till 3.30 am then.... the staff obviously started clearing bottles and the noise was unbearable. Have these people never heard of sound insulation? I tried to take a shower in the morning and would have been better off in a puddle outside. When I went to pay the staff seemed completely uninterested and never even asked me how the stay was. Not good, not good at all. Not only will I not recommend this hotel I will actively tell people not to even consider it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    242
    112
    58
    56
See reviews for
120
294
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We were given a room in back of the hotel along the waterfront, I assumed it would be very quiet at night. Was I sorely mistaken, the club music could be heard on the third floor, very loud and clear for that matter. Beds were uncomfortable, comforters were torn and thread bare. I also felt this place was a fire trap due to the labyrinth we had to walk through to get to our room from the elevator. The exits were clearly marked but hard to tell where they ended up on the ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shooosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

On arrival found the receptionist to be distracted and not very friendly. Given the key to the room and told it wasnt ready at 3.30. I informed the receptionist that we were dining at 5 and needed to get ready so she assured me it would be cleaned immediately .. Got to the room and found it had been turned down but not cleaned and remade. waited 15-20mintues and returned to reception. this time the cleaners were sent to the room and it was cleaned in a few mintues. The room was ok but there was a duvet covr on the bed which looked and smelled like it hadnt been changed in quite some time. this cover was wrapped around the pillow whi8ch wasnt very hygienic. At night the reception area turns into a waiting room for tweens who cant get into the night club or who are waiting to get in. It is very noisey and annoying trying to even get to the stairs was an effort. We stayed on the first floor and could hear all the noise and screaming from the reception. This really brought down the hotel, that and the fact the room was not ready really put me off this hotel. There is a leisure centre but it is not in the hotel itself. I will not be returning...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The noise from the night club was incessant and overpowering
- unable to sleep at all

The food was badly prepared and served cold

The staff were harrassed and unable to make decisions

The sheets on the bed were stained and crumpled - looked like they had not been changed from previous guest(s)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john007john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We enjoyed staying at the Abbey as part of a National Holidays break. We had a large room (double and two single beds) at the front of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, with a large bathroom.

Ear plugs solved the problem of any noise from the street and we slept well.

The food was entirely to our taste and we enjoyed our meals.

There was entertainment from 9.30 every night but we went out to meet the locals in the Reel Inn, where the musical talent was excellent and where we were made very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed overnight in Feb 2010. The B&B cost only 50 euro and suited my needs fine.
It's one of those hotels that developed through extensions, and there was no lift to the 4th floor that I stayed on.
There was a very noisy disco in full swing when I arrived on Sunday night but the receptionist was correct when she assured me I wouldn't hear it from the room.
The room was dated in terms of decor but was comfortable and roomy. The bathroom could do with a revamp and the sachets of shampoo were a bit bargain basement.
The cooked breakfast was better than most, but I was unlucky to have milk that had soured on the cereal.
Car parking in the Diamond was subject to aprking fees during working hours, but there was an arrangement with a public car park down the road a bit, which was ok, but I wouldn't like to have had much luggage.
Excellent value for a trip to Donegal, if you're not too fussy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Thought this hotel was going to be OK. Turned coverlet back and found it stained possibly with blood, Food was not good =synthetic potato, cold vegetables, same soup every night, jelly and ice cream for sweet - this was the set menu for a coach group.
Shampoo sachets not moved from end of bath for 2 days.
Donegal good, coach trip good but hotel not good. Room was huge family room but spoilt when stained bedcovers were discovered.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IssyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,053 reviews
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing