We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
$136
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$281
$272
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
$159
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveler rating
286
267
132
70
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
267
132
70
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket housesister hotel next doorcountry music weekendnational holidayscoach partypublic car parkcaledonian travelthird floortown squarelovely hotellovely towndouble bedfour nightsenjoyable stayhotel barcourse mealgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 819 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Its all about the location here, convenience and not luxury - that said, its a warm friendly place. fantastic music in the bar both nights and average toasted sandwiches - guinness was very good though..breakfast was disappointing..lumpy porridge and no fruit available..only tinned grapefruit..rooms are basic but clean for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks you for taking time to write a review for the Abbey Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the live music. Hope that you will stay again soon. The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

An excellent hotel. Was warmly greeted by the lady at reception who introduced herself by name. A very clean welcoming hotel. Rooms immaculate, bathrooms too. Hotel warm. Service excellent and food second to none. The hotel is very central right in the middle of Donegal town, perfect for small to large groups. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Have stayed many times and never got a bad room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliodhna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Public Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind review. We are always happy to have returning guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay in the hotel and that you would recommend The Abbey Hotel to others. We look forward to your next visit.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Dropped onto this place on a short-notice business trip. I was desperate for a bed and when my sec booked it and told me it was 39 euro B&B I wasn't expecting a lot. How wrong was I? Great clean room, everything worked, staff with faultless attention to customer satisfaction. I've payed 100 euro for chain hotels not a patch on this. If I think about it really hard I can find a downside - I had to park 200m away - no big deal right? Fantastic, I'll be back in April.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the staff will be happy to read you lovely comments. We look forward to having you here again in April at The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, brilliant staff. We enjoyed our stay. Right in the centre of town. It had loads of entertainment, disco upstairs, musicians in the bar, night club downstairs and there was even a wedding on also! Nice bar to chill out in also for a few early drinks or lunch! The breakfast was tasty also :-D highly recommended. We will definitely be back :-D

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CORKY087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay. There is a full list of festivals and live entertainment for the rest of the summer on the hotel website. We look forward to having you back at The Abbey Hotel,
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Arrived at the hotel to a warm reception.thsts probably as good as it got.room was too hot, too old fashioned, too loud . breakfast was average and selfservice.donegsl town is well worth a visit though.

Room Tip: Get a room to da back of da hotel..
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frannyfehilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that the room was not to your satisfaction. Your comments have been noted and will be passed on to management.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews